Fruity coconut dip

The other day I noticed that the “best by” date was quickly approaching on this coconut butter. N tends to ignore expiration dates and such but I am strangely obedient when it comes to these things, so I’m trying to find ways to use it up.

This weekend I actually whipped up the coconut fruit dip from the Artisana website. The dip is just a cup of coconut butter blended with fruits, lime juice and some sweetener. The fruits I blended in were some strawberries, peaches and papaya (hence the orange hummus-y color).

Once blended up, it’s like a fruity-coconutty frosting! We schmeared it all over our weekend pancakes¬†and of course, as the recipe instructs, I’ve been dipping fruit in it and enjoying it that way too.

After this jar of coconut butter is used up, I plan to try and make my own.

What are some other easy and delicious ways to use coconut butter?

8 thoughts on “Fruity coconut dip

    1. luminousvegans Post author

      It depends on how you use it I suppose. For this recipe, it is the dominant ingredient, so there is a strong coconut taste. I really like coconuts so I could spread this on bread and be happy.

      Reply
  1. Cadry's Kitchen

    I only just now learned about the difference between coconut oil and coconut butter. Your fruit dip sounds wonderful! That’s really cool that you can make coconut butter yourself. I’ve had a bag of coconut flakes in my cupboard since Christmas. Making coconut butter looks much easier than making the dessert for which I bought them!

    Reply
  2. Molly

    My stomach just started growling when I saw your pancakes picture. I might have to get myself some coconut butter next time I’m at the store (and pancake ingredients!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

