Mouth-watering Korean tacos with cabbage slaw

Vegan Korean tacos are something we’ve eaten before at restaurants but never tried to make at home. This was N’s first attempt and they were amazing! As usual with our quick meals, nothing was really measured, so these are approximations.

First, the tofu (about 2 boxes of that extra firm Nasoya tofu) was marinated (for 10-15 minutes…marinate longer if you have more time) in a mixture of:

– about a tbsp or two each of thin sauce, sweet chili sauce, and rice vinegar in a bowl

– juice of half a lime

– and an inch of finely grated ginger

Then N stir fried the tofu until they brownified (his words, not mine).  It was very saucy…saucy is a good thing.

While the tofu was cooking, N cut up some red cabbage in thin strips and drowned them in a mixture of:  1 tbsp rice vinegar, 1 tbsp oil, 1 tbsp Braggs liquid aminos and 1 tbsp chili garlic sauce.  N also made a taco sauce to go with it by mixing 3 parts ketchup to one part Sriracha sauce and a splash of thin sauce.

We used soft tacos.  The best way to prepare soft tacos are to wrap them in a moist towel and pop them in the microwave for a spell.  The last step was to assemble them.  We garnished them with cilantro and scallions and served it with a wedge of lime and some fresh avocado slices. Yum, east meets west (Korea meets Mexico)!

The whole deal only took about 30 minutes. The next day at work I had leftovers minus the taco wrap.  N just packed it in my lunch as one big open Korean taco salad and it was the kind of yum that makes you *sigh*.

6 thoughts on “Mouth-watering Korean tacos with cabbage slaw

  1. thisismyeverest

    Yum! I’ve never heard of Korean tacos. When I make veg tacos, I use soy crumbles with a homemade taco seasoning that tastes so much like the real thing that it’s scary! I also love me a black bean burrito. I loooove Mexican food. I’m finding that I don’t even really miss the cheese, and I used to adore cheese enchiladas and Chihuahua cheese all over my tacos and burritos. 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Yess! I loves me some Mexican food too. You know they have some great vegan alternatives to cheese nowadays too though so you can still have a great cheesy enchilada. In fact, I think Turning VEGANese just posted a great quesadilla recipe…you should check it out.

      Reply
  2. poorvegan

    I just walked by the Kimchi Taco food truck in on my way home from work and got sad that nothing is vegan 😦 I’m gonna make this tonight with some tempeh! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

