Never forget

I debated writing this post because I try to keep things light and palatable over here. But knowing the truth is why this blog exists in the first place. It is also what has made me a more compassionate human.

While N and I do celebrate the “stuff your face” holiday, its true origin is not lost on us.

Image from Seattle’s David Horsey, cartoons and commentary. Click pic.

I think (hope) most people celebrate this holiday, not to commemorate an oppressive time in American history, but rather to spend time with family and to give thanks.

Unfortunately, the holiday built on oppression perpetuates oppression.

Image from Dan Piraro of Bizarro Comics. Click pic.

So when I embraced veganism and Thanksgiving eventually rolled around, I felt I had two options:

1) Don’t celebrate and perhaps lose what little credibility I had left as a “normal human” to non-vegans (i.e. potential future vegans), most of which was lost when I became vegan. The result of this would be that all words coming out of my mouth or from my fingers would be interpreted as “I am crazy, I am crazy, I am crazy…”.

OR….

2) Eat, drink and be merry vegan-style and then blog about it. It’s a win-win. I won’t lose my non-vegan street cred, and therefore, potential future vegans will be more open to seeing that being compassionate does not mean completely foregoing all “traditions” or yummy food (yummy food post to follow). ¬†Plus, I get to eat lots of gravy.

I chose option 2.

Hi friend. Happy Thanksliving!

Image from Respecting Animals. Click pic.

Click here to get a little insight into the emotional lives of these beautiful animals at Peaceful Prairie Sanctuary.

7 thoughts on “Never forget

  1. the bear and the blackberry

    I like option two a lot as well, we just chose to abandon/switch out the holiday’s title because Thanksgiving just has too many negative connotations attached to it… what with the raping and pillaging of the Native Americans and then the mass speciescide of turkeys every year! So we decided to start afresh and anew with Gratitude Day! Only positive, good vibing, vegan connotations attached to it for us! ; ) Happy Gratitude Day to you and your family too! I hope you have an awesome one : )

    Reply
  2. Laloofah

    This post is wonderful! Great message, nicely shared. I love Bizarro, and am always delighted to see Peaceful Prairie, so near and dear to my heart, get a shout-out! Respecting Animals is new to me, so thanks for posting that beautiful photo and the link.

    Choice #2 is an excellent one, and I look forward to seeing your yummy food! Enjoy!

    Reply
  3. Maggie Muggins

    I feel the same way about this as I do Christmas, I don’t agree/believe in where it stems from, but will turn it into an opportunity to love, spend time with and appreciate my family and friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

