The late Thanksgiving post

We don’t honor this holiday for what it represents (oppression and ethnic genocide), but given the days off work and my family’s general gathering at this time we went to my sister’s place for the holiday. I took this opportunity to make some tantalizing vegan dishes that even omnis could appreciate. Our vegan plates consisted of sweet potatoes with apples and raisins, shepard’s pie, vegan herb stuffing, fresh cranberry sauce, sweet corn casserole, and sun dried tomato cornbread muffins. The sweet potato recipe came from vegweb and the only modification I made was to use raisins instead of walnuts.

And the cornbread muffins are a modified version of a recipe from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen. The modifications I made were to use 1/3 cup of sugar (i.e. more sugar), 1/4 cup of Tofutti sour cream and a handful of chopped sundried tomatoes. There was A LOT of non-vegan food at my sis’s house too, but a lot of people did give our food a try (we didn’t tell them the food was vegan) and enjoyed it a lot. My dad really liked our shepard’s pie (which I have posted about before but can’t seem to find the link…) and I sent him home with some!
For dessert we had blueberry cobbler of course and I also made raspberry blondie bars from VV.

We had a great time and were happily stuffed. And just for fun, a pic of my nieces. For all my holiday pics, go here.

Leave a Reply

