Eggless-cellent salad

I am a diehard fan of all dishes creamy and salady, two things that can be a vegan challenge. Inspired by this recipe from Nava Atlas, I whipped up this tasty eggless “egg” salad and I’ve been nomming on it for the past day. The ingredients are approximations, so adjust the seasonings as your mouth sees fit.

Eggless salad sprinkled with paprika atop a bed of mixed greens and sunflower sprouts.

In a food processor, I blended one 14 oz can of rinsed and drained chickpeas, 1 scant tbs of vegenaise, 1 tbs of nooch (nutritional yeast), 1 1/2 tbs of lemon juice, 2 tbs of sweet relish, 1 tsp of dijon mustard, a dash of turmeric, about 1/2-1 tsp of black salt (Kala Namak) and black pepper to taste.

I transferred the mixture to a mixing bowl and added 1 chopped stalk of green onions and

one package of extra firm silken tofu drained and diced. I slowly folded the onions and tofu into the “eggy” mixture because I didn’t want the tofu to break up too much.

This is what the final product looked like. The chickpeas are the “yolk” and the silken tofu bits are the “boiled egg whites”.

This is an eggless-cellent version of the omni egg salad. The texture and taste is spot on. The “eggy” taste comes from the  black salt which is not actually black in color  (it is pinkish) and adds a sulfury taste to dishes.  I used about 1/2-1 tsp of black salt in this, adding small bits at a time and tasting it as I went b/c this stuff is strong. Thanks to abracapocus, I was able to find black salt for a whopping 99 cents at Taj Mahal Imports.

Eggless salad sandwich mixed with sunflower sprouts with a side of chips and homemade peach pico de gallo.

I loved egg salad pregan and this definitely satisfies that taste for me. I’ve had it atop greens and in a sammich and I still have some left over for another sandwich or salad. N hates creamy-salady stuff, so this one’s all for me!

Are there any dishes/foods that you love that your partner (friend, roommate, sister, brother, etc..) hates (and hence you get to hoard it all to yourself)?

Know of any other ingredients, like black salt, that magically transform a dish?

19 thoughts on “Eggless-cellent salad

  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    What a great idea to use a mixture of chickpeas for the dense creaminess and silken tofu for the soft white portion. I’ve had black salt for years now. I got it when Vegan Brunch came out because everyone was talking about it. Then somehow I never cracked it open to use it! My husband isn’t into salad sandwiches either, and so I’ve got to try this recipe when he’s out. There are actually quite a few things I get to hoard to myself because he’s not into them – sauerkraut, olives, and gravy are the first that come to mind.

    Reply
  2. Cheerfully Vegan

    This looks marvelous! I like the idea of using the bean mix to recreate the yolks. I guess that means my recipe is more of an egg-white salad copy. lol

    My husband is the same was Cadry’s is – with many things he isn’t interested in like hummus, rice, cooked cereals, coconut milk, fruit ice “creams,” etc. Fortunately (or unfortunately), I have at least 1 hungry teenage boy who likes just about everything I do, so I still “get” to share. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Amy

    This is a lovely recipe for a warm day lunch! The peach pico de gallo sounds dekicios, too. My husband does not like mangoes or leftovers, which is great for me!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Friday Favorites

  5. goodstorysarah

    I totally made this tonight! I omitted the onions and it was still delightful! It’s strange how eggy it actually tastes and feels. Oddly enough Eric and I keep black salt stocked in our kitchen! Sometimes we use it in tofu scramble.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Eggless salad from Luminous Vegans! « Goodstorysarah.

  7. Kinenchen

    This is awesome! I can always detect “eggyness” in things when people serve me something that they claim is vegan and then… isn’t. Reproducing it is actually very appealing. As for seasonings that can instantly transform: smoked paprika!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: What you can do with Chickpeas | ASTIG Vegan

  9. Pingback: What we’re eating. . . « Former Fish Taco Fanatic

  10. allovepunk

    Thank you SO much for this recipe. I just made this for three carnivorous men. None of them knew it was vegan until I told them (after they were done eating) . LOVE this recipe!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: 3 Delicious Recipes with Chickpeas - ASTIG Vegan

Leave a Reply

