Vegan MoFo Highlights and “Food” For Thought

rect_banner_MoFo

I came. I blogged. I ate. I conquered…well, ok. Maybe I didn’t conquer. But 15 out of 20 Vegan MoFo posts ain’t too shabby. Not to mention that during MoFo I discovered so many new bloggers and was constantly inspired by other’s posts. These are just a few highlights from Vegan MoFo (and I really want to stress the word–few. I could probably fill a tome with the amount of vegan amazingness that I discovered this month).

Beautifully decadent (and gluten-free) Orange Notella Mousse Tartlets by Kylie from Fellowship of the Vegetable. I could probably eat the whole plate.Fellowship-of-the-Vegetable-Orange-Chocolate-Hazelnut-Mousse-Tartlet

A heaping plate of Puffy Nachos with Spicy Black Beans with a yummy nacho nooch sauce by Cadry from Cadry’s Kitchen. I made the sauce last night and it was fan-tabulous!puffy nachos with spicy black beans from Cadry's Kitchen

Spicy mac and yease from Richa at Vegan Richa. I love a good mac and cheese recipe and this has a nice spicy twist to it. Plus, crispy breadcrumbs!

spicy mac and yease from veganricha

And a gorgeous streusel plum cake from Seitan is My Motor that I definitely plan to make soon.

streusel plum cake from seitanismymotor

So at first glance it seems that Vegan MoFo is really a month about food. But underneath it all, it’s really about the animals. The focus is on the food because usually that’s the only thing that stands between a person and a compassionate lifestyle. But we’ve shown and continue to show that good food doesn’t have to involve suffering or dominion over another being’s life.

I am vegan for the animals. If it’s possible to live my life without causing them harm or suffering, then I would be remiss not to. After all, we share the same planet. Breathe the same air and come from the same stars. We’re all just here trying to live our lives, day by day, doing our thing.praying-mantis-0329-1

How was your Vegan MoFo?

*the photos corresponding to the recipes belong to the linked bloggers.
25 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo Highlights and “Food” For Thought

  1. Kylie - FotV

    Thank you so much for featuring my tartlets! Everything looks so good and reminds me just how awesome this community is! I really just want to reach into the screen and eat Cadry’s nachos!!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Your tartlets made my mouthwater! In fact, it’s happening as I type because I’m thinking about that picture 🙂 Vegan MoFo was definitely a drool inducing experience. I’m so happy that I got to connect to new bloggers like yourself.

      Reply
  2. cookeasyvegan

    I thoroughly enjoyed your mofo posts, and now that I’ve discovered your blog, I’m looking forward to reading lots more.

    Reply
  3. Julie

    I’ve really enjoyed your posts throughout the month; your food photos have been so lovely!
    “But underneath it all, it’s really about the animals.” I agree completely! 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so much! And yes, I like to occasionally remind myself of why I am vegan. It’s easy to get wrapped up in all the deliciousness and forget. I’m extremely grateful to have access to such wonderful vegan foods.

      Reply
  4. coconutandberries

    Luminous Vegans has been one of my favourite discoveries this month! I’ve so enjoyed your posts and look forward to what’s to come (no pressure…)
    I didn’t catch those notella tartlets but they look incredible.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Marlene! The praying mantis chilled out with me for like 20 minutes one afternoon when I was on the deck catching a breath after a bike ride. When I moved positions, he (she?) would crane their head to continue looking at me. It was truly spectacular.

      Reply
  5. Cadry's Kitchen

    Congrats on making it to 15 posts! I’ve so enjoyed following along! Thank you for featuring my nachos in your round-up! I’m so glad that you liked the cheese sauce.

    That is such a sweet picture of the praying mantis! It seems like they’ve really been out in droves this year.

    I love that whole last paragraph, Ketty. Beautifully said and so true. While Vegan MoFo is so much fun and a real celebration of the joy that it is to live vegan, the point of all of it are all the animals who we spare from our plates. Even if plant-based food wasn’t this exciting and deliciously varied, I would still be vegan – for the animals. But luckily, there’s no need for deprivation or mundane fare. Vegan food is beautiful, colorful, and full of life. Best of all, it’s food for which no one had to suffer.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I don’t know how the rest of ya’ll did > 20 posts! That’s amazing. The cheese sauce was sooo good. We had it with baked potatoes and wow!

      The praying mantis chilled out with me for like 20 minutes. He (or she) would crane their head to keep looking at me whenever I switched positions. It was a sight. It’s little things like that which make me so happy to be vegan.

      I agree about being vegan even if the food was dull. Thank goodness though it’s not! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Jennifer

    Oh here here… So well said. Thank you for the mental reinforcement. Not all of my family care to understand why I live the way I do, make these choices. Thanks for a great recap.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! I don’t know how some of you guys did > 20 posts! That blows my mind. You should definitely keep going…or at least make the “veganizing a tv show dish” a regular feature! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Richa

    Awesome! congrats. I made it to 15 posts too! i remember last year, i was like a crazed woman and hubbs got so spoilt rotten that he would expect a new pizza everyday. Plus reading other blogs and connecting made that month disappear so quickly. 🙂
    Thanks for featuring the mac and cheese!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      LOL about the husband getting spoiled! I can’t even imagine trying to post every single day. It was challenging but extremely worth it to be a part of it. Connecting with other bloggers was definitely the best part for me. And your mac and cheese is to die for! I can’t wait to try out the recipe.

      Reply
  8. Mel

    Congrats on making it to 15 posts! I was planning to post everyday but missed out on a few and think I’ll aim for 20 in the future as the month was just too crazy. I really enjoyed your posts and am looking forward to trying some of your recipes!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! I can’t even imagine trying to post everyday! I think aiming for between 15-20 is realistic for me. Vegan MoFo, challenging at times, was a great experience. I think the best part was “meeting” and connecting with new bloggers.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

