Steel here, steel vegan

After partying hard over spring break, I got hit with reality and have been super-cali-fragilistic-busy.  I didn’t even get a chance to blog about my meet up with fellow Atlantan bloggers Former Fish Taco Fanatic and Adrienne from Crack the plates. So goes the story of my life…play hard, work harder! But I’m still here and I’ve been eating and taking pics.

For this dainty breakfast, I basically followed the directions on the can. I boiled 4 cups of water and tossed in a cup of these steel cut oats

When the porridge started to thicken, I stirred in some maple syrup (1-2 tablespoons) to sweeten it up. Then I stirred in a bunch of dried currants (seen below), some cinnamon, nutmeg and dash of allspice. I turned down the heat and let it simmer until it was all super porridgy.

When it was done, I mixed it with some almond milk (about a cup).

In the words of Goldilocks, “Ahh, this porridge is just nom!”. Wait, that doesn’t seem right.

11 thoughts on “Steel here, steel vegan

  1. Starr

    I love oatmeal, but have yet to try the steel cut variety… I’ll have to try it soon, because the texture looks amazing in your picture.

    Reply
  2. Richgail Enriquez

    I’m glad that you’re “steel here” with awesome vegan recipes like this one. I should come back to eating breakfasts again, your recipe is so tempting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

