Beef chili mac…it’s NOT what’s for dinner

As duly noted by Vegansaurus, Rachael Ray’s recipes are really easy to veganize. Yes, the woman is the antithesis of vegan, but the following dish is based on her recipe  and I have to give the lady credit lest I get sued. Maybe she’ll read my blog and realize she should join the dark enlightened side. In any case, here is my tweaked veganized version:

I used quinoa noodles for the first time, which I found out about from Vegan Goddess.

I also busted out the ol’ indoor grill pan to grill corn on the cob. Things got real smoky up in here!

While the pasta and corn were cooking I whisked up the sauce in a big bowl. Note, these are approximations. Please, always taste it with your mouth to ensure maximum flavor explosion :

1-2 tbsp of olive oil
1-2 tbsp of lime juice
1-2 tsp of cumin
1 tbsp of chili powder
1 dash of cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste

After the pasta was done, I threw it in the bowl that had the sauce and then added in:

freshly chopped cilantro (about a handful)
thinly sliced red onions (1/2 of a large one)
1/2 can of kidney beans
1/2 can of black beans
shavings from the grilled corn on the cob
 and chopped fresh tomatoes (about 2-3)

I mixed it all up and there you have it…VEGAN chili mac salad without the dead cow. I ate mine with fresh avocado and tofutti sour cream. My verdict on the quinoa noodles…they are delicious and taste different (in the best possible way) from regular noods.

It was quick, it was easy and it was tasty. What more could I ask for? Oh yeah. Dear Rachael Ray, will you please consider going vegan for the animals, your health and the planet?
17 thoughts on “Beef chili mac…it’s NOT what’s for dinner

  1. thisismyeverest

    THIS SOUNDS AWESOME. I might have to do this tonight or tomorrow. I have almost everything on hand… minus the corn and onion, and I’d have to sub in regular noodles. Looks so tasty…now I’m hungry.

    Reply
  2. Rachel in Veganland

    Woo hoo! The exact same noodles i used for the vegan mac and cheese. They’re great and I think some of the tastiest I’ve had yet! This looks so tasty, especially with all the veggies that you used! (gotta love avocado!) Thanks for the recipe share!

    Reply
  3. Richgail Enriquez

    YUM! Quinoa noodles-another vegan staple I should try. The discoveries are endless when I’m reading your blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

