Cornbread Cafe: Vegan Comfort Food in Eugene, Oregon

Eugene Oregon- Luminous Vegans

Back in early November we took a mini-trip to Eugene, Oregon (to find out why, keep reading).Β Cornbread Cafe was the first place we ate while there. This cozy, diner-like restaurant serves 100% vegan comfort food made in-house. Not only was the food and friendly staff amazing here, but Cornbread Cafe really makes an effort to keep things local and sustainable. You can read all about their mission here.

Cornbread Cafe Eugene -Luminous Vegans

Their menu is an indecisive person’s worst nightmare because there are so many tantalizing things to decide between from eggfu benedict to nachos and phish & chips.

Cornbread Cafe Eugene -Luminous Vegans

Since we went early on a Sunday morning, we selected dishes from the breakfast menu. Neal went with their Chik’n & Waffle – breaded and deep-fried seitan atop a large Belgian waffle served with country cashew gravy and maple/agave syrup.

Neal says it was THE best vegan chick’n and waffles he has ever had. The gravy was rich and savory and was perfectly complemented by the sweet syrup. And the seitan was the right kind of fried- moist on the inside and crispy on the outside.

Cornbread Cafe Eugene -Luminous Vegans

I went with the build-your-own-omelette served with home fries and a fluffy white biscuit. The omelette comes with Daiya cheese and a choice of 3 items to stuff it with. I chose to get mine stuffed with spinach, mushrooms and salsa.

I don’t know how they did it, but they have created the most eggy vegan omelette that I’ve ever tasted. Every bite was full of flavor. And most importantly, it was nice and moist. Nobody wants a dry omelette. I don’t think I could make an omelette at home that even comes close to how lovely this was.

Cornbread Cafe Eugene -Luminous Vegans

I so wish that I could have tried more dishes but we were only there for a short time. Luckily I’ll be able to eat there as much as I want in several weeks because we’re moving to Eugene!

We’ve been dreaming and scheming about moving to the Pacific Northwest for a looong time. So when we saw our friends Kenn and Jeanette pull it off, we were inspired to finally go for it ourselves. The trip in November was our scopin’-out-places-let’s-make-this-happen trip.

We were able to secure a place to live and come the end of this week, we’ll be loading up the car and driving from Atlanta to Eugene. If it sounds cray-cray, I assure you it is. But I’m excited (and nervous, scared, anxious, etc.) about our new adventure! And I can’t wait to have another one of those omelettes…

What is your favorite vegan comfort food?

41 thoughts on “Cornbread Cafe: Vegan Comfort Food in Eugene, Oregon

  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    Congratulations!!! I am so happy for you! You are going to love it there, and how wonderful that you already have friends in the area who are trying to establish themselves to hang with. How big of a distance is it between Eugene & Portland? (I guess I could look that up with Google…) Do you already have jobs lined up there, or will you start scouting after you move? I can’t wait to hear about all of your new adventures!

    The breakfasts at Cornbread Cafe look insane! I was especially mesmerized by Neal’s. The things I said when I saw the picture of his fried seitan & waffles were NSFW.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks so much Cadry! Eugene is about 2 hours (I think) south of Portland. It is quite a nice drive since Eugene is nestled in the foothills of the mountain. I am going to have to learn more about all the local geography when we get there.

      Neal is freelance and I currently also work from home with an education center which allowed us to be flexible in relocating. It shall be an epic adventure for sure! It’s scary and exciting and I’m pretty sure I cried like three times today already during all this packing/purging and saying goodbyes.

      I have a feeling that we will frequent Cornbread Cafe as much as our pocketbooks will allow. There are so many wonderful things to try on the menu!

      Reply
  2. Randi (laughfrodisiac)

    Congrats on the move! That is so exciting. You guys are so daring and brave, I’m impressed. So many people say they’d love to do something like that but you just up and did it. I love it! And I’m jealous you get to eat at that Cafe more!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so, so much! It is quite scary what we are doing so it’s always nice to hear some positive words. For a long time, we were all talk so we decided to finally “just do it!”. I’m quite excited for the adventure and will be sure to blog about all the ups and downs in the coming months.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Katie! Yes, moving is a major pain. I’m trying to be as zen about it as possible. I’m looking forward to when it is all packed up and we can hit the road!

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It’s definitely difficult when there are so many choices…especially if it’s in a place that I’m only visiting. Then I feel extra pressure to make “the right” decision. But you’re right, it’s a good problem to have!

      Reply
  3. Rika

    Congratulations with the new move! You are actually moving to where I am based in! We both live there, too, but I don’t disclose my location in public very often. Gimme a shout out when you are here, I’m only here until Fri, but will return in mid Jan!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Kristy! I had a bite of Neal’s food and I am definitely going to have to eat that next time around myself. I have a feeling that will be Neal’s favorite dish there.

      Reply
  4. Rambling Vegans

    Oh wow, so exciting that you’re making a big move! We’ve been contemplating doing the same thing (only to the Southwest) for a while now. If you have any tips on how to make it happen I’d love to hear them.

    What a great restaurant, too. That would make me even more excited to move there. Both of your meals sound fantastic.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It’s definitely going to be an epic adventure! I plan to blog more about bits and pieces (and perhaps tips for that kind of move and how to make it happen) later on down the road when we’re settled and I’ve processed everything.

      Right now we’re in the packing and purging stage…I’m taking a little break πŸ™‚

      We definitely plan to eat at Cornbread Cafe again when we get there.

