Going out with a sneeze

I have a cold. It’s full blown-sies. An end of school year gift from my students I’m sure. When I’m under the weather, I don’t feel like doing anything in the kitchen.  Solution: get someone else to do the cooking.

Neal made me this brunch of tofu scramble, fried “ham”, english muffins and strawberries.

IMG_0522 _Snapseed

And one night we went to Harmony, a veg Chinese restaurant.

IMG_0524 _Snapseed

Pickled carrots and cabbage, served at the beginning of each meal here. Neal doesn’t like it so I eat it all.

IMG_0523 _Snapseed

Wonton Soup- we always order this when we eat here.

IMG_0525 _Snapseed

Salt and Pepper “Squid”- new menu item, second time we’ve gotten it.

IMG_0528 _Snapseed

Szechuan style green beans- we order this every time we’re here.

IMG_0527 _Snapseed

Orange “beef”- don’t order this as often, but it was tasty!

I’ve been taking vitamin C, drinking a lot of tea and smoothies, and sucking on Ricola’s non-stop. I sure hope I am feeling back to my old self soon. I’m tired of the stuffed up nose and the Darth Vader-like mouth breathing.IMG_0535 _Snapseed

Any tips on how to curb a cold quick?

18 thoughts on “Going out with a sneeze

  1. Genevieve

    My advice to get rid of your cold quick is take Gan Mao Ling (a traditional Chinese herbal formula for treating colds). You can get it at any place that carries Chinese Herbs or an acupuncturist… I would recommend Plum Flower brand since they are GMP certified if you are picking them up at a shop.

    Reply
  2. Molly

    I drink a ton of hibiscus tea when I have a cold & it goes away very fast (it has the highest antioxidants out there for any drink). Looks like you’re eating very well! Neal made you a delicious looking breakfast.

    Feel better soon!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you. Great idea. I don’t have straight hibiscus tea, but I have a celestial seasoning tea with hibiscus mixed in. Perhaps I’ll sip on some tonight.

      Reply
  3. epicureanvegan

    Sorry you’re not feeling well! I guess I swear by kale and orange bell peppers–loaded with vitamin C. Really, I think lots of sleep and water are never a bad idea! Also, I’m jealous you have a veg Chinese restaurant to go to. I haven’t found a place here that makes any soup with veggie broth and I really miss wonton soup . . . I guess I need to just make my own. Get well!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks, I can’t wait to feel normal again. Sleep so far has been the thing that has been helping. I wish I could sleep in more, but I’m not sick enough to miss work, so I still gotta get up early. Maybe I can get Neal to make me some kale chips 🙂

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks for the tips! You are the second person to mention antioxidants. I wonder if white tea would work well…no green tea in the house, but lots of white tea.

      Reply
  4. Becky

    Aw, I hope you feel better soon! The cold that’s going around made its way through our house a little over a week ago, and it was the PITS.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thanks, I hate being sick. This year has been the worst for me in terms of colds. My students were constantly on some rotating schedule of being sick.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

