Weekend Update

What I did this past weekend:

Tried to finish some knitting projects, but did not succeed. The yarn I am using is cotton based, no wool for me!
IMG_0237 _Snapseed

Went to a vegan bake sale. A lot of stuff had sold before we got there, but we got to see Neal’s work on a postcard/flyer andย still came home with some goodies (they melted a little because we were on bikes).vegan_bake_sale_2013

Went to the co-op to get some stuff from bulk and ended up trying this new popcorn from Earth Balance (it’s good!) and rehydrating with coconut water.sevenanda

Rode bikes everywhere.IMG_0279 IMG_0288 _Snapseed

Had to do some work. Boo.IMG_0323 _Snapseed

And ate some food:

Left over Mellow Mushroom pizza (vegan) with some ginger ale.

IMG_0321 _Snapseed

Homemade vegan Ethiopian food from a student…one of the few perks of being a teacher!IMG_0230 _Snapseed

Game of Thrones night meal…mock chicken wings, mashed taters and asparagus.IMG_0204 _SnapseedWe also went to a raw restaurant over the weekend, but I’ll blog about that in a separate post because I am tired and have to get ready for the grind tomorrow. The grind is work and tomorrow is today since I am not posting this until tomorrow which will actually be today if you read this Monday. Ya follow?

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!

13 thoughts on “Weekend Update

    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yeah, Neal was joking that I should make it abundantly clear to this student that they could “buy” their grade in my class by bringing me more food. Of course, I would never do that…or would I?? j/k It was super delicious though and I am hoping this student brings me more ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yeah, we totally were being lazy on Saturday and didn’t get there until like 2:30pm and so much stuff had already sold! Maybe I’ll catch you at the next vegan event!

      Reply
  1. Molly

    What is it that you teach? Both of my parents were educators. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wonderful that one of your students gave you some homemade Ethiopian food!

    I’m jealous of you & Neal being able to ride your bikes and all the green there. It’s still cold & drab here. I miss my bike! We’re also hoping to find that popcorn soon. It sounds great!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I teach high school science. I am very lucky that I have awesome students, not only because they bring me goodies, but they are just really nice kids.

      Until this weekend, I had not ridden my bike in a looooooooong time, so it was nice to get out. Hope the weather gets warmer where you are so you can ride soon as well.

      Reply
  2. Richgail Enriquez

    I love Ethiopian food but not familiar with the pink part, which one is that? Also those cookies with 2 icing look soo good!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I don’t think it’s common at Ethiopian restaurants, but the pink parts are beets. Those and the yellow lentils that this student’s mom makes are my favorite!

      And yes, the cookies were probably my favorite of our bake sale goodies.

      Reply
  3. Starr

    Looks like a great area for cycling. My city is so vertical, you’re always going up or down a hill (usually up)… Love the colour of the (is it a?) scarf you’re knitting!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! It is a scarf. It will probably be finished when I won’t even need it (i.e. summer!)..but that is how it tends to go with me and knitting projects.

      I hate hills too. Atlanta is pretty hilly but we’ve found some shortcuts and less hilly paths to the places we frequent. The good part of going uphill though is that they become down hill on the ride home, so there’s always that too look forward to. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

