Spaghetti alla Carbonara: A Very Non-Vegan Dish Goes Vegan

According to Wikipedia, spaghetti alla carbonara is an Italian dish based on eggs, cheese and bacon (usually cooked in lard). Ha! That just describes everything I won’t eat. And therefore, it must be made. Vegan style. Because—“anything you can eat, I can eat vegan!”.

Spaghetti alla Carbonara- Luminous Vegans

Perhaps it was the very non-vegan-ness of this dish that I was drawn to. That and I was also looking for a way to use up my Vegg sample. I’d already used it for a fried egg and for french toast and I was looking for something non-breakfasty.

Having never made this before, I didn’t know what to expect. What I got was a wonderfully savory spaghetti with a lush and slightly creamy “eggy” sauce that clung to every pasta strand. Sweet and spicy, slightly crunchy coconut bacon took it to that eat-it-in-sweatpants-and-slippers cozy level. While fresh parsley adds a touch of brightness and freshness to it.

Spaghetti alla Carbonara- Luminous Vegans

If I didn’t have the Vegg, I think subbing in a mix of vegan parmesan and plain nutritional yeast would work nicely too. And if was really craving a little of that “eggy” aroma, I would even throw in a little black salt (kala namak).

Vegan Spaghetti alla Carbonara

Adapted from Bitter Sweet Blog and Windy City Vegan.

serves 2, print recipe here

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound of spaghetti noodles
  • 1/2 cup vegan stock
  • 2 tsp of powdered Vegg
  • 1/2 cup of soy milk (or any nondairy milk)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tbs vegan butter
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup of coconut bacon pieces (or vegan bacon of choice)
  • salt and pepper

Spaghetti alla Carbonara- Luminous Vegans

 Directions

Cook and drain the pasta according to the package and set aside. In a small blender or food processor, blend the vegan stock, Vegg powder and soy milk together. Salt and pepper to taste and blend again. Set aside.

Now in a large pan heat the garlic in olive oil on medium heat until the garlic starts releasing a little aroma. Turn the heat down to medium-low and add the blended sauce to the pan. Heat the sauce for about 4 minutes. It will get a little bubbly. Then add the pasta to the pan. Add the vegan butter and parsley and mix well making sure each noodle is coated with sauce and the butter is completely melted. Salt and pepper to taste if needed.

Spaghetti alla Carbonara- Luminous Vegans

You can either mix in the vegan bacon or top each serving with some. I like doing it both ways. Mixing it in infuses that smoky bacon taste into every bite. And topping it with some vegan bacon gives a nice subtle crunch to some bites.

What’s your favorite vegan “eggy” dish?

53 thoughts on “Spaghetti alla Carbonara: A Very Non-Vegan Dish Goes Vegan

    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Isn’t it a great slogan? It’s not mine. I can’t remember where I saw it though…on instagram? facebook? on a t-shirt?? I dunno! But it is so memorable that it stuck with me. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Shannon Y-I-V

    Yum, love this idea! Carbonara used to be one of my favorite pasta dishes. The only ‘eggy’ vegan dishes I’ve really made have been tofu quiches, maybe it is time to branch out.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Carbonara is such an interesting dish to me. I never had it pre-vegan but it’s such a simple dish with minimal ingredients.

      Mmmm, tofu quiche! I haven’t had one in a long time. Thanks for the inspiration!

      Reply
  2. babychimp91

    Apart from the bacon, which I don’t like anyway, I actually have all of these ingredients at home, so this will be made for dinner! Thanks, I hadn’t made a plan yet!

    Reply
      1. babychimp91

        Not that often, I’m not partial to the smell… I’ve been using it quite a bit in baling though, and it’s been great!

        Reply
  3. Andrea

    Before I was vegan, I had a good friend who made full-blown spaghetti alla carbonarra every time we went to her house for dinner. It was something I would never make because it was too heavy and greasy — but I’d eat it if she made it! Your version looks so much better than the traditional one. It probably tastes much better, too.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Andrea. I’m sure that if I had known about spaghetti alla carbonara pre-vegan I would have eaten it up. Back then I loved the meaty, cheesy things.

      It’s strange how I actually try more new things as a vegan than I did pre-vegan. But some of these new things I try are such “non-vegan” types of dishes, lol! Sorry if that was confusing. I think I just confused myself. The point is..yay for veganized dishes!

