Portland Food Trucks

You know how when you visit food trucks ya feel lucky if you find a couple of vegan options.  If you find a whole truck dedicated to vegan food, then it feels like you’ve hit the vegan jackpot.  Ok, so now imagine finding TWO completely vegan trucks right by each other offering over 15 hearty vegan meals! That happened at the Mississippi Marketplace when we were in Portland.

The food trucks were Homegrown Smoker and Native Bowl. They turned two already indecisive vegans into two crazies standing in front of both trucks scrutinizing their menus, comparing the specs of each mouthwateringly described dish against one another and saying “Oh no, you go ahead…we’re still deciding” to every person that walked up.

portland_food_trucks

We finally did reach some important decisions without resorting to coin tosses or reciting “eeny, meeny, miny, moe” rhymes. We ended up just following our guts. That and we went back to the food trucks the following day.

On the first visit we both ate at Homegrown Smoker. Neal got the SloSmoMoFo- apple wood smoked soy curls on a bun with chipotle slaw and maple bourbon bbq sauce with a side of their Mac-nocheese.IMG_0586 _Snapseed

I got the Macnocheeto – a grilled flour tortilla filled with Mac-Nocheese, sweet baked beans, grilled peppers and onions and the maple bourbon bbq sauce.IMG_0588 _Snapseed

On the second visit, Neal ate at Homegrown again and got the Smoker Sammich- smoked soy curls on a bun with grilled peppers and onions and that sweet smoky maple bourbon bbq sauce with a side of STFU puppies-crispy fried corn fritters with remoulade sauce.IMG_0636 _Snapseed

I got the Mississippi Bowl from Native Bowl- jasmine rice, house-made ranch sauce, barbecue soy curls, two kinds of barbecue sauce, fresh crisp slaw, and scallions.  This is the Mississippi Bowl not stirred.IMG_0630 _Snapseed

And here it is all stirred up- this is how ya supposed to do it!  I’ve been craving the perfect blend of sweet, savory, cool and crisp captured in this bowl ever since we left.IMG_0634 _Snapseed

This fantastical corner of the food truck park was like hitting the vegan jackpot on steroids. Next time we go (and there will be a next time) I definitely want to get the Mississippi Bowl again. Or maybe I should try the Hollywood Bowl. Then again, the treuben sounds good too…as do the chili cheese fries..

28 thoughts on “Portland Food Trucks

  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    I want all of that in my belly ASAP! If I lived in that area, I would make it my mission to sample one of everything on both of those menus. I’m so bummed that I wasn’t able to sample Native Bowl. Next time!

    There was a nearby food cart that was hawking some vegan soup while we were there, and I wondered if they were feeling envious of the gobs of vegans honing in on the vegan portion of the food cart area. Any other day or place, I would have been more than happy to sample her vegan soup, but with two exclusively vegan food carts at my disposal, I had no choice but to frequent them instead!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It was really mouthwatering. If you drive down to Portland, I definitely recommend stopping there. The food truck park is in a cute little neighborhood of Portland.

      Reply
  2. elle

    My gosh, that looks fantastic!! I’ve yet to try anything like that. I’ve heard there’s a vegan food truck that comes around here some days, but it’s been hard to track down haha.
    Great find =)

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Ooh, what kind of food does the vegan truck have? It’s too bad that it’s difficult to track down though. Most of the food trucks that I have visited usually have a set schedule of where they will be and on what days…perhaps the one in your town has something like that online.

      Reply
  3. Molly

    Wow, it all looks fantastic! I would have been ecstatic with all those choices. My stomach started growling while I was reading this….. 🙂

    Reply
  4. veganinbrighton

    I loved Homegrown Smoker! I had the BBQ plate which I’ll be blogging about soon and it was amazing. I wish I’d made it back up there to try Native Bowl, next time!

    Reply
  5. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    I’m so bummed that I didn’t have time to go hit the trucks at all! Native bowl has been on my “must visit” list for years, and that bowl looks just as tempting as ever. Sigh, some day…

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It was really impossible to fit in all the Portland vegan eats in such a short time. Neal and I were just contemplating recently how long it would take to try every single vegan restaurant as well as try every single vegan dish at those restaurants and then there’s all the restaurants that don’t claim they are vegan but offer a whole separate vegan menu…whew!

      Reply
  6. Jean of all Trades

    I didn’t get to the food trucks at all. I missed out! Next time I go to Portland I’m heading straight there. Fortunately it’s “just” a few hours’ drive from me. Doable 🙂 Mac nocheese please!

    Reply
  7. Becky

    I have the same indecisiveness when faced with an all-vegan menu! I’m so used to finding what on the menu I *can* eat, I’m not used to deciding what I *want* to eat.

    Reply
  8. Andrea

    Yet another reminder that I didn’t get to the food trucks this year. I had to make barbecued soy curls for lunch to console myself.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It was impossible to fit in all of Portland vegan eats. There’s just sooo much. I totally want to find soy curls around ATL. I know the Butler soy curls are made locally in Oregon. Where do you get yours?

      Reply
  9. Richgail Enriquez

    Portland rocks! I was there about 5 years ago and it felt like I was in a vegan paradise. Hopefully I could visit there soon so I could try your recommendations.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yeah, when someone told me once that it was a vegan mecca, they weren’t joking! It all felt kinda surreal but at the same time it felt like “yeah, this is how it should be EVERYWHERE”. Neal and I even joked about coming back to ATL and going to a non-vegan restaurant and asking for the “vegan” menu like so many Portland restaurants have. When they tell us they don’t have one, we would make a scene and just go on about how ridiculous it is that they don’t have one. J/k We wouldn’t really do that….or would we?? 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

