The Vegg: Vegan Egg Yolk so Realistic I Was All Whoa

I never thought I would get a chance to try this incredibly realistic and tasty vegan egg yolk called the Vegg. But Rocky, the creator of the Vegg, graciously sent it (and a free Vegg cookbook) out to any vegan bloggers who asked during Vegan MoFo.

The Vegg is a completely vegan egg yolk made of fortified nutritional yeast, sodium alginate, black salt and beta carotene. For a complete list of ingredients, visit their website.

Fried Vegan Egg with Roasted Veggies - Luminous Vegans

Upon opening the package, it just looks like straight-up nutritional yeast. But when blended with water, this stuff magically turns into a veganΒ egg yolk that smells and looks so realistic that after blending it I was like —whoaΒ — Joey Lawrence style. Then I ran to show Neal. Then I dipped a spoon into the “yolk” and licked it. Repeatedly. (Note: I went vegan for the animals, not because I didn’t like the taste of eggs, meat or cheese. I’m all for replicating these tastes in my mouth as long as it’s done compassionately.)

I wanted to make the fried egg from the cookbook but it required some odd ingredients (calcium chloride) and a spherification cooking technique. Huh? So I made a lazy version of fried vegan eggs with what we had on hand. For the white part of the egg, I thinly sliced firm silken tofu and fried it with oil, black salt and pepper on a pan with a terrible non-stick coating. Do you see where this is going? Holy fried egg mess, batman!Fried Vegan Egg with Roasted Veggies - Luminous Vegans

They came out kinda broken and stuck to the pan and I had to scrape a bunch of crispy bits off. BUT. After I drizzled the Vegg yolk on it, it totally reminded me of fried egg after the yolk is pierced and the egg yolk is running all over. And with the black salt and Vegg going on, it really tasted like a delicious fried egg to me. We had it atop roasted potatoes, tomatoes and green beans.

Lazy Girl Fried Vegan Egg with Roasted Veggies

Roasted Veggies

  • 3 red potatoes, roughly chopped
  • half a yellow onion sliced
  • 3/4 pound green beans, stems removed
  • 4 large slices of tomato, halved
  • oil (I used olive)
  • salt and pepper

Fried Vegan Egg

  • one box of silken tofu (Learn from me. Use extra-firm, maybe not silken tofu and a GOOD non-stick pan)
  • oil (I used canola)
  • black salt (Kala Namak)
  • pepper
  • 2-3 Vegg yolks (2 tsp Vegg powder blended with 1/2 cup of water. It has to be blended with a machine to get this stuff to “eggify”. I used my magic bullet since it was such a small amount).

Directions

Coat the potatoes and onions with oil and salt and pepper to taste. Roast them in the oven at 425F. Let them roast for about an hour but ~30 minutes in, stir in the beans adding more salt/pepper/oil as needed. 50 minutes in, place the tomato slices on top. After ~60 minutes, the tomatoes had broken down. I stirred it so everything was slightly coated in a roasty tomatoe-y flavor.

While that was roasting I fried thin (sometimes broken) slices of tofu in oil on medium heat. I fried them about 3-5 minutes on each side. Each side of tofu also got a generous dose of black salt and pepper.

Then I just piled the tofu on the roasted veggies and poured the Vegg yolk (warmed in the microwave) all over!

Fried Vegan Egg with Roasted Veggies -Luminous Vegans

I really like the Vegg so far. We used it here in french toast and I still have several uses in my little packet. TheΒ Vegg website shows where you can buy this both at brick and mortar stores and online. I’m considering buying a full jar because it seems like a decent deal at about $12 for a container that makes over 99 egg yolks. I could see it lasting me a long time since I wouldn’t be cooking with it all the time.

Have you tried the Vegg? What do you think of it? How have you used it?

51 thoughts on “The Vegg: Vegan Egg Yolk so Realistic I Was All Whoa

  1. Camille

    I haven’t tried it yet, but I really want to make this the next time I see my sister, who is a longtime vegetarian (as was I). I use Ener-G egg replacer for baking and I’ve been really happy with it; but you’d use Vegg for quiches and such, right?

