Still Happily Redeeming My Yearly Trips Around the Sun

Alright, real talk. When I was a teenager, I used to think that I would never make it to my 30’s due to some terrible, random accident. I had no legitimate reason for thinking that. It was just a strange premonition I had that I’m sure wasn’t helped by teenage angsty broodiness and a feeling of not belonging. Thankfully, I suck at being a psychic andΒ I gratefully (and happily) enjoy my yearly trips around the sun with good food. And lots of cake! Come on, did you really think this post was going in any other direction?

2013bday-7295

A stroll around the hood resulted in some indulgent pre-birthday dinner cupcakes at Dulce Vegan – caramel, chocolate, orange cardamom and lemon.

2013bday-7299

Next, we had an early dinner at Cafe Sunflower.

2013bday-7379

Since we don’t eat here very often I usually end up getting some of the same dishes that I know I love.

For apps we got the “Supreme Vegan Nachos”- organic corn chips, Daiya, homemade chili, shredded romaine lettuce, chopped tomatoes, jalapeno and fresh guacamole.

2013bday-7366

and “Mushroom Ceviche”- shiitake, enoki mushroom, jicama, mango, onion, garlic, cilantro, smoked paprika, lime, orange and avocado.2013bday-7364

We each got a “Green Tea Chai”-green tea, soymilk, cinnamon, nutmeg, and agave.2013bday-7360

For the main course, Neal got his usual, “Fiesta Enchilada with Corn Salsa”- Marinated soy chicken, sauteed onions, red bell peppers, and granny smith apples wrapped in a flour tortilla topped with shredded romaine lettuce and corn salsa.

2013bday-7371

and I got the “Garden Loaf”- veggie loaf, herbed mashed potatoes, grilled asparagus, spring rolls with organic mushroom gravy.

2013bday-7373

Despite having a plethora of leftover cupcakes at home, I had to get a slice of strawberry cake!2013bday-7377

After dinner, I scared myself silly by watching The Conjuring. I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect birthday!

How do you celebrate your birthday? Big blowout or low-key affair?

35 thoughts on “Still Happily Redeeming My Yearly Trips Around the Sun

  1. RG

    Happy Happy Birthday!!! You deserve all those vegan goodness you just ate. Damn, they look so dramatic too hehe. That mushroom ceviche looks awesome. Anyway, happy YOU day and congrats for another full trip around the sun.

    Reply
  2. rika@veganmiam.com

    β˜… β˜† ✰ Happy Birthday Ketty!!!!!!! What a beautiful birthday post! I hope your day is filled with mouthwatering and unique vegan foods! The dish, Fiesta Enchilada with Corn Salsa looks so scrumptious including the Mushroom ceviche! Now I want some Green Tea Chai right now! I spent my birthday two months ago (in mid-June) at Departure Restaurant & Lounge, my friend and also Chef made something wonderful for me, it was a savoury watermelon dish. Again, Happy Birthday and enjoy the lovely sunshine! β˜… β˜† ✰

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you Rika!! I think I remember seeing your lovely birthday eats either on your blog or on instagram (or both). I ate at Departure when I was in Portland for VVC and it was super yum! That is so great that a special dish was made for you. Cheers to summer birthdays!

      Reply
  3. cookeasyvegan

    I like your new birthday attitude! Looks like a delicious celebration, with beautiful food and lots of cake. I usually celebrate with a family dinner, cooked by someone other than me. πŸ™‚ It usually ends with cake and ice cream. If it were left up yo me, I’d probably barely acknowledge my birthday, but I’m related to a bunch a celebrators!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! Yes, I have been known to get cupcakes on a regular ol’ day, but the birthday is probably the only time I will have multiple sweet cake-y things in one day.

      Reply
  4. Ally

    Oh happy birthday! πŸ™‚
    What a fabulous celebration you had. The food looks incredible. Cake AND cupcakes- perfect!
    I like to indulge in good food and delicious treats in the company of my family on my birthday. Low-key but special.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks Cadry! I wish I was a bit more adventurous and could deviate from my normal selections at Cafe Sunflower, but I know I’d only regret not getting the nachos. The simple solution was just get more than one app! One tried and true and one new (the mushroom ceviche). πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Becky

    Happy birthday! Your day looks like it was delicious.

    I used to do blow out birthday shindigs but they’ve gotten mellowed over the years. Lately I’ve likes throwing games night birthday parties.

    Reply
  6. Maggie Muggins

    Happy birthday! Looks like you were treated well πŸ˜‰ I don’t think I would pass on a piece of strawberry cake either.
    You’re braver then I am, I really want to watch the conjuring but don’t want to constantly be looking into dark corners of the house fearing something’s looking back, lol.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! I definitely was spooked for at least a week after watching The Conjuring. I had to sleep with the covers over every part of my body even though it was so hot…because, you know, the covers will protect me from the scary monsters πŸ˜› I don’t know why I insist scaring myself. The only thing I can think of is that it is like when people seek thrills like skydiving. Getting really scared by watching scary movies is like my thrill. But I always pay for it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

