Veganized Zucchini Pie from Oprah

So, Oprah didn’t write this recipe, but it is up on her website. Needless to say, it ain’t vegan. Usually I am scared to veganize dishes, but this one only had two non-vegan ingredients so I gave it a go.

I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I used Ener-G egg replacer for the eggs and I used Daiya chedder cheese. And instead of using store-bought Bisquick, I followed this guide on how to make homemade Bisquick (it’s basically flour, salt, baking powder and oil).
IMG_4355 _Snapseed

The veganized dish was a success! The Daiya cheese kind of released more oil than I would have liked while it cooked or maybe I just greased my pan too much out of my  fear of “food sticking to pans”. Is there a name for that kind of phobia? Whatever the reason, I baked it for about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for in order to get rid of some of that extra oil. Didn’t really work, but the dish was still delicious!

IMG_4399 _SnapseedWe ate this for two meals (dinner the night I made it and lunch the next day). It reminded me of quiche and was so tasty that when we finished off the pie, I wanted more. But best of all (ahem, Oprah) no cows or chickens were harmed for my taste buds.

Verdict: I’ll make this again but will probably experiment with the amount of Daiya and vegetables.

6 thoughts on “Veganized Zucchini Pie from Oprah

Leave a Reply

