Thai Curry Burrito Bowl with Sweet and Spicy Tofu

I like burritos. But I love what’s inside burritos more. Sometimes I feel like the flour tortilla just stands in the way between me and whatever loveliness is inside the tortilla. That’s usually why I eat my burritos bowl-style.

Thai-Burrito-Bowl-0202-2

This burrito bowl is a simple Thai twist on a regular Mexican burrito. Fresh carrots, cucumbers, bean sprouts, cilantro, green onions and Thai chili peppers sit on top of ginger-infused jasmine rice and sweet and spicy tofu. It’s all coated in a sweet, tangy and slightly spicy peanuty-Massaman Curry sauce.

One thing I love about bowls is the ability to change it up if you change your mind after mixing everything together. Not spicy enough? Add more Thai chilis. Want more tang? (heh) Squeeze a shot of lime on it. Ya can’t do this when it’s all wrapped up in a tortilla. I’m not decisive enough to use a tortilla for a build-it-yourself-burrito.

Thai-Burrito-Bowl-0149-3

Though it’s packed with a bunch of good stuff, this bowl is easy to make. The only “active” cooking is the sauce and the tofu. I should also note that the amazing sauce and tofu are Neal’s creation. Not mine….the Thai in the house. Riddle me that.

Thai-Burrito-Bowl-0161-5

Thai Curry Burrito Bowl

Ingredients (2 servings)

Rice

  •  2 1/4 cup of dry uncooked jasmine rice
  •  about 3.5 cups of stock (or water)
  • 2 inch sized nub of ginger, peeled and minced

Sauce

  • One 13.5 oz can coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 tbs Massaman curry paste (make sure to find a vegan paste as some have shrimp paste and/or fish sauce/paste. I use the Bright brand)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 3/4 tbs sugar
  • 2 tbs lime juice
  • 2 tbs rice wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tbs Bragg’s liquid aminos (or soy sauce)
  • salt

Tofu

  • One pack of firm tofu, drained, pressed (for at least 10 minutes) and cubed
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • oil
  • dried red chili pepper flakes

Accompaniments

  • julienned carrots
  • bean sprouts
  • cucumber, cubed
  • cilantro
  • sliced green onions
  • fresh Thai chili peppers
  • fresh lime slices

Thai-Burrito-Bowl-0186-6

Directions

Rinse out the rice a couple of times with water and then throw all the rice ingredients in a rice maker and set it to cook. You can also use the stove top, though you may have to adjust the amount of liquid. Moving on to the sauce. In a small cup dissolve the curry paste in about 2-3 tbs of coconut milk. Now place the coconut milk, peanut butter and dissolved curry paste in a pot on medium heat and stir. Once the peanut butter has mostly broken down, add the rest of the sauce ingredients and let simmer for ~10 minutes.

Place the tofu in a pan with a tablespoon or so of oil on medium high heat. Toss in the sugar and chili peppers to coat the tofu. Let the tofu sit for a couple of minutes on each side until they turn a crispy golden brown on the outside.

Thai-Burrito-Bowl-0210-7Put everything in a bowl however you like. I started with rice, then added tofu and the rest of the accompaniments. I used more sauce in my bowl than what is pictured here and also added a splash of lime juice.

Thai-Burrito-Bowl-0214-8

What’s your style? Burritos in tortillas or burritos in a bowl?

62 thoughts on “Thai Curry Burrito Bowl with Sweet and Spicy Tofu

  1. sarojinididi

    I love the whole bowl concept- a bowl is flexible to the needs and wants of individual eaters and looks pretty. I would choose a tortilla over a bowl if out and about, though. Great post 🙂

    Reply
  2. Barbara Long

    yum yum – I love one bowl meals and this one looks wonderful with the various textures and flavors. Many thanks for sharing the recipe

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! I am definitely big on contrasty textures. I usually find that if the main dish is “soft”, I need something crunchy to eat with it. Or if it’s crunchy (like chips), I need something soft to go with it like dip.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! You don’t know how many times this has happened to me when perusing blogs 🙂 Especially during Vegan MoFo….it’s like I should just keep a rag handy to mop up my drool. And when will I ever learn not to look at vegan food blogs when I’m hungry….probably never 🙂

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! I became obsessed with bowl meals after seeing how creative they could get when I visited Portland for the Vida Vegan Con Conference. I’m pretty sure I could just eat out of bowls for the rest of my life and be fine. 🙂

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yay for bowls!! I bet bowl meals are probably ideal for the airstream. Or perhaps hand held foods and sandwiches? Heck, as nice and cozy as your airstream is, you could probably have a nice 5 course meal in there 🙂

      Reply
  3. Becky

    This looks awesome! I also love a burrito bowl. When I do get an actual burrito, my plate ends up piled up with pieces of tortilla that I tore away to get at the real goods.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hi Justin! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. Ya know it’s never too late to sign up! 🙂 There’s no late fee and we’re not exclusive ;-P Thanks so much for sharing the recipe and I’m glad that you enjoyed it.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      We use the full fat coconut milk. I don’t think I’ve used a light version before. I imagine the light version probably just has less fat in it, which if that is the case, should still work. It might be more liquidy though which (if you wanted the sauce to be thick) would mean you’d probably use slightly less. But I’m not certain. Hope you try it out!

      Reply
  4. Cadry's Kitchen

    This looks amazing! You’ve really outdone yourself on the pictures here. I’d love to dive in right this second. On the question of burritos in tortillas or in a bowl… Yes to both, please!

    Reply
  5. Janis

    Made it for dinner and it’s delicious! Will save this recipe and make it again for sure, maybe often because I could drink the sauce straight like soup…hummmm…

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so much for sharing! I’m glad you enjoyed it and will continue to make it. I hope it was simple to put together. We eat some variation of this sauce on the weekly!

      Reply
  6. Jennifer

    Made this using kelp noodles instead of rice and added ginger to the tofu. OMG- delicious!!!! Make this tonight!!!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Jennifer! Having it with kelp noodles sound AMAZING! I love kelp noodles and definitely want to try it with the sauce. Thanks for stopping by to let me know that you tried it.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. You’re correct that shrimp paste is often used in Massaman curry paste. That is why I always ask at Thai restaurants about shrimp and fish in the curries (not to mention fish sauce in the other dishes). The brand I use (Bright Brand) does not have shrimp paste. The ingredients are simply shallot, dried red chili, garlic, lemon grass, salt, galangal, spices, coriander seeds and cumin powder.

      I tried to find a link to the brand but could not find one. But you can see one of my friends talking about this on her blog: http://www.glueandglitter.com/main/2013/09/03/massaman-curry-pumpkin-hummus-tacodilla-recipe/

      The recipes on this site are 100% vegan. I’ll put a little note in the post as some might not know to watch out for shrimp paste.

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Base Phase – Day One | The Road to IMWI '14

Leave a Reply

