Meet your sweets

Meet your sweets installment one + an extra special bonus sweet.

The Righteously Raw Goji chocolate bar is by far one of the best chocolate bars I’ve tasted. It’s raw and fair trade.

This is what it looks like on the inside. The filling, composed of figs, goji berries and raisins, is soft, fruity and sweet. The filling makes me think of fig newtons with berries mixed in and it combines perfectly with the outer dark chocolate which is smooth, creamy and just the right amount of sweet.

The packaging on this Madecasse bar is what caught my eye at the Fresh Market (that, and it was on sale).

This bar has a “melt in your mouth” super smooth taste.  The cinnamon and pepper flavoring hits at the end and is subtle, but noticeable. There is also a slight fruity undertone in this bar even though there is no fruit in it. I like this bar because it is unique tasting.

Finally, this bar by Alter Ego is probably a close second to the Righteously Raw bar in this roundup.

Like the others, it has a smooth and creamy texture. It also has little crunchy mint pieces in it that give the bar a nice mellow minty-ness that doesn’t overwhelm the chocolate, which is something that turns me off from some mint chocolate things. The whole thing actually reminds me of those mint Andes chocolates I used to eat pre-vegan days.

And now for the extra special sweetie…..

That’s Miles, our rescued greyhound companion. He is a goofball and a love bug and he makes it hard for me to go to work sometimes. Keep an eye out for his other half Nikko in future posts…though her cute little booty did make it in this shot :-).

13 thoughts on “Meet your sweets

  1. Richgail Enriquez

    Oooo I’m usually not a big fan of chocolate bars with fruit fillings but the way you described it sounds so yummy, plus I do love Fig bars so when you said it’s like that but with berries, I’m sold! Also not a big fan of chocolate and mint but I do remember liking Andes so I’ve got to try Alter Eco now that I’m vegan.

    Thanks so much for the tip and congratulations on getting the greyhoud, he’s sooo cute!

    Reply
  2. thisismyeverest

    I haven’t tried these, but I’m a big fan of Theo bars! I’ve been meaning to try the spicy one–I’ve only had the salted almond and it’s delish. Hooray for fair trade vegan candy!

    Reply
  3. Molly

    Delicious looking chocolate! I’ve never had those brands, but would definitely try them.

    Miles is so adorable. ❤ I'll be looking forward to more pictures of him and Nikko!

    Reply
  4. mskristiina

    Your dogs are darling! And now I have to run to the store for some chocolate. I have a craving for some weird reason.

    Reply
  5. Shannon

    What a cute dog!
    I have been dealing with tons of chocolate for the vegan restaurant I work at it, and though that I needed a break from it. But that first bar sounds so tempting!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award «

  7. Pingback: Single stale bread ISO ripe bananas «

  8. Pingback: I am vegan, hear me rawr! «

  9. Pingback: Vegangrams |

Leave a Reply

