I am vegan, hear me rawr!

Sometimes, I eat too much junk food.  At some point, my body starts hating me. To make amends with it, I eat more raw dishes like this Pad Thai recipe that I stumbled upon in the Feb VegNews.

The dish includes all sorts of good-for-you goodies like fresh ginger, raw almond butter, maple syrup, carrots, cabbage, red bell pepper, apple cider vinegar and something we have never tried before…kelp noodles!

I searched everywhere for these clear alien noodles and finally found some at Rainbow Grocery. On their own, the noodles don’t taste like much.

When they were mixed in with the raw sauce and all the veggies however, it was like a flavor bomb went off in my mouth! This dish excellently captured that yummy sweet and slightly sour essence of Pad Thai and was so fresh (right down to the homemade almond butter) and easy to put together.

For dessert, we kept in the raw spirit and had some chocolate chia pudding that we made from the fabulous Fresh Young Coconut. Chia seeds soak up liquids they sit in and if the right liquid to chia seed ratio is used, the result is a pudding- like texture with the slightest crunch from the seeds themselves. This pudding was all sorts of chocolatey-coconutty yum!

We sprinkled ours with some cacao nibs and topped it with fresh raspberries.

After rawmazing meals like this, I always feel “so fresh and so clean clean”.

20 thoughts on “I am vegan, hear me rawr!

  1. Vegan Flower

    I eat way too much junk food, too, but have been getting better about it.

    The Pad Thai looks awesome! I’ve never had kelp noodles, but have seen them on a few blogs. Such a great combo of ingredients in the dish.

    Reply
  2. Rachel in Veganland

    Wow! I’m trying to eat more raw foods as well, and both of these dishes look amazing! I’m really interested in making some noodley dishes with raw ingredients as noodles are one of my favorite things to eat! Your pudding also looks a-MAZ-ing! I love raw desserts more than I could possibly say, and chocolate and coconut? Why that’s just a win win win win dessert!!!

    Reply
  3. elle

    Niiice! I’ve actually seen kelp noodles in the market! So this is how could use them 😀
    and wait…you can actually make your own almond butter? O_O How? I should do that

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I just blended up some raw almonds in my vitamix. You do need a very powerful blender, otherwise it won’t be smooth. If you don’t have a high speed blender, some grocery stores have a nut grinder(?) where you can make your own fresh nut butter in the store and bring it home (similar to how you can grind whole coffee beans at the store).

      Reply
      1. elle

        oh, perfect! I was always thinking about it, but I wasn’t sure if I could do that. So I’ll just throw some almonds in my vitamix then! thanks! 😀

        Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          Yeah, you do have to blend it for awhile in order to release the almond oils. This can require turning the vitamix on and off intermittently for awhile. I got a bit lazy and didn’t quite get it to almond butter consistency…it was more like almond paste : -) but it didn’t really matter for the raw pad thai.

          Here’s pretty much what I did: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSNdjR-QWRU

          Reply
          1. elle

            Awesome, thanks a lot! Looks simple enough, I’ll have to give it a try. Actually…I’ve been hoping to try out cashew butter, too! (:

            Reply
  4. goodstorysarah

    The noodles look fabulous? Did you follow the recipe exactly or just wing it? I have the problem of just winging it sometimes.

    Today I made some chocolate chia pudding! I was craving it like mad after I saw this post!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Ch-ch-ch-chia pudding! | goodstorysarah

  6. Richgail Enriquez

    Yum. I’ve never heard of raw Pad Thai before. I’m so amaze by the many possibilities of raw cooking.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Future Food «

Leave a Reply