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Jackie! I definitely crave pasta during the colder months and this dish hits the spot. This was the last of my Vegg and I’m considering buying a full size. Do you use yours a lot?

      Reply
  4. Katie

    Well, this looks good! I haven’t made it past French toast on the Vegg experimenting. I think I’ve eaten probably two loaves of bread by myself as French toast in the last few weeks. This looks like a great, savory way to try the Vegg. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Awesome! Although I did enjoy the Vegg in French Toast, I think I love it most where I can enjoy the kinda slimy eggy texture outright. Is that weird?

      That was the last of my Vegg sample and I am debating whether to get a full size or not. Do you have a full size or just a sample?

      Reply
      1. Katie

        I just have the sample pack, but I think I will probably buy the full size when this runs out. Not that I eat it a lot, but it will be nice to have on hand to experiment with. I bet it would make a great Hollandaise. 🙂

        I saw this recipe for julienned sweet potato fried in a cast iron skillet with eggs cracked into little wells in the potato and put under the broiler for a minute. I want to try a version of that with some tofu maybe, and the vegg.

        Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          Oh my goodness, that recipe you describe sounds AMAZING! Do you have the link for it? Also Hollandaise would be awesome. I think you’re persuading me to consider buying the full pack now. It seemed like a reasonable price for the full size. My sample pack lasted for quite a bit.

          Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It’s such a great saying isn’t it! I don’t know where I saw it. It was either on instagram or facebook or something like that. It just stuck with me because every time I see foods on Food Network or in magazines that are not vegan, I always think that it could be made vegan so easily. There’s no longer the need for the whole “taste” over compassion….when will people realize??

      Reply
  5. epicureanvegan

    Wow, this is the second recipe I’ve seen today using coconut bacon–something I had never heard of until today. Hmm…must be a sign I need some coconut bacon. Great recipe! Bookmarking now . . .thanks!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It’s a sign!! Cobi’s recipe was the first coconut bacon recipe I’ve made and I’ve made it like 3 times already! I keep telling myself that I should try another recipe just to see what else is out there but hers is just so darn good (and easy!).

      Reply
  6. Lisa

    “eat-it-in-sweatpants-and-slippers cozy level”
    LOVE IT! Recreating non-vegan dishes is seriously the best-I need to use up some Vegg too! Ill be making this soon 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Ha ha! I am all about cozy foods right now with the cooler weather (though today was unseasonably warm). This was the last of my Vegg sample 😦

      And you’re totally right about recreating non-vegan dishes. I just wish people who still ate meat and cheese could see how easy and delicious it is!

      Reply
  7. chow vegan

    Can’t say I’ve ever tried spaghetti alla carbonara but it sure looks delish! I finally got around to making coconut bacon for the first time, that stuff is like crack. 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! I’d never heard of carbonara before either. It seems like I learn about all these really non-vegan dishes after going vegan…go figure!

      Ha ha! I am so glad that you made coconut bacon!! It truly is like crack! We’ve made 3 or so batches already and they go really quick in this house.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Awesome! I hope you enjoy it. It is incredibly easy and definitely hits the spot if you’re craving cozy-comfort food.

      Oooh, I am liking the sound of your omelette. I don’t make too many of my own vegan omelettes because I have a hard time with them, but I love to eat them!

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so much! It was definitely a great cozy meal. You just gave me an idea to use caramelized onions in it too next time. Although I guess that wouldn’t make it a carbonara…but it just sounds like a yummy idea!

      Reply
  8. acookinthemaking

    That looks delightful! Admiring the way your spaghetti is artfully wound and styled 🙂 I think I will try making this with my Vegg as well!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! And thanks for noticing the spaghetti…I think I actually did try to “style” it this time which is something I don’t normally do with spaghetti. But I saw this food stylist do this trick so I tried it…he took the spaghetti in his hands (I used tongs) and then like wound it in a big circle pile….um, pretty sure my description sucks. Mine didn’t come out exactly like his but it was sure fun to try.

      Reply
  9. Cheerfully Vegan

    I love your comment, Because—”anything you can eat, I can eat vegan!” Awesome! 😀 My comment has been, “I can veganize that!” Back when there was no such thing as a vegan blog I looked at the measly pile of vegan cookbooks that were available and figuratively threw them over my shoulder, because they were making “dog muffins” instead of amazing baked goods! I knew it could be done better ~ HAD to be done better ~ so I did it. Yes, we had some really nasty stuff that truly did become dog food for our enormous pooch. But, overall, the “experts” in baking chemistry were wrong. lol

    Thanks for going against the grain and making cool stuff for vegans!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks so much for the kind words! I can’t take credit for the phrase “anything you can eat, I can eat vegan”. I saw it on social media somewhere but I can’t remember where! It just stuck with me because I think it is true nearly 100% of the time.

