Single stale bread ISO ripe bananas

We are both busy people. So busy that the food in our kitchen sometimes goes rogue. Take last weekend for example. A partially eaten loaf of bread and a pair of bananas in my kitchen were scheming to rot their way to mold and un-eatability. Luckily, we swooped in and had us an intervention.

This is the almost rogue, stale bread. I sliced sawed it into 1 inch thick slices and then quartered them.

I used my Vitamix to blend:  1 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup cashew cream, 2 ripe bananas, 1 flaxseed egg (1 tbs of ground flax seeds mixed with 3 tbs of water), a 1/4 cup of maple syrup, a 1/4 cup of agave, 1 tsp of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon.

I poured this sweet concoction over the bread.

I let the bread soak in the liquid for about 30 minutes. That bread needed to be taught a lesson.

I stirred in about 1 cup of chocolate chips and then used an ice scream scooper to scoop the bread soup into muffin tins. There was extra liquid leftover.

I baked it for about 30-40 minutes at 350 until they looked like this.

So, I was hoping for nice little portable bread pudding muffins, but they were way too gooey for that especially with the homemade icing (powdered sugar, vanilla and milk) on top. They tasted good…but dare I say they were *gasp* too sweet!

This is the inside. Nope, no more rogue. Looks like the intervention worked.

This “recipe” needs work for sure. I would most definitely reduce the sweetener in the liquid next time, and if I’m saying that, trust me, it’s a little too sweet.

Later that night, I decided to have my bread puffins with almond-coconut milk to help offset the sweetness.

I poured about a cup of  it over the deconstructed bread puffins and THIS was the winning combo!!

Can’t go wrong with bananas, chocolate and almond/coconut milk. That’ll teach that bread to go rogue all up in my kitchen!

This experiment was inspired by Veganshiela’s banana bread muffins and Isa’s bread pudding in Veganomicon.

29 thoughts on “Single stale bread ISO ripe bananas

  1. Rachel in Veganland

    wow! these look delicious! I’ll definitely try this next time I have a baguette around the house. This looks so sophisticated… it might possibly appear at a vegan birthday tea party soon…

    Reply
  2. sarpreet

    I was reading your post as I was having my breakfast, and as I got through your post, my oatmeal kept getting less appealing and I wanted to have what was in your pictures instead. I need to try this!

    Reply
  3. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    Stale bread is almost better than fresh bread- At least, when it comes to baking and cooking ingredients! It’s just so versatile. I like the sweet direction you took it in here. Sounds like an excellent way to use up a bunch of pantry staples all in one go.

    Reply
  4. Vegan Flower

    Oh my dog, you’re a genius! I’m so amazed at how others can come up with such fantastic things like this. Next time I have some stale bread & bananas lying around, I’m going to have to whip these up. Yum!!!

    Reply
  5. Starr

    I’ll have to keep these in mind for my dad. He loves bread pudding, but his slop never looks appealing. On the other hand, your personal puddings look delicious!

    Reply
  6. mskristiina

    I adore your writing style. I never have bread around (being GF) but this was still such a pleasure to read. ❤

    Reply
  7. Gabby

    Ohhhh my this looks good! I haven’t been able to find that almond coconut milk unfortunately, but glad to see it yields delicious results!

    Reply
  8. midwestvaygun

    OMG yum! i’ve never made bread pudding before- i wonder if GF bread would work too? when i have a plethora of overripe bananas i just throw them whole into the freezer. when i need them i run them under hot water to loosen the skin, slice off the top and squeeze the banana goo out.

    Reply
  9. Richgail Enriquez

    What a great way to transform leftover bread into a decadent dessert. You’re right, can’t go wrong with the banana-chocolate-milk combo.

    Reply
  10. idreamofgreenie

    If stale bread is wrong, then I don’t want to be right… I love the idea to bake them into individual muffin tins. Though I know I would abuse the portion control mentality by going back for seconds and thirds!

    Reply
  11. crunchyhipandbroke

    Looks delicious! Ollie and I love sweets, but bread pudding very rarely happens since we never seem to have stale bread lying around and all brownish bananas immediately get turned into ice cream. I’m going to have to keep tiny (and large man sized) hands off a few of these items and give this concept a go. 🙂

    Reply
  12. bonnevivante

    Wow these look amazing! I haven’t been able to wean myself off of butter and eggs in my baking yet.

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Through the Looking Glass (A Day in the Life): Wednesday in Wonderland | Rachel in Veganland

  14. Pingback: Tea Party Delights: Vegan Bread Pudding | Rachel in Veganland

Leave a Reply

