Walk for Farm Animals Atlanta

This Saturday we participated in the Atlanta Walk for Farm Animals at Piedmont Park. Atlanta raised over $17,000 smackeroos and there were over 170 participants.

Walk For Farm Animals Atlanta- Luminous Vegans

Despite the sorta rainy weather, it was a lot of fun. And I’m glad we registered (at the 11th hour). I mainly have pictures of just pups and food. Did you know that my camera mainly takes pics of only pups and food?

But there was also yoga by my pal Rachel from Tough Love Yogal, music by our friends New Terminus. And I got to hang out with a couple of internet pals (Becky from Glue and GlitterSeth and Elena from VeganESP, and Holly from Traveling Pink Lips).Walk For Farm Animals Atlanta- Luminous Vegans

Miles was shocked to see a dog bigger than him.Miles and a Great Dane- Luminous Vegans

There was a lot of that big dog- small dog thing going on.Pups-Luminous Vegans Walk For Farm Animals Atlanta-Luminous Vegans

Nikko and Miles refueled after the walk.

Nikko and Miles-Luminous Vegans

So did we.

Walk For Farm Animals Atlanta-Luminous Vegans

Nikko only sorta begged for some food.Nikko-Luminous Vegans

Will you be participating in your city’s Walk For Farm Animals? 

24 thoughts on “Walk for Farm Animals Atlanta

  1. rika

    Nice captures of the big dogs and your greyhounds Nikko/Miles are remarkably gorgeous (love their kind faces), Ketty thank you for sharing this event with us. I wish I’m in Atlanta with you and Holly and of course Becky, who else I am missing?! That dish especially the baked goods looked so tasty..what’s in the sandwich?

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Rika! Nikko and Miles’ faces are what makes me give in to food begging and probably why they have such bad table manners 🙂

      The sandwich was a Bahn Mi sub from Loving Hut I think. It had a fake protein with pickled veggies and vegan mayo. It was really good.

      When are you gonna come to Atlanta to visit all of us 🙂 ??

      Reply
  2. Katie

    Love the pictures of the pups. We did the Walk for Farm Animals here in Seattle a couple of years ago and had a great time with all the humans and dogs who attended. 😉

    Reply
  3. Camille

    “Someone, not something”—I love that. Been meditating on this over the past day especially (will explain why in a blog post on Wednesday.)

    And all the adorable pups!!!!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      The “someone, not something” sign was the one I chose to hold up during the walk because I liked the message too! I’m looking forward to reading your post on Wednesday.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hey Seth! Yes it was so great to see you guys too. Your pics on facebook look awesome! I need tips on how to shoot better candids of people. Perhaps we could trade photo tips sometime 🙂

      Reply
  4. Andrea

    Congratulations on raising so much for the animals. Looks like a great day in spite of the weather. And how great that you got to meet fellow Atlanta bloggers. I must have the same camera as you — it only knows how to take photos of food and dogs. And babies.

    Reply
  5. Richa

    great captures and that is a lot of funds raised for the animals! My camera belongs to the same family. it always takes pictures of dogs and food. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Maggie Muggins

    Wow, that’s an impressive turn out! It almost makes me want to borrow a dog to walk with at ours,I suppose I could always put Apollo on a leash but I don’t want to be THAT cat lady. Love all the pictures of the pups, your photos keep getting better and better 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hey, you can be THAT cat lady. No one will judge. 🙂 I saw this couple the other day on a trail pushing a stroller from a distance. When I got closer, I realized it was for their puppy!

      And thanks for the kind words about my photos. I totally re-read my camera manual the other day and figured out something totally stupid that I didn’t know about. It’s difficult to explain (or maybe I’m just to embarrased 😐 ), but has something to do with the autofocus points and how they work.

      Reply
  7. Cadry's Kitchen

    I wonder if we have the same brand of camera… Mine only takes pictures of cats & food. Sometimes I get a wee bit embarrassed when people scroll through my pictures and see that I have 13,453 pictures of tofu scrambles. I still can’t get over the ridiculous cuteness of Miles & Nikko. Every picture you are forced to take of them is entirely understandable!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      LOL! Your comment of how many tofu scramble pictures you have resonates with me so much. And half the time, they all look the same to most people. But that’s when I’m like, no, that one has a different angle and that one has more garnish….

      The thing about Miles and Nikko is that they totally know they are cute too. I shove that camera in front of their faces A LOT and I swear Nikko totally struts her stuff for me. She turns up the cute big time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

