Crispy Ranch Flavored Chickpeas

I know I was professing my undying love for kale chips just the other day. But I think I’ve found a new love! It’s like in Romeo and Juliet when Romeo moves from Rosaline to Juliet and was all–who’s Rosaline? Kale chips are my Rosaline and roasted chickpeas are my Juliet.  But let’s get one thing straight here. Both snacks are equally delicious in their own way.  I’ll still enjoy kale chips. It’s just that roasted chickpeas are so much easier to make yet still satisfy my need for crispy, savory snack foods. Could Romeo say the same things about Rosaline and Juliet? Ummm……maybe? Who really knows what Romeo was up to when he was apart from Juliet.

IMG_6874-1

Romeo’s questionable promiscuity aside, this easy vegan snack food has been around for a while.  I only recently discovered them on Cadry’s Kitchen.  The texture and taste of my first batch (mixed with just salt, pepper and oil) reminded me of corn nuts.  You know, those crunchy, salty snack foods from 7-11 that were Heather’s last dying words (Hey 80s kids, thanks for getting my references). Corn nuts come in all different flavors so I thought I would try jazzing mine up ranch-style. I used the same herbs from Isa’s Sanctuary dip. My only regret. Not making a bigger batch.

IMG_6837-2

Ranch Flavored Roasted Chickpeas

Ingredients

  • 14 oz can of chick peas
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp veggie broth powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried dill
  • salt (to taste)

IMG_6848-3Directions

  1. Rinse, drain and dry chickpeas. I lay mine out on a towel.
  2. Mix the rest of the ingredients together in a bowl- this will be thick and pasty due to the herb to oil ratio.
  3. Add the dried chickpeas to the herb-oil mix and stir well to coat all chickpeas thoroughly.
  4. Spread chickpeas on a baking pan and bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes (until crispy).

The possibilities for this easy-peasy addicting snack are endless.  Check out this tasty looking Sriracha version from Becky at Glue and Glitter.  Or try having it as a crouton alternative on a salad like Andrea’s Easy Vegan Cooking.  I’ve done it and it’s tasty!

IMG_6853-4

How do you eat your roasted chickpeas?

37 thoughts on “Crispy Ranch Flavored Chickpeas

  1. sophiazerg

    Oooh, these look great! I just posted a recipe for roasted chickpeas a few days ago – a little on the spicier side, using cayenne, cumin and paprika.
    Love this snack, it’s so versatile and you can use so many combinations of seasonings!
    Sophia 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That is a great idea to eat them during movies! We might go to the movies this weekend so I may have to sneak some in my bag because movie theater snacks are too expensive and I don’t think there is anything vegan there anyways.

      Reply
  2. rika@veganmiam.com

    Love the simple ingredients and method! I have a couple cans of chickpeas in my pantry still, and I think I should use them soon before I leave for Spain for awhile. The Sriracha version from Becky at Glue and Glitter sounds amazing, too. Isn’t Sriracha amazinggggggg? x

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I can’t wait to try Becky’s Sriracha version! I always have a can of chickpeas in the pantry so it will be fun to experiment with different flavors. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! Have fun in Spain!

      Reply
  3. Cadry's Kitchen (@Cadryskitchen)

    Your crispy ranch chickpeas look so enticing! Thanks for the mention! For the longest time I was totally addicted to roasted chickpeas. I still love them now, but I don’t eat them as a snack, with lunch, with dinner, etc. But you know how it is with young love. At first I was like, “Did my heart love till now? forswear it, sight! For I ne’er saw true beauty till this night.”

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Roasted Chickpeas | Recipe ArchiveRecipe Archive

  5. Amy

    I’ve never heard of veggie broth powder. Do you think these would be fine without it, or do you have any substitution suggestions?

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I usually get it in bulk at my local co-op. I don’t remember exactly what kind it is but it’s similar to this: http://www.frontiercoop.com/products.php?ct=dfmsb&cn=Vegetable+Flavored+Broth+Powder If you click on the info tab, you can see that you can probably make your own using dried herbs and such. Or maybe look for a veggie soup mix that is in powder form. Lipton’s comes to mind but I’m not sure if it is vegan. If you can’t find any, I think it would be perfectly fine without it. Or you could just add more salt, onion and/or garlic powder. It’s hard to mess this recipe up. Good luck and thanks for stopping by. I’d love to know how it turns out.

      Reply
  6. Lisa Criswell

    I just made these, and although they taste fabulous, they are not completely crispy. They are kind of crispy on the outside (toasted, golden brown) but in the middle they are softer and dry. What did I do wrong? I put them on a sheet and baked them at 400F for 30 minutes. They were still kind of mushy so I put them in for about 6 more minutes. But I couldn’t leave them in much longer than that or the outside would burn. What is the inside texture supposed to be? Thanks.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      The texture is pretty crispy on the outside and the middle is going to be softer and dry as you describe, but not mushy. I don’t think you did anything wrong, it just seems like you would prefer a texture that is more crunchy/crispy throughout the entire chickpea. The first batch that I made (the one that I compare to Corn Nuts) came out crispier throughout the entire chickpea because I accidentally left it in for 45 minutes, though some did burn. I didn’t like that, so I lessened the time. If you want it more crunchy throughout the chickpea, you could extend the time knowing that you may have to sacrifice a few chickpeas to burnage. Although everybody’s oven is different so yours may not burn at all. Were they already burning after the +6 minutes?. Another tip is to make sure that the chickpeas are really dry before coating in olive oil. You could try using a little less olive oil as well to see if it gets closer to a texture that you like.

      And while you’re experimenting with getting the texture to just how you want it, it’s a great opportunity to try different flavors too! A reader mentioned using maple syrup…mmmmm!

      I hope this helps! Let me know how it goes.

      Reply
      1. Lisa Criswell

        thanks for getting back to me quick! Oh, I don’t mind the texture really. It’s just that when you said “corn nuts” I was expecting crunchy throughout. But I do like them a lot!!! I’m going to experiment with other flavors, too. This is a healthy and satisfying snack full of protein, and that’s just what I’m looking for. Also, if anyone wants crispier texture throughout, I bet it would work too if you increased the time but lowered the temperature so it’s closer to what a dehydrator would do. I’m glad I mad a double batch!!!

        Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          No problemo! I love getting feedback and hearing from readers. The increased time at a lower temperature is a fabulous idea! Thanks for bringing to my attention that the corn nuts reference might be misleading to readers…I will have to update that! 🙂

          ~Ketty

          Reply
  7. Camille

    I had a roasted chickpea recipe with a pinch of cayenne years ago, and everybody loved it. Haven’t made it in ages. This one looks even tastier though!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      There are so many variations of roasted chickpeas out there that I wanna try. I like the idea of adding cayenne for a little kick! My favorite way to make it right now is to use harissa.

      Reply
  8. C Wise

    Another site mentioned that you can roast the chickpeas just plain (without the oil or flavors) and add them after the fact. I wonder if that would make them crunchier? Anyone know?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

