An especially bright and glad day at the Buford Highway Farmer’s Market

Normally, N and I shop at the Dekalb Farmer’s Market, but every now and then we trek out to the Buford Highway Farmer’s Market.   The Buford Highway Farmer’s Market (BHFM, from here on out) seems to be cheaper and offers a wider range of produce and ethnic foods, but it is farther out from our home and it’s so big that it’s easy to spend way too much time there, which isn’t good if you have a busy schedule.

We stocked up on plenty of produce, of course, and picked up some other good finds such as a cheap package of agar agar, some Thai tea leaves and large tapioca balls for making bubble tea drinks.

The BHFM, once out of the very large produce section, is arranged by countries/regions. One of my favorite things to do there is to go down the European aisles and hunt for things that you wouldn’t think were vegan but are.

I especially like playing this little seeking game on the aisles with cookie  and tea biscuits. We found several things that were vegan including the aforementioned cookie/biscuits, vegetarian pate and chocolate halva.  Most tahini based halva is vegan, but rarely do you find huge tubs of chocolate halva for under $5.

Vegans should stay away from the very back of the BFHM, because just like at the Dekalb FM, it’s nothing but dead animals.  Other than that, it’s fun to take the time to explore.  I found these quirky little bottles of wine for sale.

Since the Buford Highway area is sort of a trek for us, we also stopped in at the only place (Pho 96) I know that has vegan pho (if you’re not aware, I love pho).  Service is touch and go with this place, but the owner is super nice and she’s assured us that the vegetarian version of pho does not have fish sauce and is vegan friendly.  We ordered the veggie spring rolls.

N ordered a vegan version of a bun dish.  He requested this from off the menu, and they happily obliged.

I got the vegan version of their pho, which also has to be requested as it’s nowhere to be found on the menu.  They bring it with a fresh herb and bean sprout condiment tray.  It was slurpy goodness.

So thanks BHFM, I did enjoy a bright and glad day.

*These were adorable bento boxes in the kitchen supplies section of the BFHM*

11 thoughts on “An especially bright and glad day at the Buford Highway Farmer’s Market

  1. goodstorysarah

    I can’t wait to read your post about Thai iced tea as well! And you being vegan…and you knitting…and your partner being a screen printer as well!… all awesome things! You’re from the east coast correct? I swear all awesome people do not live in Seattle. People here aren’t friendly and I seem to meet nice vegan who live everywhere else but here!

    I can’t wait to read your blog and get to know you more!

    Reply
  2. Starr

    I’ve seen halva at the grocery store, checked it out, know it’s vegan, but haven’t bought any because I don’t know how it’s supposed to be eaten. Do you use it with other things or simply on it’s own as is?… I tried googling it, but only came up with a description and recipes.

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I’m not sure of how it’s supposed to be used/eaten either….but I just usually keep it in the pantry and when I want something sweet I kind of dig out a chunk and eat it as is :).  I only do this with vanilla or chocolate flavored halva….plain halva I imagine would not be as tasty.

      Since it is made of sesame seeds, perhaps plain halva could be used as a solid form of tahini?

      Reply
  3. naughtyvegan

    What is the lovely looking bread that you bought…the Grand Prix…European Bread?
    Btw, being originally from the middle east, maybe I can shed some light on halva. Plain halva is nothing like tahini. It’s very very sweet..just like vanilla and chocolate, just not those flavoured. It usually has pistachio or other nuts in it that gives it a flavour. Halva is usually eaten with bread, somewhat like jam is. There are different kinds of halva..based on where you’re from..flour based, nut based, and the one I had in Turkey was more like cotton candy! weird!
    The best bread to have your halva with looks kind of like the bread in your basked…the one I was asking about. Other than that, pita bread, just lightly toasted works really good too!! Yum, now I’m hungry.

    Oh, and I love Pho, and thanks for liking my blog, and I’m enjoying taking a look at yours! Thanks 🙂

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Thank you so much for the halva info. Now I know not to be scared of the plain halva and to eat it with bread (genious!). Hmmm..now I’m hungry too 🙂

      PS: The bread was just something extra we picked up..it was fluffy and had sesame seeds on it. I don’t recall if it had a specific name.

      Reply
  4. VG_Kim

    Oh Fancy! I would love to try pho. That meal looks right up my alley. I’m jealous! If only there were a way we could trade kimchi for pho! LOL. I haven’t found a vegan version here.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Experimental pho is quick and dirty photastic! « Turning VEGANese

Leave a Reply

