Freestyle alfredo to soothe the savage beast

When I’m feeling stressed and my cup runneth over, I crave cheesy-creamy dishes (and chocolate, but that deserves its own post :)).  These cravings usually need to be satisfied quickly or things can get real ugly up in here, if you know what I’m sayin’.  This 30 minute concoction is the result of one such episode of the aforementioned craving.

Into my Vitamix, I threw in:

3 cloves of garlic

1 shallot

1/2 C of raw cashews

1/2 C cashew cream

1/2 C plain almond milk

1 tbsp lemon juice

3 tsp of ground chia seeds

salt and pepper

I blended it all up until it was super smooth and piping hot, tasted it with my mouth and adjusted any seasoning as needed (mostly salt and pepper).  I stirred in about 1/4-1/2 C of chopped curly parsley and then poured all of that creamy goodness over some cooked pasta.  I topped it with fresh tomatoes, chives and pepper.

Nom, nom, nom….

10 thoughts on “Freestyle alfredo to soothe the savage beast

  1. The Keen Kitchen

    ME TOO! But my partner is allergic to nuts so vegan mac ‘n cheese is my go to! Still haven’t dabbled in vegan alfredos, sadly, as fettucine alfredo was probably my favourite meal as a kiddy.

    Reply
  2. Richgail Enriquez

    I have yet to incorporate cashews into my cooking. I would always have them at vegan restaurants but never knew how to make it at home. Thanks to this recipe, I can make my own cashew sauce now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