      Reply
  5. veganadian

    I can’t wait to visit you! This looks like the perfect reason to! I am very excited for you and Neal. I had such an amazing time hanging around, eating and everything else with you! I will miss you dearly but I know you are only doing this to give me a reason to visit! More eats!! :]

    Love you, chick!

    xx

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Love you too Holly!!! Thank you sooo much for the kind words! I will miss you as well. I am so glad that we had the opportunity to meet and hang out. I’m sad that I will be missing out on your Dough Bakery brunch.

      And yes, please visit anytime!

      Reply
  6. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    Holy heck, those gravy-drenched, protein-packed, unchicken and waffles…! The things I would give to order such a dish at a local restaurant. Good luck on your move, it really sounds like an incredible place to live.

    Reply
  7. RG

    Wow! I’m very happy for you! I heard great things about Eugene (I used to live in a neighboring city, Bend). I heard Eugene has TONS of vegan options! How long is the drive from Atlanta? Please keep us posted! My favorite vegan comfort food would probably be a Burmese dish called Samusa soup πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Richgail! We looked into several places around Oregon including Bend. Ultimately, Eugene won out. The drive from Atlanta should take us about 5 days (??). We are taking a southern route and taking it easy because we will have the dogs with us. I won’t be “live-blogging” but will update instagram/twitter. I do plan to blog in the future about it (hopefully) when I have time to process and take it all in (and get settled in our new place) πŸ™‚

      Oooh, that Burmese soup sounds lovely. Do you have it on your blog?

      Reply
      1. RG

        I’m afraid I still don’t know how to make Samusa soup. But once I find a good recipe, I’l llet you know. But yeah, keep in touch!

        Reply
  8. chow vegan

    How exciting to move to Eugene! What a great way to start off the new year. Best of luck with the move. The chick’n and waffles look amazing! I would move there just to eat that every day. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so much! It definitely is a strange time to be moving and I’m full of normal apprehensive moving feelings but I do like thinking of it as a cool way to start the new year.

      And while Eugene is beautiful in it’s own right, having Cornbread Cafe there certainly was put on the “why we should move there” list. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. coconutandberries

    Congrats on the big move! Sounds so exciting, especially if you’ll be living near the cornbread cafΓ© πŸ˜‰
    I’ve never had food like this before (you don’t really find anything similar in the UK) but it certainly looks like serious comfort food.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Emma! That is so interesting that there is not food like this in the UK. I guess it makes sense since this is more Southern US comfort food. It certainly is worth trying if you ever get a chance.

      Reply
  10. Kiran

    well i just have to comment because i’m a eugene native and huge cornbread cafe fan who has recently found your blog, and i have to say…what serendipitous timing!!

    and although it’s hard to outdo cornbread cafe, but between portland and eugene, i think you’ll like it here : )

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yesss! Talk about serendipity! I am so glad that you found the blog and commented! That means so much to me. I am enjoying being on the road right now but can’t wait to eat at Cornbread Cafe again. We also ate at a vegan food truck (which I plan to blog about later) which was reeaally amazing as well. Do you have any other vegan recommendations in Eugene? Perhaps we’ll cross paths once I’m all settled in…

      Reply
      1. Kiran

        i know the food truck you are talking about and it is awesome!

        as for other recs:
        there aren’t many vegan-only options, but Ta Ra Rin has excellent Thai and does strict vegetarian/vegan options; cornucopia has a great vegan burger (the “Un-American Vurger”), morning glory cafe and keystone cafe have great vegan breakfasts; Sweet Life has wonderful egg and dairy free desserts (OMG), PRI (pizza research institute) has the best and most unusual pizzas (the P3 is my fav) and does them vegan or reg style, holy cow has a kombucha happy hour from 3-5 every day (2.50 a pint; and serves some vegan eats), lotus garden has all vegan chinese food (yummmm), sizzle pie also has great vegan pizza (and veggie and omni) – they are originally from PDX…and i could go on but i’m hungry now : )

        have a safe trek over!

        Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          Ooh! Thanks for all the suggestions. So far we have eaten at Govinda’s, Lotus Garden, Sizzle Pie, Cornbread and TruVeg. I’m so happy to hear that even with non vegan-only places there are so many vegan options! We actually drove past Ta Ra Rin and saw in the Eugene weekly that it offered vegan options. Neal LOVES Thai food (as do I) so this makes us both very happy. I will have to check out the other places you suggest.

          Reply
  11. Andrea

    Atlanta to Eugene is quite a change β€” geographic, climate, size β€” everything, really! Oregon is such a beautiful state β€” and you’ll be so close to the wonderful coast. Several years ago we visited friends in Roseburg (south of Eugene) and then traveled up the coast on our way back to Seattle. And more recently, drove to Seaside and then Portland to vacation with friends from Wisconsin. I know how you feel though, since it was only four years ago that we packed up and moved from Madison, Wis. to Seattle. It’s a big deal!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you for the comment Andrea. I am glad you can relate, because sometimes I wonder if my panic-freak outs are normal. But as you say, it IS a big change/deal so I think my moments of uncertainty are justified. I look forward to being able to drive along the coast to visit Seattle. I know the west coast scenery is supposed to be gorgeous!

      Reply
  12. Maggie Muggins

    Congrats on deciding to move! We’ve been kicking around the idea for a long time too but I’m too big of a baby to do it ha ha. Can’t wait to hear about your travel adventures.

    Reply
  13. Amanda

    That is exciting news!! I’m so happy for you and I can’t wait to hear about your journey there and new adventures. I’ve heard it’s a wonderful city.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Amanda! We made it and so far am finding that it is a great city! We are learning new things about it nearly every day. Coming from a big city like Atlanta makes it quite a change but we are enjoying it so far…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

