Creamy Linguine with King Trumpets

KettyShrroms _Snapseed I’ve never met a fungi that I didn’t like love. The first time I saw king trumpet mushrooms (aka king oyster, French horn..) was on ASTIG vegan’s site. I was in awe of this fungus that looked so much like scallops when sliced. Since then, they lingered in the back of my mind but I never made a conscious effort to seek them out until recently.

IMG_5663 _Snapseed

I found these beauties at the Dekalb Farmer’s Market where they initially eluded me until Neal found them on the top shelf of the mushroom section. I was so ecstatic that I lifted the package above my head in a victory stance and then hugged it gingerly,  my preciousss! My overly dramatic show of excitement and affection for fungus was picked up on by a fellow shopper who I later spied examining them and taking some home herself.

IMG_5693 _Snapseed

I was going for the scallop-y effect when I made this dish – a creamy linguine mixed with parsley and topped with pan seared king trumpets, fresh squeezed lemon juice and chives. The linguine was a nice smooth backdrop for the smoky, earthy and surprisingly buttery taste of the mushrooms. I fell in love with this fungi with the first tender bite. I think my dramatics at the farmer’s market were well founded and I hope my fellow shopper was just as pleased with these little big guys as I was.

Creamy Linguine with King Trumpet “Scallops”

Ingredients

  • 7-8oz of linguine (I used a little less than half of a 16 oz. box)
  • 1 cup soaked and drained cashews (soaked for at least 1 hour)
  • 1/3 cup of veggie stock
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 tbs lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup of non-dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of chopped parsley
  • 2-3 tbs of olive oil
  • 9.5 oz of king trumpet mushrooms sliced into scallop sized chunks

IMG_5715 _Snapseed

Directions

  1. Cook the linguine until al dente.
  2. Throw the cashews, veggie stock, garlic, salt, pepper, lemon juice, milk and nutritional yeast into a high speed blender or food processor and blend until smooth.
  3. Mix the sauce with the linguine, stir in the chopped parsley and let it sit over low heat until mushrooms are ready.
  4. Pan sear the mushrooms with the olive oil sprinkling each side with salt and pepper. I used a grill pan to get the grill marks.
  5. Assemble by laying down linguine, then mushrooms and then chopped chives. Finish with a generous squeeze of 2 lemon slices all over. This makes about 2-3 servings.
21 thoughts on “Creamy Linguine with King Trumpets

  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    What a stunning dish! I still haven’t tried king trumpet mushrooms; although, I have been mighty tempted by many dishes with them across the internet, yours most definitely included. What a coup too that you found organic ones! I have trouble finding any organic mushrooms at all in our area, outside of your typical portobellos and buttons.

    How would you describe the texture of this mushroom?

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hmmmm, it definitely had a unique texture compared to other mushrooms. It’s more dense (not sure if that is the right word) then portobello but it was still very tender. It indeed reminded me of scallops texture-wise, though I could be off on that since I haven’t had scallops for reals in a long time.

      Reply
  2. Becky

    !!!! I need to go back to YDFM and snag these. I’ve been wanting to try cooking with trumpets, too, but last time i looked they didn’t have them there. That pasta looks fantastical.

    Reply
  3. jess

    SO excited to try these mushrooms out too! i`ve been eyeing them for a while now but was too intimidated by them for some reason (silly, i know!).

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Not silly at all. They are big and intimidating in some ways. 🙂 I was worried that they wouldn’t taste good because they were so big and all I did was salt and pepper them, but they carry their own! I could have easily eaten them all by just popping them in my mouth, no need for pasta.

      Reply
  4. Richgail Enriquez

    That dish looks beautiful! I think mushrooms are so versatile and easy to cook. King trumpet is definitely one of my fave kind of mushrooms. I haven’t thought of doing the scallop-y effect but I’ll try it out now. Thanks for the shoutout btw!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so much for sharing the awesomeness of king trumpets on your blog! I seriously don’t think I would have ever thought to try them if I didn’t see them on your site 🙂

      Reply
  5. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    It never ceases to amaze just how well mushrooms can imitate seafood. It sounds crazy, but the proof is plain to see- and taste! They look so perfectly seared, too. Oh, what I would give for a bite!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      You’re right! I’ve heard people say that portobellos mimic steak, but I don’t taste or see it. Mushrooms most definitely are closer to imitating seafood especially in this case.

      Reply
  6. celestedimilla

    Oh my gosh – what a lovely dish! Your presentation is beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever had King Trumpet Mushrooms. I’ll have to see if they have them at Whole Foods. Celeste 🙂

    Reply
  7. Kristy

    I’ve been dreaming of these guys since RIchgail’s post too! Now I know I need to get on it, stat! What a beautify dish! 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      She does so many interesting and tasty things with shrooms over at ASTIG vegan. I would love to see what you do with king trumpets if you get a hold of some!

      Reply
  8. Pingback: The story of how Pearl (couscous) went from drab to fab |

Leave a Reply

