German Plum Cake with Streusel

I have a sweet tooth and I love eating desserts. However, I don’t like making them that often because usually it’s like — measure one million ingredients, now mix the wet stuff in a separate bowl from the dry stuffs that must be sifted grain by grain, next keep the warm stuff in a cup balanced on your nose away from the cold stuff but then slowly add the cold stuff to the warm stuff keeping them separate .

Ok I know I’m exaggerating, but can’t I just twitch my nose like Samantha on Bewitched and have desserts magically appear in front of me?

German Plum Cake with Streusel - Luminous Vegans

Soooo, easy desserts are key for me. When I make a dessert from a recipe* it must:

  • Be simple. The directions should not be a mile long and the ingredient list should be fairly short and include easy to find stuff.
  • NOT involve rising dough as I have an irrational fear of dough-making involving yeast.
  • Look amazing…like something I would stuff in my face hole all day, err’ day. This is an obvious requirement, no?
  • BONUS (not required) if it is a dessert that I can fool myself into believing is also a breakfast dish. Usually the involvement of fruit is key.

When I came across this German streusel plum cake on Seitan is My Motor during Vegan MoFo, it satisfied all three requirements and even the BONUS. The weird thing is that I don’t even eat plums. Plums just don’t make it into my grocery cart. But when I saw this beautiful dessert and how simple it was, I had to have it. Especially when I saw these beautiful plums at the farmer’s market.

German Plum Cake with Streusel - Luminous Vegans

I followed the recipe pretty much exactly which was as simple as make batter, place plums, make and crumble streusel on top. My plums seemed to be slightly bigger. I ended up using five plums total. Here’s a shot of how I laid it out pre-baking below.

German Plum Cake with Streusel - Luminous Vegans

I also used unrefined coconut oil instead of refined coconut oil for the streusel topping because that’s all we have. And I baked it for about 10-15 minutes longer at 320F to get it to that “finished” state (most likely due to oven differences).

German Plum Cake with Streusel - Luminous Vegans

None of these slight alterations (or perhaps errors in the plum layout) mattered. After baking, everything magically “melded” into a beautiful and tasty plum cake with streusel. It was eaten pretty quickly by just the two of us because it was so delicious! I ate it for breakfast. I ate it for dessert. Yes, on the same day. More than once. Thank you to Seitan is My Motor for a fabulous recipe!

Do you have any requirements when it comes to making (or eating) desserts or other dishes?

*These are rough requirements for non-dessert recipes as well.

32 thoughts on “German Plum Cake with Streusel

  1. Kristiina

    You’re pictures of it are gorgeous. I’m afraid to go read the recipe though because I’m sure I’ll have to make lots of substitutions to make it GF. It is one of the prettiest desserts I’ve seen and I have tons of plums from my parents so I’m really tempted to try it.

    Reply
  2. Katie

    Well, that looks just delicious! Our neighbors just chopped down the plum tree that used to hang over our fence so this makes me a bit wistful for that beautiful tree. In any case, thanks for the dessert/breakfast inspiration.

    Reply
  3. Andrea

    Wow. That turned out well! And you used my favorite kind of plums. In fact, those are the only kind of plums I like, and I can’t seem to find them here.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      And it was really easy and apparently, mistake proof. I am not a plum connoisseur so I don’t know the variety of plums out there. These just looked really pretty 🙂 What kind are they?

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It is such a gorgeous cake which is what also caught my eye…that and the recipe seemed so simple for something so beautiful. I really like the plums in this dessert, but I’m just not a raw plum kinda gal I guess. My favorite fruit to snack on usually are apples and bananas, though this varies too.

      Reply
  4. Caitlin

    It looks beautiful! I loved Mihl’s theme so much. Glad to hear this one was so easy. I have to admit, I am sometimes daunted by dessert recipes too — don’t have the patience to wait too long for dessert! I actually had a bit of a plum situation a few weeks ago where I had way too many plums — wish I’d made this at the time!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      LOL at “plum situation”. Sounds like a good situation to be in perhaps. I can handle desserts that are lengthy in inactive time, but its the one with a gajillion steps that get me.

      Reply
  5. chow vegan

    So beautiful! My requirements are pretty much the same as yours – can’t bake to save my own life. Not sure why that is, I have yet to conquer my fear of baking with yeast. I’m so happy to have found that streusels are super easy to make. 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Woot! Another yeast-fearer like myself :-). Maybe we should make a pact to try a yeast baking recipe together. The only time I use yeast is in the bread maker because all I have to do then is dump it in and let the machine do everything.

      Reply
  6. Camille

    I really need to expand my culinary repertoire, especially desserts. Usually there are time constraints and I end up baking what’s already tried and tested. Fruit crumbles are the best though—hard to mess up, and you can pretend they’re healthy for you!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hey, I love a good tried and tested recipe especially when it comes to baking. I’m not super adventurous with baking either because for me it seems like any slight deviations can result in baking disaster. With cooking, if I mis-measure or just eyeball stuff it still comes out fine.

      Reply
  7. Maggie Muggins

    I pretty much want to make every single thing that Mihl posted last month. I’m kind of weird about plums, and by weird, I mean I don’t like them, but this looks so good I’m willing to risk it. I love all baking! The only thing I refuse to attempt is fancy smancy desserts, I just don’t think I have the patience and don’t want a dessert to cause me to sit in the corner crying.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Ha ha! Yeah, I was hesitant about the plums as well. But trust me, it really comes together in this dessert. Neal is not a big plum eater either but we both agree that it was just fabulous. I agree about the fancy smancy desserts. Nobody wants to cry over food. What I love are fancy-smancy looking desserts that are actually really easy to make!

      Reply
  8. flickingthevs

    I’m with you on easy desserts. I mean, I don’t mind doing all that yeast business, but sometimes (alright, almost always) who has three hours to wait for a cake to do its stuff? Less time cooking = more time eating! I’m quite partial to plums – they taste so much better cooked as well. That is one good looking cake!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Easy desserts for the win! I’m actually the opposite. I can’t do yeast, but I don’t mind inactive baking time because then I can just do other things while I wait. I wasn’t a huge plum fan before this but this dessert definitely has me rethinking how to eat/use plums.

      Reply
  9. Cadry's Kitchen

    I spotted Jeanette Zeis’ bowl right away! Is that one that you picked up at her sale?

    That is a beautiful streusel! I rarely buy plums for whatever reason, but I could change all of that for a heaping helping of this with a cup of coffee!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hey, you’ve got a great eye for pottery! Yes, that is one of her illustrated works from the sale. On the inside of the bowl are more drawings including an adorable pear.

      Mihl’s streusel came out really well! She made a recipe that is hard to screw up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