      I definitely think vegan food has come a long way. I felt the same way when I first went vegan. I felt like every vegan cookbook (and there were not many) I could find had really bland, dry dishes or just a bunch of salads. I like salads, but I also like heartier dishes as well. The vegan blogging community is wonderful. And every day I am blown away at the amazingness coming out of everybody’s kitchens!

      Reply
  10. Richa

    oooh a- the pasta looks gorgeous and b- i love this version!i need to pick up some Vegg. a few months back it felt like i would never finish the stuff so i never got any. but i have been accumulating some recipes now.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so much Richa! I am debating whether or not to pick up a full container of the Vegg after finishing this sample pack. It seems like a good value for the money but I need more recipes to use it in.

      Reply
  11. Cadry's Kitchen

    I have everything necessary to make this dish in the kitchen right this minute. Score! I’m so glad that I finally dug into my Vegg & kala namak. I’m kind of in love. But like you, I haven’t ventured outside of breakfast domain. This is my chance! Plus, if it has coconut bacon on it, it really has to be good.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Awesome! And you’re 100% right. Coconut bacon = deliciousness! This was the last of my Vegg and I’m totally considering getting the full pack. It seems like there is more to explore there and it seemed like it was decently priced.

      I am so glad that you dug into your kala namak. Isn’t it crazy how “eggy” that salt is? I admit that I sometimes just take a taste of it straight from the container. I used to love eggs pre-vegan.

      Reply
  12. Sarah

    I tried this and really like it 🙂 I want to try it with “cheese,”if I can find any I like, I think that will be more like the carbonara I’m used to. I made it twice, the second time I put less soy sauce and liquid smoke in the coconut bacon, and more syrup. I like it better that way.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Awesome! I’m glad you were able to try it and tweak it to suit your tastes! I think that is what makes cooking so enjoyable…being able to change this or that as you go to make it just right for who ever is eating it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  13. Marty

    I made this tonight. This meal was absolutely the ultimate in hedonistic decadence. And, it is cold, been snowing in late March. And, I am wearing sweatpants!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yessss! Hedonistic decadence—I love it! I’m going to have to start using that phrase more often to describe foods and other stuff.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

      Reply
  14. Shannon

    Ohhh, this was so good! It was the perfect easy, decadent, just-the-two-of-us Easter dinner. I used Upton’s seitan bacon, but otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T and we were so pleased with the results. Thank you so much!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      You are so very welcome! I’m glad that you tried it out and enjoyed it. I really want to try Upton’s seitan bacon soon. I keep eyeing it at the store but always pass it up for some reason.

      Reply
  15. theveganchemist

    OHMY soooo gooood! I made this for my Italian family. We grew up eating the traditional dish probably at least once a month (embarrassing to admit haha). My 83 year old grandmother who is so picky, but eats mostly vegan because she lives with my vegan mother, enjoyed this version. I made my own coconut bacon (from fettlevegan.com). For the vegan stock, I made a “chicken stock” using The Vegetarian Express La Chikky Seasoning which bumped up the flavor. We also used a homemade vegan parmesan (made with ground almonds, nutritional yeast, sesame seeds, and kelp) and mixed it in. I also added about 1/4 tsp black salt (kala namak) for extra eggy-flavor. We also used gluten-free pasta. The only thing I will try next time is homemade tempeh bacon because the coconut bacon seem to lose it’s flavor (especially as leftovers). Thanks for a great recipe!! Will use many times again.

    Oh and the the phrase “anything you can eat, I can eat vegan” is from Compassion, Co. They have it on a cool shirt: http://compassionco.bigcartel.com/product/anything-you-can-eat

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks so much for sharing all your personalized teaks to the dish. Your description has my mouth watering at the moment. I love the idea of adding vegan parm and extra black salt! I love black salt so much.

      And thanks for reminding me where the phrase came from. I must have seen it at a vegfest or conference. I’ll have to put that shirt on my vegan wish list!

      Thanks for reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