    Reply
  2. Becky

    Ooh I am definitely trying this! I had the same problem that you did – the recipe I most wanted to try called for something I didn’t even know where to find. Yours looks so good!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Becky! I watched the video of Rocky applying the spherification technique and it seemed really easy but for that pesky ingredient calcium chloride (?). I made the fried egg again yesterday and had better luck making it in my cast iron pan in terms of sticking. Some still stuck, but I think the crispy bits are tasty.

      Reply
  3. Rambling Vegans

    I’ve heard so many great things about Vegg & really have to get some. Mike & I both went vegan for the same reasons as you, so we have no problem replicating any tastes from our pre-vegan days. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one for replicating non-vegan tastes! I didn’t really know what to expect with the Vegg. I never had huge hankerings for egg yolk after going vegan. So I was really surprised at how much I ended up liking it. I seriously could just eat it by licking it straight.

      Reply
  4. rika

    Lovely name for the recipe! Potatoes, Green Beans, Tomato and Fried Vegan “Egg”, yes, Mama! These look nearly like fried eggs, well done Ketty! Thank you for featuring a tasty breakfast!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Rika! Even though it was a pain in the ass to scrape all the crispy bits of tofu off the pan, I think it tasted quite realistic. The crispy bits actually added to that fried egg flavor.

      Reply
  5. zeelemons

    I was JUST talking about the fact that if I were to have a cheat meal, it would be a “dunk” egg! I must order this stuff ASAP!

    and p.s… no cheating is foreseen in the future πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Isn’t it amazing? I was surprised that I liked it as much as I did because I wasn’t like missing egg yolks or anything after going vegan. But I guess maybe I was? I am seriously considering getting a full size once I finish this one. If I do, you’ll probably see it on the blog.

      If ya’ll try it out, I’d be curious to see how you like it.

      Reply
  6. Marlene @ Jade and Fern

    Woah, it’s freaking me out! I’m vegan for the animals like you, but my tastebuds have learned to mistrust things that taste TOO much like the “real” thing. I’d love to use it for egg & soldiers…but I’m not sure I could handle it being so realistic!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I know, right! It freaked me out a little, but it’s so good.

      PS. I had not a clue what egg & soldiers were. I googled it though. I’ve seen on the internets people dipping their french toast in the vegg liquid. I certainly will try this as the liquid is great by itself.

      Reply
  7. Hannah

    I want to try it sooo bad! But when I ate eggs I always skipped around the yolk. It’s weird gelatinous oranginess just seemed not ok. But still, I’m intrigued. I would put it all up in french toast!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It seems to be used most in french toast and for dipping french toast in, which I wanna try. The Vegg liquid is not as gelatinous as a real yolk, I don’t think. It does have a bit of that slimy feel. That makes it sound gross but I really like it.

      Reply
  8. coconutandberries

    Those look so egg-like! Just received my pack of the Vegg from Rocky too- so generous of him πŸ™‚
    I’ve got a few ideas for using it but am going to have to try French Toast as well I think. Were you happy with the recipe?

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I know! I can’t believe Rocky was so kind. We didn’t follow the french toast recipe on the package. Our french toast came out delicious but I’ve actually had some without the Vegg that I liked a bit more. This could have been because we deviated from the recipe and we used a wonky kind of bread.

      Reply
  9. sarojinididi

    Interesting idea… I can imagine the black salt really gives it that eggy aroma. I was never a big egg fan, but the idea of combining the vegg with tofu sounds yummy!

    Reply
  10. Maggie Muggins

    I was sent a pack from Rocky and another one from a food swap and I STILL haven’t tried it yet. French toast is gonna be had but beyond that I had no idea where to start with his stuff. I’m going to have to take a good look through that cookbook, or just make these so I can dip my toast in it and gross out my husband like I used to do in the pregan days πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I know what you mean about the Vegg. I didn’t really know what to do with it either. I think it’s because it’s such a non-vegan type of food item and we’re all used to cashews and nooch. LOL.

      Strangely enough I never heard of dipping toast into egg yolk like that until just recently when researching the Vegg. I wanna try it though because it sounds yummy. I could seriously just lick the Vegg from a spoon and be content though.

