Cooking a Raw Dish: Stuffed Zucchini Boats

I like raw food. I do. But sometimes when I eat a raw dish, I think—hmmm, this would taste reeeeally good if it were hot! Like temperature-hot, not Shakira-hot because I’ve eaten some pretty sexy raw dishes before. I’ve made this sundried tomato and basil manicotti (*see footnote) from VegNews in its intended raw format in the past, but this time around I decided to forgo nearly slicing my fingers with a sharp knife trying to get thin zucchini noodles and just make baked stuffed zucchini boats.

IMG_5807

I made the sundried tomato and basil cashew cheese as-is and stuffed them in the zucchini. I also made the raw marinara as-is except I chopped up the scooped-out zucchini insides and stirred it in. I simmered the marinara until the zucchini was cooked and then I poured it over the stuffed zucchini and baked everything covered in foil for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees F.

IMG_5797

IMG_5799

I had no clue how this would come out because I’ve never tried baking a raw dish. While the zucchini baked, I kept thinking—this is so wrong, what am I doing?? But my apprehensions were unfounded because the dish came out creamy-dreamy delicious! The filling was just as full of sundried tomato-basil flavor as it was raw. The marinara was rich and tomato-y and the zucchini was nice and tender with a subtle bite. All the individual components melded nicely as a result of the baking.

IMG_5816

* To get to the actual recipe, scroll down until you see “raw manicotti”. The recipe calls for 4 zucchinis and I only had 2 so I had sauce and cheese leftover.

16 thoughts on “Cooking a Raw Dish: Stuffed Zucchini Boats

  1. RG

    Beautiful photography! And hey as long as you’re not eating animals, you’re still doing the right thing 😉 Just not the healthiest, but still hehe

    Reply
  2. The Healthy Flavor

    Yummy! I have a stuffed zucchini recipe on m blog too and I love them. I love this version of the sun-dried tomato, basil and cashew cheese. I’m just sitting here imagining the awesome taste!

    Reply
  3. chow vegan

    Yum! I’m started to make more raw foods but I can’t quite give up food that’s hot and cooked. The stuffed zucchini looks delicious! I like that it can be made raw or cooked, sorta like summer and winter versions of the same dish. 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That’s what I thought too–winter/summer version. Strangely enough I did the winter version in summer 🙂 The raw version of this recipe is really good too though.

      Reply
  4. Maggie Muggins

    I’m with you on the raw food, I’m not against it or anything but sometimes I just think, “damn, this would be way better warm.”
    Your baked version looks super tasty, I think I’d prefer the cooked version…but ask me again when it’s +30C and I may be singing a different tune.

    Reply
  5. Cadry's Kitchen (@Cadryskitchen)

    Love this line – “Like temperature-hot, not Shakira-hot because I’ve eaten some pretty sexy raw dishes before.” I can’t put my finger on exactly why, but raw food is sexy! And Shakira too… I mean, obviously.

    My husband would be way more onboard with your version. I don’t mind the room temperature quality of raw food, but David is always disappointed when a raw soup arrives and it’s lukewarm. Either way, this stuffed zucchini sounds mouthwateringly good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

