Canteen in Portland: There’s a bowl for that


What better way to end the series of Portland posts than with the dish that, to me, defined Portland…bowls! They were such an iconic dish there that for two weeks after getting back to Atlanta, I just made bowls and only bowls.

We had these two lovely bowls at a small neighborhood joint, Canteen.

Neal got the Bangkok Bowl which was avocado, curry and red curry peanut sauce, long brown rice, aduki beans, broccoli, red cabbage, kimchi and black sesame seeds.

IMG_0595 _Snapseed

I got the Walnut Taco Salad which was walnut taco crumbles with mixed greens, pico de gallo, avocado, curry sauce, carrots, cashew ancho spread, sliced avocado and green onions. While not technically classified as a bowl it had all the bowl qualities- lots of different elements layered separately that come together nicely when mixed.

IMG_0594 _Snapseed

Portland vegan food, It’s goodbye for now…until we meet again..

12 thoughts on “Canteen in Portland: There’s a bowl for that

  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    What great lighting on the bowls! We stopped by Canteen for lunch one day too, and I also got the taco bowl. I really enjoyed mine until I got to almost the bottom of it and found a short hair. Of course, that kind of thing can happen anywhere, but it put me off eating any more of it (for obvious reasons). I should have taken it back up with the hair and said, “Um, I don’t think this is vegan…” 😉

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh no! That stinks that there was a hair in it :-(. I’m sure that would have curtailed my eating it too. LOL at “um, I don’t think this is vegan”.

      Reply
  2. Richgail Enriquez

    No more Portland posts? Say it ain’t so! Btw that taco bowl looks might good, I want a scoop!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Bowls are so easy to throw together and I’ve found it is also a good way to use up random leftovers…just throw everything together and whip up some tasty sauce that brings it all together.

      Reply
  3. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    I’m so sad I didn’t make it out to Canteen! These pictures are great inspiration for my own bowl meals though… Maybe I’m weird, but I find that cabbage irresistible. It sounds especially delicious with a spicy peanut sauce to top it all off.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      We only ate at Canteen like once so I know nothing of these amazing Pixie Retreat products you speak of. Please take pictures and share on your blog so I can live vicariously through you :-).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

