Shall we have some lemon cakes?

IMG_3924 _Snapseed

Lady Olenna: “Lemon cake Sansa?”

Sansa:  “Sure, why not? My life is shit.”

Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 10.27.50 AM 1 _Snapseed

still from hbogo.com

Lady Margaery:  “Do you like them? They’re vegan.”

Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 10.28.00 AM 1 _Snapseed

still from hbogo.com

Ok, so that’s not how it really went down on Game of Thrones this past Sunday. In fact, Lady Olenna and Lady Margaery are only feeding Sansa her favorite cake in order to get the dirt on Joffrey and I’m pretty confident that the cakes weren’t vegan. But seeing them made me want to eat lemon cake! Does this ever happen to anyone else?

I followed the lemon bar recipe from Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s Joy of Vegan Baking in order to get that shiny, jelly look of the GOT cakes (that’s Game of Thrones for you newbs). I made the crust as is. However, I doubled the filling recipe and stirred in blueberries. As a result, I had to bake it a little longer than the recipe stated. This was enough to fill 11 muffin tins (though I did have some filling left over).IMG_3945 _Snapseed

These were just what I wanted! A soft lemony filling over a shortbread-like cookie crust. As I ate them I could just imagine myself sitting down with Sansa in a proper fancy dress, cracking up as we reminisced about that time Joffrey cried like a little baby when he got a “scratch” from Nymeria (Nymeria is a direwolf guys, stay with me).

As lovely as these lemon bar/cakes came out, they were a pain to release from the tin. Probably because there was so much side contact between the tin and the filling. Note, the original recipe says to use an 8×8 pan, so this was all on me. As proof, here is a side shot. Notice the empty spot on the bottom right. Yeah, that’s where some of the crust got stuck on the tin. Don’t worry, no crumb was left uneaten.

IMG_3948 _Snapseed

12 thoughts on “Shall we have some lemon cakes?

  1. Amanda

    Your pictures are gorgeous! I gotta make these. Also, I’m still reading the second GoT book, so I’m behind on the television series, sadly.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I know it’s nuts! We were watching that episode and when the cakes show up, all I can think about is how I want lemon cake. But I am a sucker for cakes, pies, cookies…all that sweet stuff that’s not good for me 🙂

      Reply
  2. * Vegan Sparkles *

    haha, as they say: never question your source of inspiration!… or something like that…
    I’ve never watched GOT but these cakes are inspiring me to! How’s that for the beautiful circle of life and inspiration? 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      So true! I’ve been trying to incorporate more zen practices into my life and that has just made me more aware of everything in the present moment (including what characters eat on tv 🙂 ). Definitely leads to more inspiration!

      Reply
  3. Vegan Rabbit

    Holy crap that looks delicious! And we can pretend that the lemon cakes on Game of Thrones were vegan. I’m a huge nerd and love playing The Sims 2 (never 3! neverrrrr!!!!) and I always pretend that the food they eat is vegan — of instance, I imagine that the turkey dinner is a Tofurky dinner. I have the “pets” expansion pack and have taken out all the pet stores and my sims just adopt the dogs and cats on the street. So those were totally vegan lemon cakes on Game of Thrones. 😀

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Ha ha! I like the way you think! I like to think that all the food I see on tv/movies and in games is vegan too. And if you don’t mind me asking, what is wrong with Sims 3? I don’t play either but am curious what would cause such a reaction. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Vegan Rabbit

        Oh haha, The Sims 3 all the people look too cartoonish. I dunno. I just liked the way The Sims 2 people look more. They look more realistic. And you need to start playing the sims! Wait, on second thought, don’t. It will consume every aspect of your life and you will become obsessed! I’ve been able to find a happy balance but gosh when I first started playing it I seriously would play for hours and hours at a time. It was like how I was with Pokemon as a kid (and I will totally kick anyone’s butt at Pokemon and Mario Kart 64)!

        Reply
  4. Pingback: Vegangrams |

Leave a Reply

