Lazy Sunday Tofu Scramble on a Crusty Baguette

I love Sunday mornings. Any other day of the week I hit the snooze button way more times than I actually want to admit. But Sundays I pop out of bed alarm-free and ready to blast through my day laze around in my PJs.

I love the quiet of the morning when it feels like the world is still asleep.  Neal and the pups linger in bed (my dogs totally sleep in…is that strange or what?). I catch up on blogs, have my coffee and maybe do some work.tofuscrambaguette-8861-1

And when the rest of the brood wakes up, we usually have a late breakfast and read the paper. My favorite sections of the paper in order:  Book Review, Travel, Sunday Review, Arts and Leisure and then the little NY Times magazine pull out thingie. The dogs go straight for whatever section they can lay on and Neal usually reads the front page first.

I like Sunday breakfasts that are easy to make and easy to eat with my hands so I can graze on it while I read the paper. Tofu scramble is a quintessential vegan meal and I like it because I can usually throw random odds and ends in it from the week.

For this scramble, I crumbled and sautéed two packs of Mori-Nu extra firm silken tofu (I didn’t press or drain because lazy Sunday) with some minced garlic, black beans, shredded Daiya Havarti, basil leaves, grape tomatoes, green onions, black salt (kala namak) and black pepper.

tofuscrambaguette-8871-2

To turn this into finger food I piled it on sliced pieces of a crusty baguette and added a few more sprinkles of green onions. Perfect! One hand for shoveling scramble baguettes into my mouth, one hand for flipping through the paper and one hand for scritching puppy ears…wait…what?

Need more tofu scramble? Check out this fun how-to video from JL goes Vegan (check out her awesome shirt). Or try this hearty breakfast burrito with potatoes and “bacon” from Cadry’s Kitchen. And Megan from The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado will always have your back when it comes to vegan brunches.

43 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday Tofu Scramble on a Crusty Baguette

  1. JL

    Whoa, that looks delicious! Isn’t the Daiya Havarti amazing? (My lazy move with that is melting it in a tortilla – lazy girl quesadilla!) Thanks for the shout-out! xo

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! The Daiya Havarti IS amazing. We don’t usually buy Daiya on a regular basis because it’s not something we can afford all the time but this week it was on sale. I like the lazy girl quesadilla idea! Maybe that is how we will use up the rest. I was very sparing with the tofu scramble so we could streeetch the cheese out.

      Reply
  2. Hannah

    I love Sundays too! I love lazy chores (there is such a thing!) and prepping for the week. A cat sleeping on my head makes it impossible to get up early, but I can’t complain too much about that haha

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Tell me more about this lazy chore thing. I hate chores but lazy chores sound like something I could be down with 🙂 And we should try swapping animals sometime. I’d take a cat sleeping on my head over a big greyhound’s booty in my face…farting no less 😛 Oh, the things we put up with for the love of our fur kids.

      Reply
      1. Hannah

        The cat on the head is pretty magical! It’s a recent development that I hope continues for years.

        I feel like I’m cleaning all. the. time. so lazy chores are ones that I kind of enjoy, take minimal effort and or can half ass. Specifically updating the home management book and laundry! Also maybe I only pick up fur tumble weeds instead of doing a full on sweep. Sweeping on Sundays should be outlawed.

        Reply
  3. veganmiam.com

    I love Sunday mornings! I walked nearly 10 miles today with my partner…it was 91 degrees out there. I ❤ NY Times Magazine, I always read that every Sunday morning in back Oregon, and sometimes they will post few awesome vegan and vegan-friendly recipes and of course, Travel!!! This is such a cute finger food dish, I love crusty baguette (has to be airy in the middle) and scallions, miam miam!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! I am a huge fan of scallions myself. We have a few stalks growing in the backyard. And uh geez, I don’t think I could walk that far in that kind of heat. It sounds like a great work out though. And yes, the NY Times magazine is great for recipes. As long as the recipes aren’t too meat-centered, most can be veganized.

