Hey guacamole, you’ve got some quinoa on you.

I had leftover guacamole from my nacho-tempeh-bacon-guac sandwiches and I knew if I didn’t eat it all quickly, it would start turning blackish in color despite my attempts to keep it from air.

Guacamole that has turned darker due to oxidation is not inedible but let’s face it, bright green guacamole is way more appetizing. So why not disguise it?

I got this idea from Epicurean Vegan who mixed mashed avocados with rice and beans.  I didn’t have rice so instead I mixed my leftover guacamole with a cooked combo of white and dark quinoa. Then I stirred in left over diced tomatoes with green chilis (from a can) and some salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_4950 _Snapseed

Then, I topped it with some black beans, sour cream and green onions. Since the guacamole was already made and full of flavor, this dish could not have been simpler. This kept in the fridge for several days and the guacamole kept on looking awesomely appetizing due to its quinoa disguise!

IMG_4974 _SnapseedPS. Portland, I’ll see you in a few days for VVC!

10 thoughts on “Hey guacamole, you’ve got some quinoa on you.

  1. Molly

    Excellent way to use it up! I love quinoa and you’re right, this couldn’t be simpler. Perfection! 🙂

    I hope you’re feeling better!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yeah and I always make so much guac that I get tired of eating it with chips and veggies. This dish has me brainstorming other possible things to mix it with…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

