Here is some food

Eating, I do that. Blogging…..not so much.

I’ve been mulling blog post ideas in my head over the past few days. Should I take up right where I left off and not make a fuss or should I explain my absence?  Did anyone even notice I was gone? The thing is, I have no good reason or story as to why I haven’t blogged in so long other than my head just wasn’t in the right place.

The more I mulled, the more insurmountable and scary blogging (something that should be fun and easy) seemed.

Today I woke up and decided to stop mulling and try to get my blogging mojo back. So here’s some food. Because really, it’s all about the food.

Spinach dip  and veggies. The dip was just “enh”. I don’t think I’ll make this one again.

IMG_2234 _Snapseed

Thanksliving meal. Clockwise from noon: stuffing (bag from co-op), cinnamon yams with vegan marshmallows, steamed seitan (from Terry Hope Romero) with homemade mushroom gravy, homemade cranberry sauce and green beans sautéed with grape tomatoes.

IMG_2320 _Snapseed

Banana pudding: two packs of vanilla pudding layered with vanilla cookies and bananas over and over again and then refrigerated so the cookies got soft. Once scooped, it got all messy and not “picture pretty” but it was oh-so tasty!!

IMG_2375 _Snapseed

A pizza based on the Romesco Pizza with Carmelized Onions and Squash from PPK. Ours came out less red looking because I don’t think we used as many red peppers.  It was still delicious!

IMG_1891 _Snapseed

Veggie stew made in the crock pot with beans, tomatoes, onions, potatoes, okra, bell peppers and squash.

IMG_2417 _Snapseed

Shepherd’s pie: the bottom layer was a stew-y, tomato-y ,”meat-y”, pea and carrot mixture similar to this, and the top layer was mashed taters. We sprinkled Daiya on top and ate it with biscuits. A yellow/beige meal= comfort.

IMG_1764 _Snapseed

Roasted acorn squash. The filling is couscous mixed with Earth Balance, cinnamon, brown sugar, dried cherries, and diced apples.

IMG_2110 _Snapseed

N made this when we visited my sis and her family who are not vegan. He pulled an iron chef and made an amazing meal with a mish-mash of stuff they had in the pantry/fridge. I was VERY skeptical. He made polenta (from corn grits) topped with sautéed with green beans, canned corn, and some leftover gimme lean sausage. He topped it with some pre made pico de gallo/salsa stuff.  I will never doubt N’s culinary finesse again. Ever.

Image 1 _Snapseed

My sis who is so very awesome and accommodating to our vegan freak selves, made us this vegan breakfast. Clockwise from noon: gimme lean sausage, hash browns, and peanut butter coconut swirl pancakes from Oh She Glows. I believe my sis subbed applesauce for the egg replacer and it came out so so yummy! I am definitely going to be making these myself soon.

Image _Snapseed

The end.

8 thoughts on “Here is some food

  1. Molly

    Glad to see you blogging again! I think a lot of bloggers get into a funk this time of year, for some reason.

    All of the food looks great, but that pudding and pancakes your sis made look really wow! I’m going to bookmark that recipe right now.

    Reply
  2. Cadry's Kitchen

    So much deliciousness! There’s a lot of warming comfort food there. I especially like the looks of the Thanksliving meal & the shepherd’s pie. I’m glad to see you back again! Sometimes it’s good to take a break and come back with fresh eyes. Now that you’ve broken into the first post after a stretch, hopefully the next one will come easier! 🙂

    Reply
  3. A Tablespoon of Liz

    I’m the same way!! I love to eat, but I just never get around to blogging about it. All of your eats look amazing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

