Easy Baked Eggplant Fries

It wasn’t too long ago that I cooked eggplant for the first time.  And, yeah, I’m a little obsessed with it now. Neal even jokingly mentioned to me the other day — you know, you don’t have to put eggplant in everything right? So of course I then decided to make something that featured eggplant and only eggplant…muahahahaha!

baked-eggplant-fries

These panko-crusted baked eggplant fries from Oh My Veggies were devoured by the both of us in less than an hour. These were soooo good. Yup. A quadruple “o” so good! That’s how good these eggplant fries were. They were also really simple to make. Think cutting-mixing-double dipping-baking simple. The only things I did differently to the recipe were as follows:

  • I used one large eggplant and peeled it. I know. I was scared ok? The skin still scares me a little…this love is still blossoming between aubergine and I.
  • I threw in a lot more seasoning in the flax egg mixture as well as in the panko bread crumbs (I used the same smoke seasoning mix that’s in this post).
  • I used more flax egg mixture (about 2-3X) and more panko because I had a bigger eggplant. Or I was being overzealous with it. Probably the latter.

baked-eggplant-fries

I recommend eating these eggplant fries straight from the oven because that is when they are crispiest on the outside. Then for each lovely bite you will experience crispy seasoned panko followed by melt-in-your-mouth, roasty, earthy eggplant. I dipped mine in Isa’s Sanctuary Dip but truly they are delicious as is.

What other veggies do you use to make “fries”?

37 thoughts on “Easy Baked Eggplant Fries

    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I’ve never actually tried cooking with pumpkin other than the canned stuff. Crazy huh? I think I’m quite scared of the “carving” aspect of it. But making them into fries sounds so good!

      Reply
      1. Becky

        We use Vegetable Husband. Sometimes we get stuff we won’t use, and I give it away to our next door neighbor. She’s in her 70s and trying to eat as plant-based as possible, so I like giving her good veggies when I have them to spare. VH has an every two weeks plan that’s a lot easier to manage than weekly.

        Reply
  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    Do you know how we’re both afraid of working with dough? That’s how I feel about eggplant too. There are a few preparations that have been successful for me in the past like baba ganoush with eggplant on the outdoor grill. However, it’s often hit or miss with me. But your fries look amazing!!

    I also really like the rustic look of your table. It’s a great fit for the dish. I think it would be so fun if everyone did a behind-the-scenes kind of post. I’d love to see what your photo set-up area looks like.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Cadry! The recipe from Oh My Veggies was great. I have had a few eggplant mishaps, but for the most part as long I cook the heck out of it to make sure it turns into melt-in-my mouth goodness, I have been pleased with it.

      I have a secret about the “rustic table”. It’s actually an old door of a cabinet. LOL. I’ve actually thought about doing a behind-the-scenes look at my photos because sometimes I step back from my photos and just think—man, this is one janky set up…it would be fun to show people what it looks like 🙂 What stops me is that I’m a little embarrassed about some of the “unprofessional” things I do to set up my food photos because I know there are bloggers out there with like for-reals professional experience. But I still think it would be fun to do!

      PS When you make the dough plunge, I’ll go in with ya!

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Mmmm, chili-cornmeal crusted zucchini fries sounds so good! I’ve made polenta fries before that has that cornmeal crust thing going on to. It’s funny how easy and fun it is to replace potatoes in dishes.

      Reply
  2. Hannah

    We love love love bake-fried eggplant in our house! We eat enough of it in the Summertime to last us until the next Summertime. Putting them in fry form is genius. It has me thinking of all the other things I can fryitize. Tofu fries, asparagus fries, chocolate fries…..

    Reply
  3. chow vegan

    Super yummy looking fries! and I love eggplant! and it’s baked too. The only bad thing about baking is that it’s only crispy right out of the oven but that’s still better than frying. 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! Yes, I totally agree. These eggplant fries definitely have to be eaten right away or they become soggy. But that wasn’t a problem because they were sooo delicious!

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Neal absolutely loves sweet potato fries. We often get them when eating out but don’t make them at home much. I just picked some up yesterday so I might make some!

      Reply
  4. Andrea

    I’ve never thought of making eggplant fries, but they look great. We love turnip and parsnip fries along with the usual suspects like sweet potatoes.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I’ve seen parsnip fries floating around the blogosphere. I’ve never eaten parsnip so I might give those a shot soon. This seems to be the year of trying new veggies for me. I’m surprised at how many I have never had before.

      Reply
  5. Craig Chilton

    A school I attended in the mid-1950s had a cook who frequently served us eggplant that was prepared a way that I’ve never seen since, and I LOVED it. It was yellow (probably a coating he /she used) and it had a shape-appearance that can be described as being a cross between cooked calimari and Arby’s curly fries. I’ve wanted to find out how to duplicate that for 60 years! Can any of you eggplant-lovers help me out with this? Thanks in advance! —Craig

    Reply

Leave a Reply

