Going Old School: Portobellos with a Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Before Beyond Meat, before Gardeins and even before Boca….there were portobellos. This old-school fungi is straight-from-the-ground “meat” for vegans due to its thick and hearty texture. What makes these portobellos special is the savory roasted red pepper sauce drizzled on top. Served with some lemony smashed red potatoes, this is the compassionate version of  “steak and potatoes”.

IMG_6500-1-2

Portobellos and a Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Ingredients

  • 3-4 large portobello caps (stems removed)
  • olive oil
  • 1 roasted red bell pepper (I roasted mine on the stove top like this, but store-bought should work just as well)
  • 1/4 cup cashews
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 sun-dried tomato
  • 2-3 tablespoons veggie broth
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chopped chives for garnish

Directions

  1. Slice portobello caps into strips. Coat with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast in oven for 20 minutes at 400 degrees F.
  2. To make the sauce, blend the roasted red bell pepper, cashews, garlic clove, sun-dried tomato and veggie broth until smooth.  Add salt and pepper to taste and blend again. This recipe makes about 1 cup of sauce.
  3. Drizzle sauce over roasted portobellos when they are done and garnish with chives.

While I do enjoy all the great vegan meats in the supermarket, this delicious but easy sauce renewed my taste buds for this classic meat substitute.

What’s your favorite way to have portobellos?

24 thoughts on “Going Old School: Portobellos with a Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

  1. Hannah

    That sauce looks off the hook! We always have so many peppers this time of year so I’ll have to give it a try. I am *always* down for a portobello.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks! I love trying to use produce that is in season when I cook. Bell peppers are especially versatile. We always pick some up when we go to the farmer’s market or the store.

      Reply
  2. Maggie Muggins

    Nice! I dont usually go for portobellos but I had a panko crusted portobello burger recently that totally made me change my tune, so I’m totally on board for this. I’m digging the creamy red pepper sauce!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Panko crusted portobello burger?! What?? That sounds so good. I don’t normally go for portobellos either even though I love all mushrooms, strangely enough. I think it has something to do with the fact that when I first went vegan, portobellos seemed to always be shoved in my face by other people–like that is all they thought I ate *shrugs*. But portobello done interestingly I’m all over.

      Reply
  3. veganadian

    Love the intro on this! I still rock my portobellos! I love fungus, hehe!
    That looks delicious! I need to get familiar with “cashew cheeze/sauce”.
    oxo,
    Holly

    Reply
  4. Starr

    mmm, I love portobellos and your sauce sounds so tasty! Bonus points for food styling. It looks like it’s being served at a fancy restaurant!… So when can I book reservations? 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Ha ha, thanks for the bonus points. That was my attempt at decorative sauce dots. That dish was tricky to make look good, it took several attempts. No reservations needed, my vegan friend!

      Reply
  5. A Tablespoon of Liz

    yum, this meal is definitly my kind of food! I love portobellos, especially when I’m craving something meaty (that’s obviously not meat) and filling. And that sauce looks amazing, the color is just so pretty!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! It was actually tricky making the portobellos look as good as it tasted when I photographed it. At first it just looked like unattractive lumps of nothing.

      Reply
  6. Andrea

    This looks fabulous. I would rather have mushrooms any day over vegan meat substitutes. The sauce looks and sounds excellent and I love the combo with smashed potatoes. Count me in!

    Reply
  7. rika@veganmiam.com

    Who doesn’t love portobellos?! I started having my first portobellos two years ago and they are soooooo good! They are a perfect “meat” alternative including plant-based! You can grill them, saute them, marinate them, fry them, braise them, and so much more. It doesn’t hurt to eat plant-based all the time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

