Portabellingtons

Sorta like beef wellington but with portabellas.
4 easy steps for “portabellingtons”:
  1. Buy vegan friendly puff pastry shells and cook according to the package.
  2. Drizzle olive oil on some sliced portabellos, sprinkle them with salt and pepper and roast them in the oven while the puff pastries are puffing.
  3. Meanwhile make a rue/gravy: Melt 2 tbs of margarine on medium heat, add 3-4 tbs of flour slowly until clumpy and then slowly mix in 1-2 cups of almond milk until thick. Throw in some frozen peas at the end.
  4. Fill cooked puff pastry shells with roasted portabellas and the pea/gravy mixture and devour.

Optional step:   If you have company (or even if you’re alone) be sure to speak in an English accent while serving/eating.
15 thoughts on “Portabellingtons

  1. emmycooks

    THIS is an awesome recipe. My husband and I once helped to test a bunch of recipes for a vegetarian cookbook and making the Portobella Wellington took about a zillion steps and FOUR HOURS. I thought I would never do it again but you’ve changed everything. And yours are so darn cute to boot!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you! I am all about shortcuts when I can. I admire those who have the time and energy to make everything from scratch but that is not my life 90% of the time and I still like to enjoy creative tasty meals.

      Rereading my blog post, I realize the gravy directions are kinda vague. We did add salt and pepper to flavor it along with some chopped roasted mushrooms.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

