Blueberry Flaugnarde aka Blueberry Custard Cake

Blueberry panstard? Cakestard? No. Stardcake…erm. How about blueberry cuscake? I’m tryin’ to Brangelina this lovely blueberry dessert. Because it is a suprising, yet magical combination between custard and pancake. And shouldn’t all magical combinations of things have their names blended together? 

vegan-blueberry-flaugnarde-Luminous-Vegans

I saw this on The Misfit Baker’s (now retired) blog awhile ago. And since Neal recently bought a ginormous bag of frozen blueberries (which I also used here), I decided to give it a go. The recipe is super simple and doesn’t have a lot of steps which is something I love about all of Starr’s recipes. This particular recipe is as simple as blend, pour, sprinkle and bake.

vegan-blueberry-flaugnarde-Luminous-Vegans

It tastes like a delicate blueberry custard with a bit of pancake-feel going on around the edges and bottom. Which is pretty much how Starr described it on her blog, as a mix between custard and pancake.  In fact, that very description is what led me to pin the recipe.

The only mods I made:

  • I was feeling extra non-measure-y, so I just drained and dumped in a whole 12.3 oz box of firm silken tofu in the food processor. This, instead of measuring out 1 1/2 cups of pureed tofu. Seemed about right.
  • Didn’t have a 10-inch spring form pan, so I used an 8-inch baker’s pan. This resulted in a thicker custard cake and I had to bake it an extra 15 minutes as a result.

vegan-blueberry-flaugnarde-Luminous-Vegans

Even with my janky mods, it came out delicious! I ate it warm. I ate it cold (before I even realized that’s like a thing that French people actually do). In all variations, it was tasty. But my favorite way to eat it was warm with a glass of almond milk.

This blueberry flaugnarde was lovely to eat for breakfast and for dessert! It could even be a great afternoon snack. But of course if I ate it in the afternoon I’d have to follow it with a nice long nap. So if someone asked me what I did that day I could say — oh, I had some blueberry cuscake and an afsnap (afternoon snack and nap).

vegan-blueberry-flaugnarde-Luminous-Vegans

What custard-y foods do you enjoy eating?

26 thoughts on “Blueberry Flaugnarde aka Blueberry Custard Cake

  1. coconutandberries

    Oooh this looks so creamy and, surprise surprise, custardy! Kinda like a clafoutis?
    I used to love custardy things- especially baked custard tarts with nutmeg and those danish pastries with the custard filling. Should really try some veganizing….

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yup, similar to clafoutis. Which I’ve never had but just learned about from reading Starr’s original post. Mmmm, danish pastries with custard filling sounds amazing! Maybe I’ll see some on your blog soon? 🙂

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Becky! It was really easy to make as well. I usually don’t bake a lot of cakes because I can’t be bothered with all the bowls and steps, but Starr makes great simple baked goods.

      Reply
  2. Andrea

    Oh, you’re making me think I have to head out in the rain to get some silken tofu. (I have tons of tofu in the house but it’s all the wrong kind. I wonder if it would be ‘really, really wrong’ to use the wrong kind.) I think I might have the right spring-form pan, though!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I’m the kind of person that hates to run to the store for one thing. I like to use what I’ve got on hand. So if it were me I would try it out with the tofu you’ve got.

      But I don’t think the original recipe called for silken tofu even. It is just something we always have in the house because it’s my favorite.

      Reply
  3. Katie @ Produce on Parade

    Um, I am going to HAVE to make this with all the blueberries Todd and I picked this year up in the mountains. I’m drooling! I’ve actually seen this recipe before on the Misfit Bakers site, too! Afsnap..haha you are too funny. I want an afsnap 😦

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Katie for appreciating the cake and the afsnap joke! Aren’t Starr’s recipes great? I love how easy and simple she makes baking look. I was sad when she shut down her blog, but I’m happy that she has left it up for us to enjoy.

      Reply
  4. Starr

    Ketty, I’m so glad that you gave this recipe a try (and enjoyed it)! Like you, I found it made a nice breakfast, which is where most of mine disappeared to 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you for sharing the recipe Starr! I was so sad when you wrote your last post. But I’m happy that you’re leaving all of your recipes. The colder weather has me craving baked goods but I hate messing about with all the bowls, pans and steps. That’s when I know to go to your blog because your recipes were always so straightforward and simple!

      Reply
  5. Cadry's Kitchen

    I’ve never seen anyone use Brangelina as a verb. I like it. Blueberries are so good in desserts, and this flaugnarde looks delicious! I wish I had a slice right now to enjoy with my icffee. That’s iced coffee. I think I need to work on my game.

    Reply
  6. Katie

    Whoa. No way. This looks like one of those desserts I would end up eating with a fork straight out of the pan! I’ve always been a sucker for blueberry cream cheese muffins, coffee cake, etc. This looks like the best creamy parts and the blueberries in one awesome dish.

    Reply
  7. acookinthemaking

    This looks dangerous! I love a good frozen blueberry recipe. My freezer is stocked with them for the long winter ahead…

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Some fruits and veggies don’t freeze well. But blueberries are definitely a fruit that freezes really well and is always great to bust out for desserts like this…or muffins or bread!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

