A weekend, brought to you by the letter T

T is for Thai Larb Noodle Salad.  This dish is traditionally very pork-heavy.  No pigs were harmed in this version and it came out mouth-wateringly delicious.

weekendT-8515-1

T is for three pups instead of the usual two. We were dog sitting for a friend, so that meant three times the cuteness in the house for a while.weekendT-8750-2

weekendT-7884-3

T is for testing out making almond butter in the food processor. The first time I made almond butter was in my beloved vitamix and as much as I love that appliance, it didn’t come out as smooth and creamy as it did this time.weekendT-8540-4

Making almond butter is a practice in patience. It takes awhile for the almonds to release their oils, so I pulled up a chair and got comfortable.weekendT-8562-5

It was worth the wait.weekendT-8541-6

weekendT-8550-7

is for taking walks. I’m enjoying the weather as we slooowly start to transition to fall down here in the south. weekendT-8608-8

is for take-out. We haven’t eaten out in a while so we treated ourselves to food from Greensprout Veg Chinese. We got hot and sour soup (no egg), chikin drumstucks andweekendT-8661-9

sesame portobello with broccoli.
weekendT-8684-10

T is for time out to relax. I love lazy Sunday mornings where I can just graze on breakfast-y foods and read the paper.weekendT-8724-11

T is for tasty treats. A perfect way to end a late Sunday afternoon is with creamy root beer floats. I put two scoops of ice cream and then poured the root beer in. How do you make yours?

weekendT-8770-12

is for tomorrow is coming too soon!

10 thoughts on “A weekend, brought to you by the letter T

  1. Rambling Vegans

    Such a fun post! I thought you adopted another pup when I first saw the pics. That’s got to be fun to dog sit. What a cutie!

    A lot of delicious food going on here, but that float has really caught my eye. I’ve thought about having one from time to time & need to get on that before it gets cold. I make mine just like you!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It was so good! I don’t drink/eat rootbeer floats often, so I’m not sure why I was craving one all of a sudden. Our friends who we were dog sitting for brought us the rootbeer along with some other stuff as a thank you, so it was meant to be 🙂 I always think I want to try ice cream floats with other soda flavors, but I always go for the rootbeer.

      Reply
  2. chow vegan

    Who knew the letter T could bring such wonderful things? Love this post, the cute dogs, the yummy food – really curious about that sesame portobello with broccoli. I usually see it with some sort of mock meat. And it’s not summer without a root beer float in there somewhere. 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      The sesame portobello & broccoli is my favorite dish from that restaurant. It is really good! They offer some mock meat versions like sesame shrimp but I love the chewy texture that their mushroom version has.

      Reply
  3. Cadry's Kitchen

    I enjoyed this post so much! What a fun weekend. The letter T served you well! Was the Thai Larb Noodle Salad your own creation, or did you follow a recipe? It looks fantastic! Those chikin drumsticks look just like the ones that I got at Karyn’s On Green in Chicago. After I’d had my birthday meal there, I read on another blog that they use pre-made, frozen “legs” for their dish, and since then I’ve seen those same ones on a few different blogs. It appears that Green-Sprout buys from the same vendor. That root beer float looks soooo goooood. I haven’t made one at home in years and years. I need to remedy that!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That’s funny about those drumsticks. I thought the ones in your Chicago post looked familiar but I couldn’t be sure. They actually sell a huge bag of them in the freezer at my local Asian market too. They are delicious! The Thai Larb Noodle salad was inspired by an episode of Diners, Drive-ins and Dives that I saw recently on Food Network (I just recently discovered we get this channel…for better or for worse). The dude on the show made the salad using fish sauce, palm syrup, lemongrass and some other stuff. So I tried making up my own. I’ve had it before, pre-vegan at my mom’s restaurant so I vaguely remember what it should taste like. It came out reeeally good but I didn’t write down anything that I did so I’m gonna have to try and recreate it from memory.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

