Rainy Sunday

The morning started off all sunshine and smiles, but by midday we had a spectacular thunderstorm. This is a picture from our porch. That’s my Schwinn (::heart::) in the corner.

So with the rain and my dead car (yeah, that green Toyota across the street is dead), I decided today was a good day to cook! The following came directly from the cookbook, Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz (a special birthday present from my dear friends Katie and Patrick). For brunch, I made the seitanportabello stroganoff:

It was super filling and hearty with portabello mushrooms, cremini mushrooms, peas and seitan. For those who don’t know, seitan is pronounced say-tan and it is basically just chewy wheat gluten. I’ve been experimenting with making my own seitan recently, but for this dish I used store bought seitan. I would definitely make this dish again because it was delicious, perhaps reducing the amount of nutritional yeast the recipe called for in half. Nutritional yeast is an inactive yeast that is yellow and flaky. Here is a picture of it in its raw state.

It gives dishes a nutty, “cheesy” flavor and often acts as a thickener. We got a whole tub of it from our local farmer’s market for about two bucks. Its really good for you too because it has something like 18 amino acids, 15 different minerals and is rich in B-vitamins. I really like the taste of it and sometimes will eat small amounts of it straight from the tub.

Later, I made peanut butter cookies (from the same cookbook). For the first batch, I followed the recipe directions exactly and the cookies came out a little crumbly. So for the second batch, we added a dollop of applesauce to the batter to act as a binder. Oh, and we also added vegan chocolate chips to half the batter. The result, a plethora of big, soft, yummy peanut butter and peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

I don’t think I’ll be cooking dinner tonight as its getting late. Leftovers sound good though!

Leave a Reply

