Going Rogue on these Crazy, Sexy Crab Cakes

I was working really hard at home. On a Saturday no less. I was hungry. But that was okay, because I knew what I was going to make for lunch. Vegan crab cakes! I had pinned this recipe for it from Crazy, Sexy Kitchen a few weeks ago and knew from the combination of ingredients, which includes things like hearts of palm, Old Bay Seasoning, nori and nooch, that it was going to be something I liked.  crabcakes-6649

It was already 1 o’clock and my stomach was growling slightly as a cautious warning to avoid getting too hungry.  But I pushed myself to finish one more task because I had glanced over the recipe and knew I’d be eating in no time.  How much time could it take to mix some hearts of palm in a food processor, stir in some stuff, form into patties and fry?

So I grabbed all the ingredients, propped up the recipe on my iPad and started actually reading the directions—crap, I got sliced hearts of palm not the whole stalk, oh well probably not a big deal…wait, what? toast the nori sheets?  I scanned some more— let the mixture sit for 30 minutes in the fridge…and then another HOUR?!! Reading is fundamental people. There was no way my stomach was going to make it another hour. I was already feeling borderline hangry.

crabcakes-6636

So, I went rogue and took some shortcuts.

  • I didn’t toast the nori sheets
  • I only let the mixture sit in the fridge for like 5 minutes while I cleaned up the kitchen
  • I messily fried the patties as I formed them, totally getting rid of the step of letting them firm in the fridge for an hour.crabcakes-6658

And surprisingly, they came out okay! A few fell apart (* see footnote) and the kitchen looked like someone had massaged all the counters, faucet handles and surfaces with crab meat mixture. But aside from that, my “ain’t nobody got time for dat” shortcuts went well. I ate mine with sweet relish mixed with mayo.

What are your time-saving shortcuts in the kitchen?

crabcakes-6653

*I learned that not flipping the patties allowed a nice crusty outside to form on one side helping to keep it together and prevented breakage. Also, squeezing firmly on the mixture while forming patties for frying also seemed to help.

25 thoughts on “Going Rogue on these Crazy, Sexy Crab Cakes

  1. rika@veganmiam.com

    Crab cakes were one of my favorite appetizers before I became a vegan…especially with tartar sauce…but after trying Sophie’s Kitchen and Veggie Grill’s crab cake, I thought they weren’t too bad as vegan crab cakes! And yes, the Old Bay seasoning is an amazing ingredient, I’ve used it in my Beyond Meat Chicken Salad with Dill (some bloggers have tried it and loved it). Thanks for a few tips about making these crab cakes from Crazy & Sexy Kitchen! I am really hungry now!

    Reply
  2. Lisa

    WHATTTT! They looks awesome-and what a great way to use hearts of palm! I bought a jar last week to make ceviche and haven’t yet-maybe Ill make these instead 😉
    I’ve never even had the carnivore version of crab cakes!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That is funny that you mention that, because I never ate crab cakes pre-vegan either! I’m big on texture though and used to like the texture of seafood so this dish is great for that. Hearts of palm for ceviche is also really yummy! My partner, Neal, is not a big fan of hearts of palm but I love it so!

      Reply
  3. veganadian

    That looks delicious! Ohmy! speaking of crab cakes, I had the chance to try the Vegan Crab Cakes from Match Meats, and WOW! Amazing! The review is going up tomorrow, I will ping you 😉 Ps. care to make a few batch for me? I’ll take a dozen, hehe!
    And trust me, I too have those “Ain’t nobody got time for that” moments! :p
    oxo,
    Holly

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      No, I haven’t tried the Match Meats crab cakes but I bet they are good. I look forward to seeing your review for them! As I mentioned to Lisa from The Vegan Pact, I never had crab cakes pre-vegan but I love vegan crab cakes a lot. Isn’t that strange?

      Reply
      1. veganadian

        Not strange at all, hehe. I myself can’t recall ever having a crab cake! 🙂 And I too like them a lot! xx
        oxo,
        Holly

        Reply
  4. chow vegan

    Those crab cakes look amazing and I loved the hearts of palm in the recipe. Great job on improvising the recipe! It’s more than I would have done if I’m starving with no time – it’s a quick pb and j sandwich for me. 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I don’t know why I didn’t just go for a pb&j. I think I just had my heart set on those and had been thinking about them so hard that I just had to have them 😛

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Day 1: Farm Sanctuary Country Hoe Down 2013, Watkins Glen, NY! | A Geeky Canadienne Herbivore, With Love.. Ⓥ

  6. Becky

    Those look so good! I can’t tell you how many times this has happened to me with recipes. I usually end up making them the way I thought they’d go, and usually it turns out fine, too! Once in a while though: DISASTER.

    Reply
  7. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    Glorious! Hearts of palm are a real treat for me, but I’m dying to splurge now that I’ve seen how downright crabby they look in this application. I would have never dreamed of it! So smart, so tasty.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      They were good even with the shortcuts. They might have held together a little better had I followed the directions, but I figure it’s all going to get chewed up and broken down anyways! 🙂

      Reply
  8. veganinbrighton

    Haha, that happens to me all the time! Always read the recipe! I love vegan fish-style cakes, the Chesapeake Tempeh Cakes from Vegan Brunch are my favourites so far but now I want to try this recipe.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I’m glad to hear that I’m not alone in that! I’ve managed to shortcut a lot of recipes without too much harm done to the final food 🙂 so I’ll probably keep at it. I would love to be that person who has time to make every single thing from scratch but time saving shortcuts are a must for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

