For the Ladies Only! Seriously. This is About Menstrual Cups.

On average, a woman can use as many as 16,800 tampons during her lifetime (source). According to the US Census Bureau, there are about 157 million females in the US. About 53% of that population is of the age where they are menstruating. This means, that over the next 40 or so years, landfills could acquire about 1,400,000,000,000 tampons.

To reduce my “tampon” footprint, I’ve been using a menstrual cup for the past 6 years. I recently had to purchase another because I lost my old one. I thought it would be a good time to post a picture of it before I used it because they do get stained and erm, I’m not sure I want a photo of that on the interwebs.

I use a Moon Cup made of silicone but there are other options. In fact, I found an entire blog dedicated to menstrual cups, though I don’t know whether all the cups listed are vegan.

Here’s what a brand new Moon Cup looks like. It comes with a reusable pouch to carry it in.

IMG_2716 _Snapseed

It was scary the first time I used it, but once I got the hang of it, it was no big deal. The great thing about my Moon Cup, in addition to it being eco-friendly, is that I don’t have to empty it nearly as often as I have to change tampons. Depending on my flow, I can go up to 8 hours before changing it. According to the Moon Cup website, it can hold up to 3X the amount as a super plus tampon.

Here’s a snapshot of one way to insert it.

IMG_2733 _Snapseed

My go-to method is the “punch and fold” as shown here.

shellfold

Image from Lunette Cups website (click on the picture for more insertion methods)

In addition to being a good steward for the environment, I’m saving money by using this. I also like the fact that I am not putting myself at risk for Toxic Shock Syndrome (TSS) and for me, the Moon Cup is more comfortable overall.

20 thoughts on “For the Ladies Only! Seriously. This is About Menstrual Cups.

  1. Kate

    Great post! I’ve been using a Diva cup for close to a decade and have never had issues. Like you said, it is a conscious way to reduce your footprint and also save money. Women who are already using the applicator-less tampons should have an easy transition, although it’s not difficult to use in general.

    Reply
  2. A Tablespoon of Liz

    I give you major props for using this. I always put a conscious effort into being more eco friendly, but I don’t know if this is a step I could take. I think I’d just get to paranoid it get dislodged or something like that. I know that’s probably an irrational fear, but I dunno, haha.

    Reply
    1. Becky

      I hear ya! It took me ages to take the plunge with the cup. Diva Cup will refund your money if you don’t like it, so you could give it a go and see! Just like with tampons, you have to learn how to insert it, and then you’re good to go! They look really big, but they’re actually not any bigger than an…er…”saturated” tampon. 🙂

      Reply
    2. goodstorysarah

      Liz, I’ve been using my cup for two years and its never felt like it was going to fall or it hasn’t moved. It was kind of scary and awkward to use it at first, but now I hardly notice that I have my period because you don’t have to worry about changing tampons every few hours. I wear if while I’m working out and running too. And no leakage!

      Reply
  3. Becky

    Yay for cups! I love my Diva Cup. Once you get past the initial ick factor, it’s SO much better than tampons. Plus, I only change my Diva once, maybe twice a day. Low maintenance!

    Reply
  4. Richgail Enriquez

    Oh wow I haven’t heard about this product before. Thanks for sharing. I’ve been wondering how I could be more eco-friendly without having to compromise leak protection. This sounds like the answer. The fact that you’ve been using this for 6 years is what makes it convincing. I”ll buy one soon. Thanks again.

    Reply
  5. goodstorysarah

    I use the Diva Cup too and I love it! Tampons are expensive and the cup saves so much money every month! Maybe thia is TMI but i used to wear a panty liner when I wore tampons because I didn’t trust them. I don’t have to so that now at all. Yay for reducing our tampon footprints!

    Reply
  6. kellysiew

    Wow. Umm… Not sure if I could deal with the removal and the cleaning (even being a medical practitioner myself). So it’s comfortable? I’m a little bit traditional and still using pads (don’t like the idea of TSS).

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans

      Yeah, it does take some getting used to, but since I don’t have to empty mine much I can usually do the removal and cleaning from the comfort of my own home as opposed to at work. For me, its definitely comfortable. I don’t notice it the way I notice tampons.

      Reply
    1. luminousvegans

      That is great! When you get it, the stem can be trimmed to personalize yo’ insides :-). But definitely wear it first with full stem attached, b/c once it’s cut…
      The first one I owned, I trimmed the stem, but this new one for some reason feels just fine with the stem untrimmed.

      Reply
  7. Molly

    Wonderful post! I used the Keeper for 10 years and have been using a Diva Cup for the last few years. They’re so much better than tampons in many ways.

    Reply
  8. cameraphonevegan

    i bought the disposable ones on a whim once at the drug store to see what i though of the whole procedure. i had a couple of failed insertions, so i kind of forgot about it. someone just reminded me recently, and i was thinking i might order one. i’ve heard a lot of good things about the diva cup too.

    Reply
  9. Theresa

    I’ve used a diva cup for… 7 years? and I love it. I have travelled a few times and forgotten to bring it, so used tampons instead, and that always really reaffirms my decision to switch.

    Reply
  10. Richgail Enriquez

    I just bought one and I’m loving it. It’s so comfortable! Thanks so much for the recommendation. I also love your diy lemon facial scrub, thanks for the tips.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yeah, it is a great product. I have to investigate whether they have different sizes because mine has been not holding as much as normal (sorry if that is TMI). They are definitely worth the investment though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

