BBQ Jackfruit Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

I came across the idea of BBQ pulled pork in sweet potatoes on my Flipboard (think Pinterest, but flippy-er). Out of curiosity, I did a google search for it and found many not-vegan recipes.  This bummed me out because it’s sooo easy to recreate this dish compassionate-style. All you need are plants, specifically jackfruit and sweet potatoes, and a little BBQ sauce.sweetpotJF-8452-1

And not only is this meal cruelty-free and tasty, it is one of those “set it and forget it” type meals. The only prep is the jackfruit and that just involves cutting and sauteing for a bit. The oven takes care of the rest.sweetpotJF-8420-2

BBQ Jackfruit Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 4 large sweet potatoes, washed and wrapped in foil
  • two 20 oz cans of jackfruit in brine (not the sweet kind)
  • BBQ sauce
  • vegan butter

sweetpotJF-8458-4

Bake the potatotes in a 425 degree oven for about an hour.  While that is going, drain the jackfruit. Cut out the hard center (the non-stringy part). Sautee the jackfruit on medium heat for about 5 minutes to cook out some of the liquid and get rid of the raw jackfruit and brine taste . Then add BBQ sauce so the jackfruit is thoroughly coated and sautee for another 5 minutes or so. Transfer the jackfruit to a baking pan and smush it so there is an even layer of BBQ jackfruit  covering the pan. Stick it in the oven with the potatoes but only for 30 minutes, until some parts come out crispy (see this post for more info).

sweetpotJF-8436-3

When the potatoes are done, it’s time to assemble!  I check that the potatoes are done by gently pressing on the foil. If it smushes in easily, I know it’s done.  I like to melt vegan butter on the inside of my potatoes and fluff them up a bit before adding the jackfruit.sweetpotJF-8459-5

The sweetness of the tender potato mixed with a little savory butter goes so well with the crispy sweet and spicy BBQ jackfruit.  Yay! I can eat this and watch Babe without feeling all conflicty!

27 thoughts on “BBQ Jackfruit Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh no Lisa, I hope that you will find some soon! Just like Katie (below), I get mine at my local Asian food market. If there is an H-Mart (bigger chain Asian grocery store), you might find it there as well. If all else fails there is always the option of stocking up online, I found this site that sells one of the brands that we buy http://www.philamfood.com/AROY-D-YOUNG-GREEN-JACKFRUIT-IN-BRINE-20OZ.html , but if you search around you may find more options.

      Just as Katie mentions though, be sure to get the kind in brine, not syrup. You don’t want the jackfruit to be sweet. Good luck! I can’t wait to see what you do with it when you get your hands on some 🙂

      Reply
  1. Katie

    Yum! I recently made BBQ jackfruit sandwiches for the first time and they were great. This sounds like an awesome alternative to the bread! @Lisa, I found jackfruit at our local Asian food market, in the canned food section. Make sure to buy it in brine (not syrup!).

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hi Katie! Thanks for sharing the tip. I also get mine at our local Asian market. The versatility of bbq jackfruit is wonderful, isn’t it? I also love how easy it is to make.

      Reply
  2. veganmiam.com

    I tried BBQ Jackfruit sandwich for the first time at Las Vegas Whole Foods. It was so good and I used to hate jackfruit way back in Asia, it wasn’t a pleasant taste on its own, but with the sweet and tangy sauce, it helps. Gorgeous photos.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I am so glad that you have changed your mind about jackfruit. I’ve always loved jackfruit. But until I had it BBQ style, I only ever ate the sweet, ripe kind. The unripe stuff isn’t good to me unless it’s cooked in sauce.

      Reply
  3. Cadry's Kitchen

    I like your idea about putting the jackfruit into the oven to get it crispy in parts! I’ve only made jackfruit on the stovetop, but I know I’d like it even better with extra texture. Barbecue sauce & sweet potatoes are so good together. I bet this tastes fantastic!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yeah, taking that extra step in the oven is soo worth it. But just make sure you use a good non-stick pan. The pan that I used for this most recent BBQ jackfruit is still soaking as some of the crusty bits refuse to come off. Perhaps I let it crustify too much 😛

      Reply
  4. Jenn Murphy

    Oooh I’m planning on trying to make Jackfruit carnitas for the first time during MoFo. I will have to try this recipe out too! I love BBQ and sweet potatoes.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Jackfruit carnitas..yummm! Ever since we have discovered jackfruit, it has become an easy weeknight staple. We even served BBQ jackfruit Korean tacos to family (omnivores all the way) and they could not get over that it was a FRUIT they were eating.

      Reply
  5. Jess

    Wow. I’ve seen so many jackfruit-as-“pork” (or “crab”) recipes around the Internet for like a year but none have ever made me want to go out and buy a can quite like this. I LOVE sweet potatoes and that’s the most authentic-looking not-barbecue ever. ::drools::

    (Found you from Cadry’s, btw. HI! ::waves:: I may have just bookmarked like ten of your recipes but this one kind of blows my mind. :D)

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Wow, this fills me with so many warm fuzzies! I am glad that you found me via Cadry’s blog. Isn’t her blog great? I always look forward to her posts.

      I hope you’ll share with me which recipes you end up trying and what you think of them or how you tweaked it. I learn so much from other bloggers/readers. They are partly to blame for my ever growing obsession with eggplant at the moment :-).

      Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          Oh man, I can’t believe you’re growing your own aubergine! That’s awesome! Are they difficult to grow? I have like the opposite of a green thumb in that I kill plants 😦 Headed over to your blog right now to check out the eggplant recipes!

          Reply
          1. jessicacorra

            Not at all! They’re like tomatoes, they just keep going and going. We permanently have a quart jar of homemade baba ghanouj in our fridge lately! I thought I had a black thumb too but my boyfriend has really gotten me into gardening. We did mix our own soil with an organic compost, vermiculite and soil. (PS I also run a tumblr at whybevegan.tumblr.com; I use the blog for longer posts/full recipes/non-food posts. :)) We’ll definitely be trying your not-stroganoff. And Keepin’ It Kind’s eggplant-amaranth burgers are fantastic.

            Reply
            1. luminousvegans Post author

              Maybe one day I’ll try again with the garden.The fact that you thought you had a black thumb but don’t, gives me some hope 🙂 I checked out your other blog, but could not find a way to comment on it. 😦 Perhaps I am inept at the internet.

Leave a Reply

