Kale Me Crazy, First Impressions

A new juice joint called Kale Me Crazy has opened up in Atlanta. Their facebook page states “Kale Me Crazy is an upscale juice bar that specializes in cold-pressed juices, smoothies, and raw foods.  We believe in better health and well-being through organic raw food”.  I love smoothies especially in the summer, so we headed over to try it out.

IMG_0800 _Snapseed

Its interior is sleek, mostly white and modern and small.  There is seating at the front bar or at another bar facing the window. The guy at the counter was really nice and let us sample the juices. All the juices and smoothies are vegan and they offer some vegan baked goods.

IMG_0797 _Snapseed

I got the Refresh smoothie- kale, celery, apple, banana, mint, coconut meat, coconut milk and maple syrup.

IMG_0802 _Snapseed

Neal got the Recovery smoothie-banana, cherries, cashews, coconut yogurt, almond milk and vegan protein.

IMG_0803 _Snapseed

Both smoothies were good, but I think I would have liked it more if there had been more cherry tartness in the Recovery and more apple sweetness/tartness in the Refresh. Neal really liked his and thought it tasted like a cherry milkshake.

I got the vibe that they were still getting a feel for what customers wanted and liked, so it’s possible their menu may change. If I happen to be in the neighborhood and get a hankering for a smoothie I’ll definitely stop by again, but I don’t see myself going out of my way to get one. To be fair, I don’t think I’m their target demographic because while I like smoothies, I’m not that into the whole juicing thing (I like pulpy fiber!). And since I own a Vitamix, it’s hard to justify spending that much on a smoothie when I can make one all day, err’day for a fraction of the price.

green_smoothie

Homemade spinach, pineapple, frozen banana,and coconut flakes smoothie.

What do you prefer….fresh pressed juices or smoothies?

21 thoughts on “Kale Me Crazy, First Impressions

  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    I love the name, but I’m a sucker for puns, especially when they involve kale. I have a Vitamix, like you, and a juicer, and so it is hard for me to justify buying smoothies or juices unless I’m traveling. I can understand why they’re expensive, but they’re so easy to make at home for a fraction of the cost.

    I go in phases of being more into smoothies or more into juice, and right now it’s a juice phase. Since it’s so muggy and humid, juice feels lighter and less filling.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I love puns too! I also agree totally about only buying them when traveling. My sister just got a juicer and she loves it. I don’t think I can afford one, space-wise or money-wise though. Plus, I have a list of other kitchen appliances that I would probably get before a juicer…dehydrator, waffle maker, immersion blender (mine broke 😦 ).

      Reply
  2. veggiewhatnow

    I think I’d probably like this if I wanted a healthy alternative while on the go, but definitely not an everyday thing. Smoothies can be a bit of a problem with allergies- so for me, it’s usually a juice.

    Reply
  3. veganadian

    Lovely post! I have to agree with you, making a smoothie at home is definitely cheaper. It’s funny, I walked pass it a few weeks ago and it didn’t strike me to go in. I was looking through the window and one of the sales guy just starred at me without providing an invitation to go in…
    I am friendly, I promise! 🙂

    Perhaps I’ll give it a shot soon, until then- I’ll stick with my blender and concoctions. 🙂
    It is a nice addition to the city though!
    oxo,
    Holly

    Reply
  4. chow vegan

    Cool looking place. Like you, I don’t really go out for smoothies when they’re so easy to make at home. But like what other people have mentioned, if I was traveling or didn’t have access to a kitchen, it would be awesome to grab one on the go.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Definitely. I think that is going to be my new rule…only buy juices/smoothies when out and about. I think making one at home is so much more cost effective.

      Reply
  5. zeelemons

    I have both a Vitamix and a juicer and although I see and know the benefits of eating all the fiber, I do prefer juice! I feel lighter in this hot weather.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I can see that. Smoothies can be somewhat heavier especially if made with bananas and protein. Maybe I need to give cold pressed juice a second chance 🙂

      Reply
  6. Kristiina

    I like both. I tend to make smoothies more than juice because my blender is easier to clean but if I were buying it and didn’t have to clean up I would take juice every time.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That is cool that you have both a juicer and blender. Neal says he had a juicer in college (or his roommate did) and he mentioned that it could be a pain to clean all the pulpy leftovers.

      Reply
  7. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    I’m much more of a juice person than a smoothie person, simply because I find juices easier to drink and more refreshing. Smoothies are more of a meal, and I still have trouble figuring out where to fit them into a day’s worth of balanced eating. Anyway, it’s all good and I’ve been known to indulge on occasion, so I wish there were more places like this around! I feel grateful enough to have any options in my small town, but there’s always room for another…

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That’s probably why I like smoothies…I don’t eat 3 balanced meals a day. I usually either eat a tiny breakfast or just skip it all together (terrible, I know!). So smoothies are almost essential for me. I also like to have them after going to the gym.

      Reply
  8. Cheerfully Vegan

    I make a green smoothie daily (unless I run out of greens and forget to pick up more – or the store is out of them.) I don’t have a juicer. Plus, I’m not sold on the juicing completely. You pay so much for produce, only to throw all the fiber and solids away. It just doesn’t seem cost effective to me. I’ve watched the documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead and I understand the concept…I just can’t justify it yet. (Perhaps it would help me lose weight, but none of the other health changes have, so I’m in no hurry.)

    Reply
  9. RG

    Wow the place looks chic. I think it’s about time Kale gets its own smoothie business though I do agree that it’s hard to pay for something you could make on your own for a fraction of the price. Still, I would love to try this one out. Hopefully they come to the Bay Area.

    Reply
  10. Becky

    Ooh I have been wondering about this place! It’s right on the way when I drive Dave to work, and I’ve been meaning to pop in. I am definitely a smoothie gal. Why toss all of that healthy fiber and those good vitamins down the drain, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

