This and That Red Curry

I’ve gotten in the habit of jotting down notes when I’m making food a mess in the kitchen. Neal doesn’t, yet he does about half the cooking in the house. One night he threw together this kick-ass red curry. So I asked him–what’d ya put in it? He just shrugged and said–this and that. This is our (mostly joking) email exchange in which I try to get some coherent recipe out of him.FakeCurry _Snapseed

Me:

How would you like an exciting opportunity to collaborate with an up and coming vegan blog? If so, read on and follow the directions…Can you type up the recipe for your curry that you made the other day before you forget? Rough estimates of quantities and measurements are fine.

Thanks,

Luminous Vegans

Him:

I would love this opportunity. Thank you. Please let me know at your earliest convenience if this will suffice:

First, quarter your red potatoes and boil them. Dice up red bell pepper, carrots and two cloves of garlic. Chop up the kale leaves. Then, saute the veggies and garlic for a few minutes with a tbsp of sugar before adding a can of coconut cream and some bamboo shoots. Also, at this time, add a tbsp of red curry paste. I like to smash and swirl the curry paste in a quarter cup of vegetable broth so it’s already broken up before getting lost in the sauce. Also add two tbsp of Bragg’s liquid aminos or soy sauce.  Squeeze half a lime into the sauce and cut up the rest of the lime for garnish. Simmer all of this for 20-30 minutes.

Kind Regards,

Neal

Me:

Thank you so much for your prompt response! We will be working hard to get this recipe out to readers.   We look forward to working with you more in the future.

Oh, but for realsies….HOW MANY potatoes, red bell pepper, carrots, kale? Estimates are fine.

Him:

M’am, with all due respects, your email was extremely pushy.

FOUR $$$$$$ red potatoes

ONE $$$$$$$ red bell pepper

EIGHT POINT FIVE $ baby carrots

FOUR kales

just estimates.

I’m not sure what the $$$$$$$$ means. I guess ya gotta get blinged out produce for this curry.  In case that wasn’t clear, the recipe is below.

IMG_6596 _Snapseed

This and That Red Curry

Ingredients

These are estimates says the man!

  • 4 quartered red potatoes (or whatever potatoes you have on hand)
  • 1 diced red bell pepper
  • 8 chopped baby carrots
  • 4 stalks of chopped kale leaves (stems removed)
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • a smidge of preferred sautéing oil
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • 1 tbsp red curry paste (EDIT: found out from Neal later that it wasn’t actually red curry, but Massamam Curry paste that he used. I think that any curry paste would work well though)
  • 1/4 cup of veggie broth
  • 14 oz can of coconut cream
  • 14 oz can of bamboo shoots (use as much or as little as desired. He used about 1/2)
  • 2tbs of Bragg’s liquid aminos or soy sauce
  • 1 lime

Directions

  1. Boil the potatoes until slightly tender (about 8 minutes). Drain and set aside.
  2. Sautee the bell peppers, bell peppers, carrots, kale and garlic with the oil and sugar for a few minutes in a large pot or pan.
  3. While that is sautéing, dissolve the red curry paste into the veggie broth in a small cup or bowl.
  4. Now add the coconut cream, bamboo shoots, cooked potatoes, curry paste +veggie broth mixture and Bragg’s to the sautéing veggies.
  5. Squeeze in juice from half of the lime. Stir and simmer for 20-30 minutes.

This curry is sweet and creamy with a slight kick of curry heat. We ate it with jasmine rice and squeezed a slice of lime over our individual dishes. The tanginess of the lime is a nice contrast to the other rich flavors. It made about 2-3 servings when served with rice.

26 thoughts on “This and That Red Curry

  1. Lillian

    What kind of red curry paste do you use? We bought a tub from YDFM a while back and used it in a recipe that didn’t really compel us to try it (that recipe or the paste) again.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      True story. I asked Neal what kind of red curry paste he used so I could let you know. He told me it was in the fridge. So I go to look in the fridge…dunh dunh daaaa…it’s not red curry. It’s actually Masaman Curry. The brand is a Thai brand called “Bright” and I’m pretty sure we got it at the First Oriental Market. You know, the store that is by the nudie bar on the same road that YDFM is on.

      Reply
      1. Becky

        Masaman is the best Thai curry, no question. That Bright paste is the kind we use, too! I think they have it at YDFM also, but don’t quote me on that.

        Reply
  2. Cadry's Kitchen

    This post cracked me up so much! I want more email exchanges between you and Neal. You two are hilarious!

    I’ve seen recipes calling for coconut cream before, and I’m a little confused by it. Which brand do you get? I’ve seen coconut milk and coconut butter, and I know how to take the fat off the coconut milk to make whipped cream… However, I don’t think I’ve ever seen coconut cream in a store before.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I haven’t used coconut cream that much either, but it is thicker and richer than coconut milk. Almost like coconut milk without as much water and more of the fat. The brand we used was “Savoy” and we picked it up at our local Asian market. We used it as creamer in our morning coffee/chai when we ran out of our normal creamer and it worked well for that. I think it might be good for desserts, but I haven’t tried experimenting with it yet.

      Reply
  3. Ally

    Oh yum! That looks fabulous. Well done, Neal!
    I haven’t had a red curry in ages, I seem to stick with green, but you and Neal have inspired me.
    I was laughing at your email exchange. My hub made a fabulous dinner tonight, and I was trying to pin him down on quantities too. I think i’ll have to get him to make it again, so I can watch and take notes.
    🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      The best way to cook is just to experiment and throw stuff in and taste it as you go I think. But I’ve learned to write things down as I go mainly for blogging purposes. It was a fun challenge to piece together Neal’s “recipe” into something that made more sense.

      Reply
  4. chow vegan

    Awesome looking curry! and the email exchange is too funny! I’ve been making tons of curry lately too – it’s such a great way to use this and that veggie. 🙂 I just saw coconut cream at Trader Joe’s today. I was thinking of getting it but wasn’t sure since I’ve always used coconut milk. Now I know to give it a try next time. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  5. erika

    Ahaha this was hilarious. Ugh, I JUST bought green curry paste because I’ve been craving Thai curry for the longest time, but now I want red curry!! I can make this with green too, right?

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Most interactions with Neal involve laughing! Hmmm, ya know, I’ve eaten green curry but never cooked with it. So it’s hard for me to answer. Green curry is delicious though! If I had to take a shot in the dark, I would think it would work just fine. Though I’m not sure how well peanut butter would go with green curry. Try experimenting with a small mini batch and see how it goes. Maybe just start with the coconut milk, the curry and the other ingredients without adding the peanut butter. You can always add it in at the end if you think it would go well. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Reply
  6. Niki

    Currently in a library (procrastinating paper writing) and stumbled across your blog. I actually laughed out loud reading the email exchange, its the same thing with my boyfriend! The boys a kitchen magician but never writes things down. I’ve never thought to use potato in a thai curry but that sounds just so comforting for fall.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Well, I’m glad to be of service in helping you procrastinate 🙂 I’m hearing more and more from people that the boys do amazing things in the kitchen. I guess it’s a sign of our progressive times or maybe we’re just some really lucky gals/guys! Potato in peanut-y curries is delicious. It definitely amps up the comfort factor. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

