Roasted Delicata Squash: A Squash to Squash all Squashes

I feel like I’m always late to the food party. There always seems to be tasty food stuffs that everybody knows about. Except me. First there were kale chips. After I discovered them and realized they didn’t require a dehydrator, I started buying multiple bunches of kale on my farmer’s market trips instead of just one. Next came roasted chickpeas. But now I make and devour themΒ on the weekly.

Roasted Delicata Squash -Luminous Vegans

And now my latest “how did I not know about this amazing delicious snack?” discovery…roasted delicata squash! I had seen delicata squash popping up all over my instagram feed and on blogs. However, I kept bypassing it at the farmer’s market. I didn’t want to fall in love with another squash that could only be broken into by hacking away at it like Michonne hacking zombie heads on The Walking Dead (Anyone see the most recent episode? Can I get an “omg” about Carol?).

Delicata Squash -Luminous Vegans

But then I started hearing this crazy rumor that it wasn’t hard to cut. In fact, I heard you could even eat the skin. Shut the front door! And the back door! Shut all the doors! I don’t even know what that means, but it somehow seems appropriate for this amazing delicata squash. A squash that won’t leave me crying in a corner because I hacked at it all crooked. A squash that lets my lazy-girl shine through because I don’t have to peel it.

Delicata Squash -Luminous Vegans

After slicing, deseeding and roasting this beautiful squash. I am left with a sweet, almost caramelized squash snack with an oh-so slightly crisp skin. I have yet to explore this squash beyond just roasting. I keep thinking I’ll try something different with the next delicata squash haul. But roasting it really highlights the wonderful sweet delicata squash flavor. And right now, I am just enjoying it on its own.

Roasted Delicata Squash -Luminous Vegans

Roasted Delicata Squash

Ingredients

  • as many delicata squash as you want (here, I am using one)
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F. Wash the outside of the squash. Use a sharp knife and cut it in half lengthwise. Scoop out the seeds. Cut it into 1/4-1/2 inch thick slices. Coat lightly with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper (or whatever herbs you want!). Roast for about 30-40 minutes, flipping them half way.

I leave mine in on the long end because I like it more caramelized and kinda burnt. But like the good burnt. Sprinkle with more salt and pepper straight out the oven if desired.

Roasted Delicata Squash -Luminous Vegans

So I know I’m late to this tasty roasted delicata squash. But I’m posting this in case there are other lost souls out there like myself. Perhaps they’ll stumble onto this page. If just one person learns about delicata squash from this post, then I’ll be happy. πŸ˜‰

How do you like to eat delicata squash? What’s your favorite squash?

40 thoughts on “Roasted Delicata Squash: A Squash to Squash all Squashes

  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    I have shut all of the doors. The delicata squash is worth it. It’s my favorite squash as well for all of the reasons that you explained. No peeling, easy cutting, delicious after roasting… I only ever used it roasted too. It’s great after roasting on pizza with Field Roast apple sage sausages or in salads as a hot, sweet element. Delicata with rosemary makes regular appearances on my Thanksgiving table. Sorry, other squashes. Delicata wins.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Mmm, I love the idea of roasting it on a pizza or adding it to a salad. I love salads that have contrasty temperatures and textures so I think it would be great like that. Also love the idea of rosemary with it….takes it up a notch to holiday festive!

      Reply
  2. acookinthemaking

    I have yet to arrive at the delicata squash party, although I keep seeing it everywhere online too! You may have just convinced me to finally give it a try πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Sarojini Ferris

    I am a latecomer to the delicata party too- we just eat the ones we grow, and they’re not that sort. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for them in the UK though. And if it makes you feel any better, I didn’t know about roasted chickpeas, although I have tried corn nuts (but I never watched Heathers). I will certainly be making some after reading your recipe; thanks so much for sharing πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh, neato! What variety of squash do you grow? I would love to grow my own veggies. Maybe one day.

