Dump-it-in Chili

As much as I love to eat, I don’t always have the time to get cray-cray in the kitchen, especially weekdays after work. This is a great meal for when I don’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen because “ain’t nobody got time for ‘dat!“.

It starts with the crock pot. I turned it to high and sprayed the insides with oil. Then I dumped in a 28oz can of chopped tomatoes, a 14oz can of kidney beans and a 15oz can of black beans. I only drained the beans, but I didn’t rinse them. 
IMG_4420 _Snapseed

Next I dumped in a cup of frozen corn.IMG_4422 _Snapseed

And one small chopped onion and one zucchini.IMG_4430 _Snapseed

Then I dumped in approximately: 1/2 tbs chicken broth concentrate, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp chili powder, a dash of harissa and a 1/4 tsp black pepper. I didn’t really measure it out. I just tasted it with my mouth to see if it was seasoned to my liking.

IMG_4438 _Snapseed

At the last-minute I decided to throw in these Gardein beefless tips. We had a boatload of these because of a “buy one get one free” sale at Publix (Thanks A, for giving me the heads up on that one!).

IMG_4444 _SnapseedThen I stirred it all up and let it do its thing while I did other important life stuff, like watch youtube videos and take a nap.

We ate about 2.5-3 hours later. Depending on when you get home from work this could make for a late dinner but this works for our house because we usually don’t eat until 9pm anyways.

So the moral of the story is I let my crock pot do the work. My mouth couldn’t tell the difference and I got my internets fix. Its a win-win!

IMG_4447 _Snapseed

22 thoughts on “Dump-it-in Chili

  1. Rachel in Veganland

    YUM! And I LOVE the new look! Normally just see your posts in my reader, so I missed the newness going live! It’s lovely!!!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Totally agree about crock pot love and the need to use it more. I tried making a cake it in the other day which I’ll post about soon and that was an interesting experience!

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I’m trying to find ways to have better quick meals that aren’t like boca nuggets and fries :-P. I can’t even imagine making involved meals if I had a new little one like yourself…I can barely do that just for the two of us! 🙂

      Reply
      1. Becky

        I am definitely not cooking like I used to these days. Lately the most romantic sentence Dave can say to me is, “Let’s order pizza!”

        Reply
  2. Cadry's Kitchen

    Sounds wonderful! I love the ease of chili. It has tons of possibilities and is practically fool-proof. I’ve never tried those Gardein beefless tips, but I’ve heard rave reviews from other folks.

    Reply
  3. Mrsgraygray

    K, you are welcome for the tip. The chili looks great! Have you ever bought the crockpot liners from Reynolds? They are lifesavers when it comes to cleaning up the crockpot.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Nope, I have not used crockpot liners. That would definitely have come in handy for this cake I made in it the other day because it was a b*tch to clean! Most of the time, as long as we spray the pot with cooking spray clean up is easy.

      Reply
  4. carmdiep

    You really did get good shots 🙂 ps you energy and cute way of blogging reminds me of Mindy in The Mindy Project. Please tell me you watch that show! It’s so good 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