      Reply
  11. Cadry's Kitchen (@Cadryskitchen)

    You had me Joey Lawrence-ing over your picture!! This looks so much like fried egg! I have only used the Vegg once, and I just poured warmed Vegg over a couple of slabs of baked tofu that I already had on hand. (That’s the REALLY lazy girl method…) I liked it, and I’m looking forward to trying more uses. I’m keeping your less lazy girl method in mind for just such an occasion!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Neal will probably be so embarrassed if he finds out I told you this, but he totally was the one that made that Joey Lawrence video I linked to. *shhh*. He made it so long ago and I can’t even remember why he did it.

      I like the even lazier lazy girl method!

      Reply
  12. Nanda

    This might be the answer to my “how do I make the yolk part of vegan eggs benedict” dilemma! I’ve been using black salt for years to make vegan “egg” mcmuffins, vegan omelets and scrambled tofu and it really is the crucial ingredient to create the egg flavor. I’ve noticed the taste of black salt is even stronger if you sprinkle it on the tofu when it’s just done cooking and still hot. Thanks for posting this!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Isn’t black salt amazing? Neal doesn’t like to add too much of it to “eggy” dishes but I really like the sulfur taste/smell that it adds. I never had eggs benedict pre-vegan, so I’d be curious to see what it’s like with the Vegg.

      Reply
  13. Andrea

    I tried this a while ago but I used it to make things that would normally be made with egg, rather than just using it as a straight-up egg. I still have some left and I should try it again since I couldn’t detect a difference in the cooked food. (like quiche, for example)

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That’s interesting that you mention that because another commenter (Camille) was wondering how it performed in baked type dishes. Rocky mentions on the FAQ page that it doesn’t function as an egg would in baking but I thought at least that it would lend an “eggy” flavor to something like quiche.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Well, it’s really easy to make the crispy bits (if you’re like me and have so-so non-stick pans). Just slightly burn thin silken tofu slices πŸ™‚ with a little salt and pepper.

      Reply
  14. Pingback: Review: Vegg Vegan Egg Yolk | Cadry's KitchenCadry's Kitchen

      1. MV

        Aaugh no n***h! That word sounds icky and new vegetarians are confused by it. Please use the real words, nutritional yeast.

        Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          Ha ha! I am just too used to using the word nooch and don’t know if that is a habit I can break. But I’ll keep this in mind for future posts and try to use a one to one ratio of the word nooch to nutritional yeast πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

          Reply
  15. RG

    Mind blowingly whoah! As in I can’t believe it’s not egg yolk! πŸ˜› But really, I have to try this stuff. I’m usually skeptical with processed food but you sold me with vegg. Thanks for the recipe too!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      lol at whoah! I think Rocky has a great product here. I am hitting the last of my sample packet and I’ve had it for over two weeks. I think the larger jar would last me awhile because I definitely think things like this are more of a treat than an everyday kind of thing.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I think it’s definitely worth trying if you miss egg yolks. I think it is well priced given the amount of servings it has. Plus, it is not something I would eat every day as I see it as a special treat. So that makes it even a better bang for my buck.

      Reply
  16. laurencosgrave

    Thank you for introducing me to Vegg!! As someone who is just starting to explore vegan cooking I miss egg yolks. Vegg is an outstanding product and is a new staple in my pantry.
    ~LC

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Awesome!! Isn’t the Vegg great?? I just ran out of my sample pack and am considering buying a full size once we get settle in Oregon. I just need to think of more ways to use it other than just licking it straight up πŸ™‚

      Reply
  17. wilderbutterfly

    I made this today with spinach instead of roasted veggies, and it was amazing how much it tastes like egg yolk. Your suggestions of using a good quality pan and thin slicing non-silk tofu were spot on. Also, I made the tofu, put the spinach in the pan after to soak up the seasoning and oil in the pan, and then poured the vegg on after. It was sooo good. Perhaps, as someone suggested above, using it premixed in a quiche to add eggy flavor to it, or using it in breakfast bakes, with hash browns underneath would be good.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Awesome!! I am glad you tried it out and that my suggestions helped. I ran out of the Vegg but am thinking about picking up a full size after reading all your suggestions. Was this your first time using the Vegg? I really love how it tastes. Egg yolk is something that I used to enjoy pre-vegan and I am so glad that there is a compassionate option out there! I think that the creator of the Vegg is working on a version to be used specifically for baking…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