      Thanks for the consolation! It helps to know that I’m not the only latecomer πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Andrea

    I have two delicata squash sitting on my counter right now, and they are my favorite squash for all the reasons you mentioned. I recently blended a leftover 1/4 squash (with skin) into some cashew cheese sauce, and it added a rich, creamy sweetness that was delectable. I like to use a sweet squash like delicata (or butternut) instead of pumpkin in pies and puddings.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Wowee, blending it with cashew cheese sounds AMAZING and right up my alley. With the sweetness of delicata I can totally see using it in pies and puddings. What great ideas!

      Reply
  5. coconutandberries

    Roasted squash is so divine! I could eat it for dessert it’s so sweet πŸ™‚
    I just posted a recipe on my blog for “Miso-Curry Roasted Squash with Crispy Chickpeas & Kale” which I loved but I’m still not sure what variety of squash I used…I think I need to do some questioningat the farmers’ market next weekend to actually find out what I’m buying!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I was very (pleasantly) surprised with how sweet it is. When tossed with a little salt, it’s like the perfect sweet and salty snack food for me. At our farmer’s market there’s usually a mish mash of assorted squash too. I’m too afraid to get anything from it because I don’t know what they are and how difficult it will be to cut into them. I’d love to know when you find out what kind of squash you used in your delicious curry.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yay! It’s definitely up there in my favorites now. Anything that is quick, easy to prepare and tasty is going to be eaten a lot in this house. So delicata for the win!

      Reply
  6. Caitlin

    I haven’t tried delicata squash either! I’m not sure if I can get it here in the UK (maybe it’s called something else), but I LOVE the sound of a squash that’s easy to slice and doesn’t need to be peeled! I am really lazy about prepping vegetables… Peeling is just too much work!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh, I hope that you are able to find it in the UK. As soon as my knife sliced into the squash like buttah, I was IN LOVE. And amen for lazy veg prep! Less time prepping means less time in the kitchen.

      Reply
  7. chow vegan

    I’m way later than you – I’ve yet to try delicata but I’ve been hearing about it for awhile now. It looks great roasted! Now I just have to get off my lazy bum and try it. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hey, I say better late than never right? The great thing is, you can still be wonderfully lazy with this squash πŸ™‚ It truly was love at first cut for this lazy girl.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh yeah, I remember your acorn squash post! I may have to try this with acorn squash too. For some reason as of late, I have just been in a roasting mood. If I don’t know what to make for dinner or what to do with a veggie, I say stick it in the oven. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Brittany

    I’ve never had this squash!! I MUST try it now!! I died laughing at your shutting of the doors statement..get out of town with how cute the natural design to this squash it!! YUM!

    Reply
  9. Kristiina

    Just wanted to let you know you changed a life today! I’ve never heard of this but I am so excited to try it. Will a reg grocery store have it or should I got to a whole foods?

    I love squash but sometimes I just can’t bare to think of the workout it would take for me to prepare it so I skip it. No more!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      lol, thanks Kristiina! It’s nice to know that I’m not the only latecomer to the party. Ya know, I haven’t looked for it at a regular grocery store or at Whole Foods so I’m not sure. I wish I could be more helpful. But if you hate making unnecessary trips to the store (like me), you could always call ahead and ask them.

      Maybe check out the other names it is called in case the store calls it by another name http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delicata_squash

      You will fall in love with how easy this sweet squash is to cut compared to other squash.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I know (about Carol)! When Rick asked her if she did “it”, she was all…yeah, I did. She did not care or hesitate. I was like whoah!

      Yay! I hope you can find some and enjoy how easy it is to prepare.

      Reply
  10. flickingthevs

    That’s a good looking squash! I’ve never tried it (or seen it, for that matter!) I guess I’m late to the party too!

    Reply
  11. Maggie Muggins

    Apparently someone has shut the door on me, cause I don’t think I’ve ever had a delicata squash before! I need to hunt one of those suckers down and see what all the fuss is about.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Welcome to the delicata squash party! If you do get your hands on it, I think you’ll really appreciate how easy it is to cut. I’m pretty sure after my first slice, I uttered “oh my gosh!” out loud. Neal was in the other room and was all– what’s going on??

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh, that’s brilliant to add Chinese five spice. I can see that totally going with the squash’s sweetness. I am definitely going to try this next time. Thanks for the tip!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

