Future Food

In the year 2000…everyone will eat bowls of slop that are nutritionally dense.

Photo courtesy of NBC

After persuading N to eat this chia pudding, he boldly called it “future food” because he thinks this is what people in the future will eat on a regular basis. In researching the nutritional content of chia for this post, I actually found this article that does call it the “food of the future”. Plus, this weekend I saw Prometheus (which takes place in the future) and I swear in one scene, someone was eating chia oatmeal. And movies don’t lie.

Chia seeds are indeed packed with lots of good stuff and this dish is tasty and easy to make. All I do is mix 2 tablespoons of chia seeds with about 1 cup of almond milk, some cinnamon and a touch of maple syrup or agave in a jar and leave it in the fridge overnight. This is a larger batch that I made.

In the morning, the chia seeds have soaked long enough to get semi-soft and gelatinous, creating a pudding-ish type consistency. In fact I have made chocolate chia pudding before (click here) that is equally delicious.

I’ve been topping it with different fresh fruits in the morning and having it for breakfast. It is a great way to start my day.

What do you think might be some far off future food trends?

15 thoughts on “Future Food

  1. goodstorysarah

    I saw Prometheus this weekend too! It was a really beautiful movie!

    I’ve been putting about a 1/4 cup of chia seeds in my smoothies in the morning. They are awesome!

    Reply
  2. thisismyeverest

    Yum! I have a hard time with the chia puddings because it seems like half gets gelatinous and the other half remains soupy. I still eat (err…drink) the soupy part though because chia seeds are delish!

    Reply
  3. Richgail Enriquez

    “And movies don’t lie” lol. Your posts are always entertaining to read. Plus, I get to learn about amazing easy recipes like Chia seeds pudding. I just recently bought Chia seeds without any idea what to do with them. Now I might have to make them as part of my morning routine.

    Reply
  4. Elizabeth

    Wow, I’m going to have to try this. I’ve just recently started using chia seeds, but I usually only add them to my fresh-squeezed fruit juice. Thanks for the great idea!

    Reply
  5. Rachel in Veganland

    Haha! Just saw Prometheus too!!! And I’ve got to make some chia pudding in honor of it!!!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Vegan Weekly Roundup | The Peaceful Pantry

Leave a Reply

