Lip service

I’ve tried going cold tofurkey. I’ve tried weaning myself off it slowly. But to no avail, my lips crave lip balm at all times. As such, I’m a bit hopelessly dependent on the stuff and have tried many. The usual balms in rotation (from most favorite to least favorite) include Karite LipsHurraw, and The Merry Hempsters.

Lip balm, like so many beauty products, is such a personal thing. N loves the Merry Hempsters, but it’s my least favorite because it’s way too thin and doesn’t last. I, on the other hand, really like Karite Lips while N hates it because it’s on the waxy side which makes it long-lasting for me. Hurraw is in the middle because it’s on the thin side but it’s longer lasting than Merry Hempsters (less than Karite Lips) and it has fun flavors.

However, I recently rediscovered the bestest lip balm ever from the small, local and independent company Crazy Rumors. I waited a month after I bought these to post about them, so I could be certain that this balm is da bomb and it is. It’s not thin, nor super waxy. It’s creamy and goes on super smooth like vegan buttah! And it lasts at least 2-3+ hours  even at work where I do more talking than normal (the ultimate test for me).

These smell so delicious that I reapply frequently, even when my lips aren’t dry, because this is probably more socially acceptable than sniffing on a tube of lip balm all day like a crazy person.

I had fun arranging my preciouses for this photo!

My favorite flavors are black cherry soda, cola, and orange creamsicle. Since these are now my numero uno lip balm, they get the privilege of being on my nightstand. And in my purse, my car, my pocket, my drawer at work…

*Just a little side note: all products on this blog are products bought with our own money and they are products we like and use on a regular basis or just wanna try out. We put links to these products in case you wanna try them out too. I won’t mention this again though I added this note to my “About” section. I just wanted it to be clear that no one is giving me free stuff or paying me to “like” their products.*
11 thoughts on “Lip service

  1. Richgail Enriquez

    It’ll last for more than 3 hours? That’s awesome! I usually don’t like lip balms because I had to keep reapplying them so it’s great to know this one has a lasting effect… I know what you mean about product reviews. I finally gave in and welcomed a company to send me stuff, but it’s still my own opinion 😉 Anyway, I’ll try this lip balm.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It is noticeable on the lips for at least 2 hours. But I find I don’t have to reapply for up to 3 hours or more because with continuous use my lips just aren’t dry and chappy, ya know?

      Reply
  2. Starr

    Crazy Rumors is the only lip balm I use, and I’m never without it. Like you, I’ve stashed them everywhere :-)… Tried Hurraw! and liked the texture, but for some reason it tickles my throat and makes me cough. Weird.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Oh no, that is strange about the Hurraw lip balm. Must be something in their ingredients. I like the Hurraw texture too and the shape of the balm container b/c it made it easier to stay in my pocket, but Crazy Rumors is still better for my lips.

      Reply
  3. The Opinioness of the World

    After searching for years for a vegan lip balm that 1) smelled good, 2) tasted good, 3) felt creamy on my super dry lips and 4) lasted for a few hours, I FINALLY stumbled upon Crazy Rumors a couple years ago. I will never use another lip balm. It’s the only one that meets all my criteria. My fave flavor is Mint Chocolate and with French Vanilla a close second. Love them so much!

    Reply
  4. Rachel in Veganland

    I’ve had such a hard time finding vegan lip balms! I’ve used the Karite one and it worked well for me, but lately I’ve been using Soothing Touch’s lemon cardamom which is fantastic!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Friday Favorites «

  6. Pingback: Happy Birthday Dough Bakery! |

Leave a Reply

