Chick-peace salad

I used to love, love, love (!) tuna salad pre-vegan days.  Luckily somebody discovered that mashed chickpeas, seaweed and some other stuff gives the same taste without the murder and mercury. There are a ton of recipes for chickpea salads out there in the internets. Here’s what I did with what I had in my fridge and pantry.

I used a fork to roughly mash/flake a can of drained chickpeas (15 oz?). (Note to self, try making chickpeas this way next time)

I threw in about 2 stalks of chopped celery, 2 stems of chopped green onions, 1-2 tbsp of freshly minced dill, 1-2 tbsp of vegan mayo, 1 tsp of dijon mustard, 1 1/2 tsp of lemon juice,

and 1 heaping tbsp of nori roll flakes.  To “make” nori roll flakes,  I took about 2 sheets of seaweed, ripped them up and put them in the magic bullet…voila…seaweed flakes.

I stirred it all up and added salt and pepper to taste.  I started to eat it straight out of the bowl because it was so nom, but since it was 8pm and I hadn’t eaten dinner I thought “better do up something a little more substantial like a sammich”.

Alas, there was no bread in the house (sad face).  So instead, I spread some out on some nori rolls and had little salad rolls using up some leftover veggies in the fridge (happy face).

I used cucumbers, carrots, sprouts and avocados in my rolls.  (For more creative ideas for salad rolls, check out Turning Veganese’s salad rolls, yum!).

I made about 3 large salad rolls with my chickpea salad and I had enough leftover for a small afternoon snack the next day!

I’ve made this salad numerous times, and each time has been slightly different depending on what I had on hand.  The key to this salad for me is the seaweed and the dill…without that, it doesn’t quite have that “tuna salad” taste.  If I don’t have fresh dill, I sometimes use the pickle relish.

N never liked tuna salad pre-vegan days (b/c of the mayo), so this one’s all for me…holla!

35 thoughts on “Chick-peace salad

  1. Richgail Enriquez

    “Murder and Mercury,” ha! I feel ya on the bread situation. Don’t you hate it when you’re all done then you find out you’re missing something to go with your dish? I often find I’m out of rice when I’m done making Filipino food. Anyway, the beauty of being vegan is it makes us more creative and resourceful-often resulting to something innovative like your chic-peace! Yum!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yes, I agree. Being vegan has not only expanded my taste buds (yeah, never had hummus before being vegan…*holds head down in shame*),but it has helped me be more creative with foods.

      Reply
  2. midwestvaygun

    i used to LURVE tuna fish, too! i’ve made curried chickpea salad sandwiches before, and tofu ‘crab’ cakes, but i never thought to use chickpeas in place of tuna! also, for some reason i loved mine with tons of dill pickles, potato chips, and yellow mustard- i guess it’s time to get reacquainted!

    Reply
  3. mskristiina

    Nori is a good idea! I’m GF so I’m always looking for bread replacements. I can bake a pretty decent loaf but it doesn’t last more than a day.

    Thanks!

    Reply
  4. Molly

    This looks great! I’m going to have to try this out. I’ve made chickpea salad before, but not like this (mine was much more blah). Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yes! It’s great for quick small jobs and smoothies. It will not get things supa smooth like the Vitamix, but it is a great kitchen appliance in its own right. I think they sell them at Bed, Bath and Beyond and you know that store always has those $5 off coupon thingies.

      Reply
  5. inquisitivebird

    This looks delicious!!! I checked out your blog after you commented on mine, and I’m so glad to find a vegan blogger who also knits. I’d love to hear about your greyhounds, I’d like to rescue one someday.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yay for vegan knitters! If you keep up with my blog, my greys will make appearances here and there. And if you have more questions about them, feel free to shoot me an email. My contact is on one of the links on my blog page.

      Reply
  6. epicureanvegan

    This looks amazing! I seem to always have trouble coming up with quick lunches and/or snacks, so I will definitely add this to my list of recipes to try. I haven’t ventured out toward nori rolls yet, but it looks like now’s the time. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Chickpea Salad « Epicurean Vegan

  8. Pingback: Recipes for Unemployment | Lindsay Is Vegan

  9. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | ASTIG Vegan

  10. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    I’ve made a good bit of faux-tuna salad in days, but I didn’t ever think to make sushi out of it. Paired with the naturally fishy nori, I can imagine that would work really well! Now I’m dying to whip up a new batch and try it for myself.

    Reply
  11. Curly Haired Chicas Health Quest

    Absolutely delicious!!! I cannot wait to setup my blog so people can try out my yummy recipes! Thank you so much for posting this. 🙂

    Reply
  12. Rachel

    I’ve been making a version of this since going vegan years ago. With a diversion to mayo growing up, I was always left out of things like tuna sandwiches and potato salad. Veganaise to the rescue!

    Everything looks delicious (Especially the bread pudding muffin thing)!

    Reply
  13. mrjmflynn

    I’m so glad you discovered my blog and I in turn decided to look at yours. Your food looks so good and they’re all fairly easy recipes. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    Reply
  14. Pingback: Vegan Tuna Sandwiches | Lindsay Is Vegan

  15. Pingback: Eggless-cellent salad «

  16. Pingback: Chica’s “No Charlie” Needed Salad (Inspired by the Luminous Vegan) | The Curly Haired Chica

  17. Pingback: Guest Blogger: Luminous Vegans – Eggless-cellent Salad |

Leave a Reply

