Get Your Dilly on with this Mediterranean Inspired Bowl

One thing I learned from our recent PDX trip, is that it’s all about the bowl. And the bowl is all about the sauce. Since the sweltering summertime heat and humidity is back in the ATL, I wanted to make a bowl that could be eaten cold or at room temperature. This bowl combines fresh Mediterranean inspired summery herbs and crisp, cool veggies with a creamy dill sauce.IMG_5537 _Snapseed

The recipe is based on this bulgur dish and this cashew cheese recipe. It’s super easy but requires some inactive “down” time like refrigeration and soaking, so planning ahead is essential. I got about 2-3 bowls out of this recipe with some sauce leftover.IMG_5595 _Snapseed

Mediterranean Bowl

The Base:

  • 1 cup of bulgur wheat
  • 1 cup of boiling veggie broth
  • 1/2 cup of chopped green onions (about 2 stalks/bulbs)
  • 1/2 cup chopped flat leaf parsley
  • 1-2 packed tbs of chopped mint
  • 1/2 cup of halved cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of chopped cucumbers
  • 2tbs olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbs lemon juice
  • salt and pepper (to taste)

The Sauce:

  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of raw cashews
  • 1/4 cup packed dill and flat leaf parsley (50/50 ratio)  + 1/4 cup chopped dill to stir in at the end
  • 2 1/2 tbs lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup of water (read directions, you may need less)

Toppings:

  • dates
  • chopped green onions
First make the base,
  1. Place the bulgur in a bowl and pour in the boiling veggie broth. Cover the bowl and let it stand for 30 minutes or so until bulgur absorbs broth.
  2. After the bulgur is cooked, dump in the rest of the ingredients and mix everything really well.  Add more salt and pepper if needed.
  3. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before using.
Now make the sauce,
  1. In a small blender (I used my magic bullet) or food processor, pulse the garlic and salt.
  2. Add the cashews and blend until powdery/pasty.
  3. Add the 1/4 cup of packed herbs, the lemon juice and only half of the water. Blend.
  4. Slowly add more water and continue to blend until the sauce reaches desired consistency. I ended up using almost all of the water.
  5. By hand, stir in the 1/4 cup chopped dill. Add more fresh dill if you wanna. Get dilly with it.
Finally put it all together,IMG_5529 _Snapseed
  1. Give the bulgur one more good stir and then pile some up in a bowl.
  2. I happened to have a batch of Terry Hope Romero’s steamed seitan, so I added that on top of the bulgur. It’s not necessary.
  3. Pour a generous amount of sauce all over.
  4. Top with 1-2 chopped dates and a generous amount of chopped green onions.
  5. Then stir it all up. It got kinda messy, but that’s the fun part about bowls. For me at least!

IMG_5614 _Snapseed

I had leftover dill sauce from this recipe. It’s a great dip for crackers or veggies like roasted parsnips which The Cozy Vegan uses as her own dill sauce dipping vessel. Or just get your dilly on by dipping your finger in it and eating it that way.

25 thoughts on “Get Your Dilly on with this Mediterranean Inspired Bowl

  1. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    I really is all about the bowl, and I love your very different take on the concept! For such a simple formula, there are so many exciting variations to enjoy, so I’m happy to tuck this one under my belt for later. I was actually thinking about styling a bowl meal for my workshop of VVC, but had to change plans at the last minute when I realized I wouldn’t have a working kitchen. Perhaps next time…

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yeah, 90% of my meals since we got back have been some form of bowl or another :-). I think your foodstyling tips are that much more amazing given that you didn’t even use a kitchen to make the take out meal look fabulouso!

      Reply
  2. Cadry's Kitchen

    That bowl sounds so good, especially the dill sauce! It’s very similar to a dressing I make weekly, but with cilantro instead of dill. I need to grab a bunch of dill and try your method! It seems that so many of us are building bowls this week as we go through Portland withdrawals. Today I made a bowl of millet, sautéed collard greens, and roasted chickpeas. Long live the bowl! 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Mmmm, the bowl you described sounds great. I also make a similar dressing with cilantro too (actually, the one that the dilly sauce is based on). I think cashew cream sauces go with everything!

      Reply
  3. Richgail Enriquez

    Beautiful photos! I love the layout, design, and of course the recipe. Not to mention, the messy presentation in the end. That’s basically keeping it real hehe.

    Reply
  4. Maggie Muggins

    I really need to get back on the bowl band wagon. They’re my favorite kind of meal but I always seem to get lost when trying to think of a sauce. Everything about this sounds crazy good, especially that dill sauce, I bet it would make an awesome dip too.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Canteen in Portland: There’s a bowl for that |

  6. feastyoureyesonmyveg

    I think I need to make everything with some form of cashew sauce from now on. You rock at cashews. Wow , I loved this! And this year is my first year having a house & garden so it has been exciting to grow my own dill! I used the leftover sauce for a veggie dip and I think I’ll have to make it regularly. Also spread it on a crispy roll…mmm.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh you are so lucky to be rocking a garden at your house. Every attempt I make at gardening (in pots) has failed. I would love to grow fresh herbs. I am so glad that you liked this. Dill is a great summery herb. If you wanna ranch-ify the sauce, maybe also stir in some freshly cut chives.

      Reply
      1. feastyoureyesonmyveg

        I read a book and I owe my first time gardening success to it, it’s called All New Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew. This method is great for small spaces, efficiency, and on. The successful growing also comes from the soil mixture he tells you to make – it really is perfect soil and your plants thank you. Hope you check it out!

        Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          Thanks for the recommendation! I’ll see if I can get a copy from the library. I really, reeeeally want my own garden even if just for herbs because fresh herbs can be expensive.

          Reply
  7. Pingback: Bulgur wheat with dried apricots and chilli flakes recipe. | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Hey! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Dill is an herb that I have recently enjoyed as well. It adds a fresh taste to stuff which is great during the summer.

      Reply
  8. Pingback: Mediterranean Bowl | Recipe ArchiveRecipe Archive

Leave a Reply

