Georgia Peach-y Slaw

IMG_5937 _Snapseed

Dude, why are you buying peaches from South Carolina?– is what I should have said to the man buying peaches clearly marked as being from South Carolina at the farmer’s market.  Because right beside the South Carolina peaches were Georgia peaches. Hey guy, don’t cha know peaches are Georgia’s jam! Not like jelly jam but like that’s my jam JAM!

IMG_5842 _Snapseed

But I didn’t say anything. Maybe I should have. The only thing I did was buy a lot of peaches of Georgia origin.

This quick, one bowl, sweet and tangy peach slaw was a result of my passive aggressive peach buying. It works great as a stand alone side dish or atop bbq jackfruit in a sandwich.

Peachy Slaw

Ingredients

  • 1/8 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbs of olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbs of maple syrup
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 16 oz bag of pre chopped cole slaw mix (don’t judge)
  • 4 medium peaches, chopped
  • 1 cup of cooked corn
  • 1/3 cup of chopped cilantro (or more…I just threw some in because we had some in the fridge)

Directions

  1. In a big bowl mix/whisk the apple cider vinegar, olive oil, maple syrup, salt and pepper.
  2. Throw in the cole slaw mix, chopped peaches, corn and cilantro.
  3. Give it a good stir. I find folding it works best.
  4. Taste it. Add more salt and pepper as needed.

This makes quite a bit, way more than Neal and I could eat. It can be eaten immediately if desired or stored in the fridge, though I think it is best to eat this within a day for that crispy slaw crunch.

IMG_5979 _Snapseed

29 thoughts on “Georgia Peach-y Slaw

  1. Melissa

    Looks and sounds really good! I’ll have to try this. And no way will I judge you for using pre chopped cole slaw mix. Who has the time for all that chopping?

    Reply
  2. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    I must admit, I’m not real big on most slaws, but the colors alone would convince me to dig in. This is so beautiful! Hard to believe such natural beauty could be created with so few ingredients. (No, there’s nothing wrong with slaw mix! Totally legit shortcut.)

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I like slaws but mostly “on” stuff where it adds a nice contrast of texture to whatever I add it to. I don’t normally dig into big bowls of slaws by itself so I get what you’re saying. I love shortcuts when it comes to cooking because I love eating more than I love spending time in the kitchen 🙂

      Reply
  3. Cadry's Kitchen

    Peach slaw on a BBQ jackfruit sandwich?! That is brilliant! (You cracked me up with the “don’t judge” admonishment after the coleslaw mix. I’ll try not to, but I really can’t promise anything.) 😉

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      LOL, thanks! I sometimes am afraid to “admit” all the shortcuts that I take especially in a sea of bloggers who manage to churn out amazing “every thing is from scratch” gourmet meals. I got the idea from Homegrown smoker of course!

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I know! When I went back to the farmer’s market, I noticed that the GA section of peaches is much smaller in comparison to the CA and SC peach section. Strange.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I think cole slaw is best “on” stuff. I like to eat it when the crunch of the cabbage offers a contrast to a softer texture, in this case the bbq jackfruit. I’m not one to eat coleslaw by itself usually.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yum!! I can’t wait to see it. I got the idea after visiting Homegrown Smoker and Native Bowl where we got dishes that were topped with slaw and I was all..hmmm, slaw gives everything a nice tasty crunchy bite!

      Reply
  4. thecrueltyfreereview

    Oh, that sandwich looks divine! I love adding fruit to savory meals and this just screams summer. And absolutely no judging here about using a slaw mix. I’ve been known to raid the salad bar at Whole Foods just to avoid having to chop my own veg.

    Reply
  5. Caroline (the ex-sugarholic)

    Yum! That looks so good. I just stumbled on your blog and all the delicious recipes almost makes me think I could turn vegan (although, I am just getting to grips with already being dairy, gluten and sugar free – so it might be a longer process).

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yay! I am so happy that you found yourself here. I am not gluten free myself but I know many are, so I am trying to incorporate more gluten free ideas. What is great though is that a lot of vegan recipes out there can be modified to be gluten free because they have so many great gluten-free products out there nowadays! I hope to get my “recipe” tab on my home page in order soon so recipes can be found easily….

      I am definitely not sugar free ;-), so out of curiosity, what does sugar free entail? Is that all sugars (like maple syrup, stevia,…) or just cane sugar?

      Reply
      1. Caroline (the ex-sugarholic)

        Awesome 🙂 Yes it’s pretty good now as there are so many more people who go gluten free, so many products!

        I didn’t use to be sugar free either, rather the opposite, it couldn’t be sweet enough. The sugar free explanation will probably make this super long but if you are interested have a look here: http://exsugarholic.wordpress.com/about/ – I use stevia, dextrose and glucose syrup (which is actually a sugar but not dangerous or addictive).

        Looking forward to your recipe tab and trying out some of your amazing recipes 🙂

        Reply
  6. Pingback: Lemon Drop Cocktail with Peach and Basil

Leave a Reply