      Reply
  4. coconutandberries

    Sunday mornings are the best! Although everyday is a Sunday right now for me as I’m still on vacation before I head off to start my Masters 🙂
    The scramble brekkie looks fab. I’ve never made it with silken tofu before? Love the black beans in there too.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! I know it’s not typical for people to use silken tofu, but I like it because it provides a smoother texture, almost like the whites of an egg. The only thing I have to be careful of is not to stir it or break it up too much while cooking otherwise it turns too mushy.

      And yes, Sundays are my jam. It’s even better when every day is a Sunday though :-). What are you getting your masters in?

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      If you can get your hands on the havarti, you will love it! It’s basically a jalepeno and garlic flavor but it’s sooo good. We tend to only get Daiya when it is on sale and the last few times it was, we went for the havarti.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Ok, whew, I thought my dogs were weirdos. I don’t know where I got the idea, but I just got the impression that most dogs are like licking their human companion’s faces at like 5AM.

      Reply
  5. RG

    Yes for sleeping in, and for tofu scrambles. This one reminds me of bruschetta because of the baguettes…breakfast bruchetta! Mmm…

    Reply
  6. Kylie - FotV

    There is nothing better than Sunday mornings for sure! I haven’t tried the Daiya Havarti yet…must do that soon! Sounds like you guys have the perfect morning ritual 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      As much as I love Sunday mornings, Sunday evenings are not as fun because of the impending Monday. I go through the whole gamut of emotions on a Sunday :-). And yes, definitely try the Havarti if you get a chance. It’s my favorite.

      Reply
  7. Mel

    Your scramble looks delicious and I love how you have served it on baguettes. When I first started making scrambles I used silken tofu but then I switched to firm – this has made me want to give silken another try. Love the comment about your dogs lying on the papers – too cute!

    Reply
  8. flickingthevs

    I love lazy Sundays like that, but they sadly seem to be a thing of the past now. I’ll just have to enjoy yours by proxy! I wouldn’t mind enjoying a bit of that scramble either. The more scrambles I make, the more I’m convinced they’re one of the best easy dishes known to humanity!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Totes agree about the easiness/tastiness of scramble. When I first started cooking vegan, tofu scramble was like this big deal when I made it. Now it’s just as delicious but I’m more lax about it and just throw in whatever looks good and needs to get used up.

      Reply
  9. Maggie Muggins

    Sunday mornings are my favorite time during the week, I pretty much live in my pjs all day and bum around the house, it’s glorious! Plus there’s always some form of brunch 🙂 these look mighty tasty, especially with that havarti cheese, man I love that stuff. Thanks for the link lovely!

    Reply
  10. Cadry's Kitchen

    What perfect Sundays! That all sounds so lovely. Dogs & cats really have the right idea when it comes to sleeping in. Spike and Jezebel must wonder why we don’t have an ongoing nap every day like they do. I love it that you still get the paper. That was always one of my favorite tactile Sunday rituals. I get my news on the internet now, but you can’t beat that wonderful feeling of leafing through crisp newspaper pages with a hot cup of coffee.

    Your tofu scramble slices look so incredibly good! I never use silken tofu for scrambles. Am I missing out? And I still haven’t opened the package of black salt that I bought years ago when Vegan Brunch came out!

    Thanks so much for linking to my breakfast burrito! Much appreciated!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Cadry! I know silken tofu is not common for scrambles but for me I like the smooth, almost “eggy” texture that it gives compared to other tofu. It definitely can run the risk of getting too mushy when cooking but I am careful not to stir it too much. You should open the black salt at least to smell it 🙂

      I love getting the newspaper on Sundays. Like you I also get a lot of news on the internets, but yeah, there is something about flipping through the pages and getting those black newsprinty fingers.

      Reply
  11. Mandee

    Mmm, looks perfect! I never get a chance to sleep in as unlike your pups, my cats are up early every day, but I do want to start treating myself to a lazy brekky on the weekends!

    And I love that you read the book review first 🙂

    Also, please do a kitchen tour!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! I’ve heard it both ways, companion animals that get up at the crack of dawn and lazy bums like ours 🙂 You should definitely treat yourself to a lazy breakfast at least one weekend morning! Me-time is always good for the psyche.

      PS. forgot to add that I’m still thinkin’ about the kitchen tour…at least a mini one.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

